Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and...
Published on 4 Oct. 2010 by Andrew

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the...
Published on 12 Jan. 2013 by Seraph


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you, 4 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and howling outro ; "Mayhem" is a tale of a disruptive London couple with a catchy chorus ; "All for You" is an earthy atmospheric ditty that reeks of the bands links with burlesque; "Bury my troubles away" is a wonderfully jazzy-blues foot-tapper, "Let me out" is another catchy tune that just begs a crowd singalong to the chorus....the list goes on.
Highams guitar work drives the tunes along ; Prisemans' trumpet work shines throughout; Al Gare's bass and Rushton's drums make the beat irresistable- one of the bands great strengths is that each is given space to breathe and the overall effect is a delight to the ear. Anyone who has seen the band live will know how amazing they are on stage; they are all excellent musicians at the top of their game.

Is the album perfect ? Not quite.

Where the album's slips slightly (and it *is* only slightly) is that some of the arrangement choices made by the band for the recording seems to have blunted their edge a bit. "Eternity" and "All for you" - both fantastic songs live, and amoungst their best - particularly seem to have lost a little in translation. "Too sad to cry", "I'm alive" and "Kentish town waltz" aren't instant classics, but are decent songs, and do grow on repeated listens.

That said, this remains an excellent and well-paced album, packed with tunes you'll be humming for weeks, and offering alot to both the casual listener and the avid fan. If you've enjoyed her songs on the radio or loved "Love Tattoo", I can heartily recommend this album - the lady doesn't disappoint, and you'll be playing this again and again for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Seraph (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Mayhem (Audio CD)
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the track list to ensure it's not just a bunch of dupes.

That said, Mayhem is a fantastic album that I play endlessly. If you like that retro, rockabilly, double bass sound and songs to dance to, then this album is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem: Imelda May - Infectious and fun feelgood album, 20 July 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Recent music releases seem to be dominated by people who take it all ever so seriously and seem to have forgotten that music can be fun. Imelda May corrects that with this charming release, her third as a solo artist (`No turning back' and `Love Tattoo' preceded this)

The style is mainly up-tempo rockabilly, a big band with some great electric guitars backing a powerful singer belting out tracks with vim and vigour. Stylistically it is a lot like Jools Holland and his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra's recordings. Largely written by Imelda May, the songs sound as though they were recorded in the late fifties, but with lyrics and themes that come straight from the world of today. A sense of fun pervades throughout and you really get the impression that everyone involved was having a whale of a time, which is quite infectious.

Standout tracks are `Sneaky Freak', a good example of the fifties sound with the modern themes, and `Tainted Love'. This song, which has been everything from a soul stomper to an electronic synthpop hit, is here transformed into a classic dancehall rock'n'roll track, and guaranteed to get you up and dancing.

A great feelgood album which will lift anyone's day. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding stomper of an album!!!!, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
D. M. G. Rollason "Dan the Music Man" (Dudley, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album. From the very start of the album "Pulling the rug" up to the remix version of "Johnny got a boom boom" is just outstanding. Even the slower tracks on this album are equally as good. If you are looking for a real footstomper of an album for Christmas, please make this your first choice, and make it go to number 1. This album deserves that accolade.

Well done Imelda, keeping on rockin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Fan, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
As an older person I am very reassured about the younger generation when I hear music as good as this. I have even ordered a previous cd which cannot come too soon. Many thanks Imelda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gal Dun Good !!!, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Following on from the critically accalimed 'Love Tattoo', Imelda May releases her brand of Rockabilly Mayhem on this her second studio album. The difference between this album and the last is that the songwriting is stronger & the sound more gutsy and edgy. It is a fantastic breath of fresh air as opposed to most of the drivel around these days. You can tell that Imelda loves doing what she does and is supported with a fantastic backing band. 'Psycho', 'Mayhem' and 'Pull the Rug' are the foot-stompers whilst 'Kentish Town Waltz' and 'All For You' lend the balanced sentimentality to the album. A fantastic collection, finished off with a great version of 'Tainted Love'. This collection will enhance any music collection. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I am happy with this record of a faultless performer. I have been to two of her shows and I am glad to be able to get another record by her. ( I only wish I could have been in USA to see her with Jeff Beck. Still, I have the DVD and cd!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great album from a force of nature, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda May has recently become an overnight success after a long time in the business. And after listening to this album no one can say she doesn't deserve it.

The album starts at a great rockabilly style with "Pulling the Rug", "Psycho" and the single "Mayhem". She then shows she can do a slow song with the touching and beautiful "Kentish Town Waltz". "All for You" could have been written for Peggy Lee but Imelda pulls it off in her own style, showing she can perform in a number of genres.

Of the rest of the tracks "Inside Out" is excellent as is "Proud and Humble". She also does a great cover version of "Tainted Love". I decided, maybe a bit harshly, to take away the fifth star as some of the later songs aren't up to the standard of the early tracks.

I was surprised that Imelda wrote most the songs and produced the album so she is a very talented lady. She also assembled a very talented band to support her. Having listened to "Mayhem" I'm really looking forward to seeing her live in a few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grand and sassy music that calls you back for more, 1 April 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda May has a been given an amazing set of lungs and she is not afraid to use them. They bellow and cry out with such infectious passion that you cannot help but find yourself swinging your hips to her without even knowing when you started. But that is the blunt charm of Imelda - her voice and music comes at you in a full on rockabilly-jazz-ragtime-rocknroll fused assault that makes no apologies for being so grand and sassy. And so classy too! She makes all this bold music with such style and the band is a really tight one too (one of the musicians is her husband). It makes me think of 1940s/50s dance halls and when I play this album I wish so bad I had been alive to experience them. But hey, Imelda is giving us the next best thing with a fresh and much needed genre of music that all ages can relate to. And if you can't, don't worry - she's very persuasive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry it took me so long, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
A. J. Gauld (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Mayhem (Audio CD)
I'd heard about Imelda Mae for at least a year before I heard her, on Jools Holland. Then it took a bit longer to buy the CD. Why did I wait? This is original, eclectic, fun, witty and Imelda can really sing! This reminds me of Paolo Nuttini in many ways it has the same throwback style, in Nuttini's case to Latin and BosasaNova in this case to Honky-Tonk and Hillbilly merged with Jazz and Swing. Like Nuttini, the music lulls you into a false sense of security with its familiar rhythms but the lyrics have all the edginess expected from a modern writer. There is a raw sensuality to many of them too. The production is spot on, with a punch sound and clarity that allows every nuance of the vocals to shine through. Now if I can only find a local gig to hear her live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Mayhem
More Mayhem by Imelda May (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews