Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reah's best yet
Having recently discovered the novels of Danuta Reah, I bought this her third book, after enjoying the first two, Only Darkness and Silent Playgrounds. Though these two were good books, Night Angels surpassed them both in terms of the plot and the development of the main characters. Intriguing twists, and seemingly unconnected material all finally resolve in a manner that...
Published on 15 July 2003 by M. V. Clarke

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good storyline spoiled
The plot and storyline for this book is good - very good. But, I consider that the enjoyment of reading it is spoiled by the simple fact that it is too wordy, too academic in style. It could perhaps have been two thirds of the length and you would have missed nothing. There is, in my opinion too much unneccessary background details that are not essential to the action and...
Published on 19 Sept. 2002 by Terry Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reah's best yet, 15 July 2003
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Angels (Paperback)
Having recently discovered the novels of Danuta Reah, I bought this her third book, after enjoying the first two, Only Darkness and Silent Playgrounds. Though these two were good books, Night Angels surpassed them both in terms of the plot and the development of the main characters. Intriguing twists, and seemingly unconnected material all finally resolve in a manner that seems logical and never forced. The depiction of the main characters, DI Jordan, and Roz Bishop is super - a real insight into the minds of two different women, who nonetheless struggle to deal with similar issues. An excellent read - thoroughly recommended. I look forward to Bleak Water, novel number 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Northern England Based Thriller, 4 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Angels (Paperback)
Even if you do not recognise the Pennines and Sheffield settings in the latest thriller from Reah you will enjoy the combination of slick, complex 'who dunnit' with realistic and evolving detailed personal relationships. An interesting and compelling read, comes recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 29 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Angels (Paperback)
I bought this because I was looking for a writer I hadn't read - once I had read it, I bought all of Danuta Reah's other books. I found it gripping, scary and intelligent. The plot carried me with it - I found it hard to put down - but I was also very convinced by the characters and the way the book took me into their world. There is Lynne, the ambitious detective who tries to combine the demands of her work with caring for the people she needs, there is Anna, the illegal immigrant who has been forced into prostitution and there is Roz the forensic linguistics expert whose happy marriage came to grief in a terrible way. This author was a terrific find for me and I can't wait for her next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class Crime, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Kay (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Angels (Kindle Edition)
Night Angels In Danuta's third book, she has clearly stepped up the pace. The story leaps back and forth between the different locations, each step leading tantalisingly to fit the pieces of the jigsaw together. The investigators seeming to almost find the answers but lacking the overall picture until, eventually, a heart stopping finale, and one the reader could never have guessed. Well done Danuta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Night Angels, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Angels (Kindle Edition)
Another fine book by Danuta Reah most enjoyable read living in Sheffield and recognizing the areas mentioned makes the story more real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coplicated but engrossing, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Angels (Kindle Edition)
Complicated plot, but keeps one engrossed. As a Sheffielder, enjoyed the setting of the story. Will read another of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good storyline spoiled, 19 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Night Angels (Paperback)
The plot and storyline for this book is good - very good. But, I consider that the enjoyment of reading it is spoiled by the simple fact that it is too wordy, too academic in style. It could perhaps have been two thirds of the length and you would have missed nothing. There is, in my opinion too much unneccessary background details that are not essential to the action and had it not been there, would actually have made the book more exciting. Because there is too much to read you end up forced to put the book down rather than turn another page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Angels
Night Angels by Danuta Reah
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews