Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Charles Murray, cut off financially by his father, is forced to make a living in spite of being heir to a great estate of his own. He does this by taking the post of Private Secretary to Lord Scoggie and tutor to his sons. The setting at Scoggie Castle, the locals who have historic reasons to detest one another, the one-legged war hero and of course, the two young lads...
Published on 31 July 2011 by Ignite

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hoping for better
I got this at the same time as #1 in the hope that it was improved but was dissappointed and didn't finish it.
Published 23 months ago by Janet Stott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 31 July 2011
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Charles Murray, cut off financially by his father, is forced to make a living in spite of being heir to a great estate of his own. He does this by taking the post of Private Secretary to Lord Scoggie and tutor to his sons. The setting at Scoggie Castle, the locals who have historic reasons to detest one another, the one-legged war hero and of course, the two young lads Murray has to teach, give a huge variety to the writing. The boys are real little lads - I think I know them! Murray is a well rounded character - not a perfect know-all - and you can really warm to him.
The rest of the family and the locals are well drawn and the writing overall is excellent and the story gripping from the start.
I understand there are more Murray of Letho books in the wings. I really look forward to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charmed, 4 July 2011
By 
D. J. Ketchin "living in books" (Edinburgh Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most enjoyable books I have read this year.

Murder mystery is not normally my cup of tea but I was prompted to read this by my wife.
After reading the first 2 chapters I was sucked in and totally unable to put the book down.
The dialog and characterisation is amongst the best I have ever read and I swear that each of the characters developed their own unique voices.

The real joy in reading this was the lovingly assembled setting. Great care is taken in crafting a large cast of individuals with their own backgrounds and motivation. The multiple mysteries which follow on as the book progresses seem to follow on naturally from the backgrounds of the cast.

The period setting of early 19th century Scotland was fabulous and particularly charming. I particularly liked the details of day to day life woven into the story. Both fun and educational. The author really knows her topic.

Looking forward to reading the next book when it becomes available.

Quick Summary -

Murray of Letho has taken a position as Secretary to the Scoggies and tutor to their two sons.
Lord Scoggie rules over a small parish split between hill farmer folk and fisher folk.
Farmers and Fishers mix like oil and water.
Into this volatile and superstitious mix comes Major Keyes - crippled hero of the Seringapatam campaign against Tipu Sultan and possible suitor for the hand of the Scoggie daughter.
In this small parish everyone has a history and all it takes is the slightest provocation for the whole facade of normality and decency to become unwoven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book by Lexie Conyngham, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
There are very few mystery series where I must buy the next book as soon as it becomes available. Lexie Conyngham's Murray of Letho series, in two books, has moved to the top of that short list. Solidly drawn and dependably interesting characters, in a three-dimensional setting (early 18th century Scotland), with realistic motives and goals, fun dialogue--okay, I'm raving a bit, but you get the idea. I love these books and I'm ready for the next one.

Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho series) isn't as dark as its predecessor, Death in a Scarlet Gown (Murray of Letho series), and with two small boys amongst the cast of characters, there's more humor and just plain fun here. Ms Conyngham gives a twist to the traditional mystery: rather than putting forth a murder for the detective and reader to solve, she presents an ongoing situation for the reader to enjoy, with a murder sooner or later thrown in. This makes for a slower, less frantic pace, and is somewhat similar to the technique used by J.K. Rowling in the early Harry Potter novels. While the reader knows the mystery will be solved by the end of the book, there's more (much more) to this story than just the murder.

Like most epublished novels, there are some formatting glitches and a few minor typos, certainly not enough of the latter to bother anyone except the purest of purists. I can strongly recommend Ms Conyngham's books to anyone who enjoys historical mysteries, mysteries in general, or an enjoyable romp with good, strong characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talented author, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the Murray of Letho series - the first is Death in a Scarlet Gown (Murray of Letho series). This is not so dark as the first book but still very well written. It is more than a whodunnit; it is a well-crafted tale with good characterisation and a gifted turn of phrase with plenty of surprises.

I understand that the author does have some more books about Murray of Letho; please make these available to the kindle so that we can read them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical murder mystery, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a thoroughly enjoyable read. It's a historical murder mystery, set in early 19th century Scotland in and around Scoggie Castle and nearby fishing village on the east coast. It's the second book in the series but I got hooked from the first chapter so read this one first. Summarising the style I'd say it was Agatha Christie meets Jane Austen and Rabbie Burns! The characters are very well drawn and the author has an extremely evocative way of describing them and their surroundings. Everyone seems to be hiding secrets that Murray has to unravel. There's also a strong element of humour with the two young sons of Lord Scoggie and their perennial attempts to thwart Murray's efforts to tutor them. The story moves along at a fast pace that keeps you turning the pages. I'll be looking out for further books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another great book from Lexie Conyngham. I preferred this book with it's family setting over the first in the series Death in a Scarlet Gown (Murray of Letho #1) which was very male orientated and set at a University (but still highly enjoyable!).

As with the first book the first murder did not happen until 50% through the story so be aware of this if you choose to read it yourself and like a book to be paced faster. For me it is like reading 2 books in 1, you have the gentle paced period style of the first half and the quick 'whodunit' second half.

I loved the Scoggie family, especially the 2 boys and I hope that the family appears in some of the later books. There were moments throughout the first half of the book where I thought I had picked out the first victim but each time I was proven wrong.

It's a brilliant story and well written, although I did come across a few spelling mistakes however, my version is quite old so it has probably been updated since I bought it.

Off to start the 3rd in the series Service of the Heir (Murray of Letho #3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder at the castle..., 19 Aug. 2012
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
It's not often I read two books by the same author one after the other, but I enjoyed the first in this series Death in a Scarlet Gown so much that I downloaded this one straight away. A good decision, since this one is equally enjoyable.

Set in early 19th century Scotland, Charles Murray has now graduated from St Andrews and is working as secretary to Lord Scoggie and tutor to his sons. Conyngham is very good at scene setting, equally convincing when dealing with the aristocracy at the castle or the fishermen in the village. Her characterisation is particularly good and she handles a large cast well, giving each a distinctive personality and voice. Murray's position as secretary allows him to be as much at home with the servants as with the family, and his role as tutor to the two young boys gives Conyngham scope to introduce some humour into the story. The plot is well worked out and as with all good murder mysteries, the denouement is dramatic.

Because we see Murray developing as the books progress, I would suggest that anyone new to the series should read them in order, although this could certainly also be read as a stand alone. Highly recommended - I'm already looking forward to reading the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mystery, beautifully written, 22 May 2013
By 
Pamela Kelt "PK" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
If you have a penchant for an 18th-century Austenesque tale with pre-Gothic gloom, then Knowledge of Sins Past by the modestly brilliant Lexie Conyngham is the most perfect offering. Thrill to the unsettling events at Scoggie Castle as the subtly clever tale draws you in. Read the title out loud and you'll discover you simply can't say it in an English accent.

The next trick is to do the casting, which one tends to do on those nights when one can't sleep for the high winds in the battlements. Major Keyes? David Robb, of course, but I'm stuck on who should play Murray of Letho himself. Ewan, maybe?

If this were ever an audio book, then Brian Cox is the narrator, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical mystery excellence, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Murray of Letho mysteries by Lexie Conyngham are now amongst my favourite reads. Every aspect of this book is excellent. The characters, the story, the mystery, the well researched historical detail, and the very good writing all combine to produce a very readable and enjoyable book.
This novel continues smoothly on from the previous, first novel. The background of Murray's family and studies develops, while we get to know his new situation with the Scoggies, make the acquaintance of some interesting characters, and eventually the mystery itself develops quite far into the book....a late development which is entirely apt and well timed. I recommend this series highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murray of Letho series kindle download from Amazon, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knowledge of Sins Past (Murray of Letho Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this to my kindle after enjoying the first book in the series and enjoyed this book as well.
They are interestingly Scottish with all kinds of particular information about 18th century Scottish lowlands which I have found fascinating as a Yorkshire person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews