Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunters walk.
This easy paced tv cop series was filmed in and around the small midlands town of Rushden,Northamptonshire.
This doubled as Broadstone in the show,the actors found it very hard to perform using the local accent,because it was not cockney,brummie or Scottish.!
The major problem was when the desk Sgt who was called Ridgeway answered the telephone with this forced...
Published on 7 July 2011 by Paul J. Wright

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How things have changed
Hunters Walk is another early 1970s police drama, this time from ITV's production powerhouse, ATV. First broadcast in 1973, it was created by veteran writer Ted Willis. The set released by Network contains all the episodes that exist in the archive, the other episodes presumably suffering the same careless fate as many other missing TV works of the 1960s and 70s; some of...
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Anthony Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How things have changed, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
Anthony Harrison "Interceptor7" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
Hunters Walk is another early 1970s police drama, this time from ITV's production powerhouse, ATV. First broadcast in 1973, it was created by veteran writer Ted Willis. The set released by Network contains all the episodes that exist in the archive, the other episodes presumably suffering the same careless fate as many other missing TV works of the 1960s and 70s; some of the episodes are in black and white.

The series is set in the fictional east Midlands town of Broadstone, which was actually an industrial small town off the A6 called Rushden, Northamptonshire. It's an ensemble piece, but the main characters are Det. Sgt. Smith ("Smithy"), Sgt. Ken Ridgeway, and PC Fred Pooley. Hunters Walk follows the by-now familiar format of many other television police shows, both before and since. One min plot line is the focus of each story, with most of the action centering on the victims or perpetrators and the others affected by the crime. I was surprised at how relatively little time was devoted to telling the stories from the perspective of the police themselves.

On-screen fashions and production techniques aside, what dates the series most is the excessive two handed dialogue, with loads of exposition making the characters' speech seem laboured and clunky. I lost count of the number of one-sided telephone conversations where the character related the other person's speech second hand as a way of telling the audience what is going on, but without going to the expense of hiring another actor. We're told about the story, as opposed to seeing it for ourselves, which is surprising, as there is a fair amount of location (and even some nighttime shoots) filming. The sets and art work generally both add to the period feel, but I wonder if the show seemed slightly dated even as it was being shown first time round. Broadstone police station seems to be a badly converted Victorian terrace house, with just one interview room, one office, and a front desk; for example, `the cells' are mentioned, but are never seen, and even the most dangerous and violent suspects are all processed and dealt with in one of the two main rooms. The of-the-time brown and grey walls add a generally gloomy air, and the somewhat minimalist sets wobble a fair bit. All the sets seem really small and cramped, and I guess the actors had quite a tough time when filming in the tightly packed studio. I suspect that the studio work for the series was done at ATV's Birmingham complex, hence the small scale and relatively few sets used. Compare it to other taped, studio-based series of the time produced by ATV at their Elstree site (eg: General Hospital), and you'll see what I mean.

It's pretty hard to judge the three series overall, as there are so few episodes left, but as is to be expected, some them are better than others. Most stories move at a fairly slow pace, and there are a lot of dialogue-heavy scenes instead of the action and movement that we eventually came to expect from police procedurals. The focus is fairly evenly split between stories that centre on the officers, and those that focus on the public. But as with so much TV drama of the period, the theatrical tone and relatively limited budgets mean that most of the stories are fairly unbelievable. Nobody more senior than a sergeant is featured, nothing is ever referred up the line, or supervised by a senior officer, and female officers barely get a mention, let alone appear on screen. The female roles are slight, and most of the attitudes and dialogue are of the standard 1970s sexist type, with some scenes bordering on misogynistic. Spinsters is a good episode, with some effective writing by Roger Marshall, but the basic premise which depends on CID becoming actively involved in a silly dispute between two neighbours is laughable, even for the 1970s.

The acting is fairly uninspiring, except for Ruth Madoc as Betty Smith, who I thought was excellent, and it made me wonder why she didn't pursue more dramatic roles throughout her career. It's fairly obvious that, despite the assistance of a dialogue coach, most of the cast struggled to cope with the tricky east Midlands accent, and one or two performances are firmly in the wooden category. But it was interesting spotting the young faces of a number famous TV actors - Duncan Preston, Ruth Madoc and David Simeon, to name a few.

I didn't dislike the show, and the episodes are generally an easy-watch on a quiet winter evening, but nothing really grabbed me (although the theme music was fairly catchy!). Still, I shouldn't be too harsh: it's a product of its time, and was a mainstream, peak time programme, which with the benefit of hindsight needed more oomph and energy. But this was how most TV drama was made at the time, in fact, fast-forward 10 years and mainstream police dramas were still being produced using the same story-telling and production techniques; many of the episodes could just as easily been part of The Gentle Touch, and that was phenomenally popular in its time.

There's an interesting fan webpage about the series at: [...]

© Koplowitz 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunters walk., 7 July 2011
By 
Paul J. Wright "tise_uk" (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
This easy paced tv cop series was filmed in and around the small midlands town of Rushden,Northamptonshire.
This doubled as Broadstone in the show,the actors found it very hard to perform using the local accent,because it was not cockney,brummie or Scottish.!
The major problem was when the desk Sgt who was called Ridgeway answered the telephone with this forced local accent.
All this aside I liked the fact that it showed how Rushden used to look in the early 1970's,the quaintness of the town has now gone,as are the local shops,the shoe factories & finally Rushden & Diamonds FC.
The town of Rushden lives on in the timwarp of "Broadstone".Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunters Walk Video., 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, wish you could still get the missing episodes, so good to see my home town as it was in "the good old days".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good but hard to judge exactly how much., 4 May 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
it is a bit of a pity that most episodes from "hunters walk" are currently missing from the t.v archives. the remaining ones in this dvd set, show that this series has potential and promise. indeed, i have enjoyed watching these episodes as the acting and writing are brilliant and the location work adds a touch of authencity. it makes for a change to see the series filmed and set in the midlands, rather than in london all the time. i noticed that some of the actors are struggling to put on a convincing midlands accent but that is only a mere quibble.
the trouble is, is that i find it rather difficult to form a final opinion as to exactly how effective "hunters walk" is, owing to the fact that 35 out of 45 episodes are missing.
i still recommend this programme however, it is a solid and entertaining police drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHATS GARN ON ME DUCK?.... IN HUNTERS WALK., 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
TOOK A CHANCE ON THIS,SO glad I did.I hope they change the cover on the box, because it gives off the idea HUNTERS WALK IS A BIT DOWDY.Having sat through dixon and z cars amongst others this for me is different class! very good storys and characters played by many familiar faces,with an added twist that the whole place is an afternoon straw dogs! (JIM NORTON IS IN ONE EPISODE)!that strange accent adds to the feel that surrealism was at home in this northamptshire town.I love the episodes in black and white and what a crime you only have ten episodes because this should be a cult classic.WHEN YOU SETTLE DOWN TO WATCH, don't forget to pull the curtains and turn off the lights,this is a great step back into time with empty streets and people working in forgotten shops and factorys,and life beyond was not of anyone's concern. promt service from TERRY CARLTON BROWNE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremly happy, 20 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this for my dad It came very quick the next day actually which is before it should have. He really enjoys watching them. Very happy overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hunters Walk, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunters Walk [DVD] (DVD)
This was another favourite of my husbands, when it first came out across our television years ago, good acting famous faces. It is a must to see, but some of the episodes are in Black and White, maybe not to everyone's taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunters Walk [DVD]
Hunters Walk [DVD] by Richard Bramall (DVD - 2012)
£18.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews