Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aqua-Quest Waterproof & Lightweight Tent 'Hooped' Single Pole Bivy
My Aqua-Quest bivy is a perfect hide for the purpose of photographing wildlife. My stamping grounds lie above sixty degrees of high latitude, in one of the least hospitable places in Northern Europe. Even during what is technically 'Summer', the wind-chill factor can be life-threatening. Aqua-Quest's design makes for a sturdy, low-profile shelter snug enough to permit...
Published 20 months ago by AEIdreep1

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aqua-quest waterproof Bivvy
Got this Bivvy on half price sale so the price was fine. Planned to use it on mountain treks in order to allow sleeping at high altitudes where there may not be room to tent, due to rocky terrain. It is very light so that is a big bonus. I used it in the highlands in February when it was sub zero outside and fairly windy. Being low to the ground there was very little...
Published 18 months ago by Bessie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aqua-Quest Waterproof & Lightweight Tent 'Hooped' Single Pole Bivy, 29 Dec 2012
By 
AEIdreep1 "Leg" (Noost, Shetters, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
My Aqua-Quest bivy is a perfect hide for the purpose of photographing wildlife. My stamping grounds lie above sixty degrees of high latitude, in one of the least hospitable places in Northern Europe. Even during what is technically 'Summer', the wind-chill factor can be life-threatening. Aqua-Quest's design makes for a sturdy, low-profile shelter snug enough to permit overnight 'lying up' to get that once-in-a-lifetime photo opportunity in comfort and safety. Naturally, I need to be wisely dressed, with a suitable sleeping bag and have the bivy sensibly orientated towards the weather. Wildlife is not easily fooled by mere camouflage so the high visibility orange is not a problem; more an advantage. The bivy can be spotted easily by my colleagues who know to give the area a wide berth. Erection can be achieved smartly, with a minimum of fuss, in all conditions. My trick is to erect the bivy in my garden, insert my sleeping bag and self-inflating mat, secure the pegs to their tabs and strings, at the correct tension. I simple roll the whole business up, from the narrow end and transport it as a 'bedroll' to my lay-up site. I roll it out, securing the pegs as I go and Abracadabra! I have it up in thirty seconds! Practice makes perfect, of course. I should add that I am turning seventy. I intend to try it out in severe conditions, in my garden, initially, in winter! Watch this space....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aqua-quest waterproof Bivvy, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
Got this Bivvy on half price sale so the price was fine. Planned to use it on mountain treks in order to allow sleeping at high altitudes where there may not be room to tent, due to rocky terrain. It is very light so that is a big bonus. I used it in the highlands in February when it was sub zero outside and fairly windy. Being low to the ground there was very little noise against the material. It became nice and warm quite quickly, however I was wakened at 0200hrs by condensation dripping in my face. By morning the sleeping bag was soaked and I had little sleep. I was however still warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good protection from water. Takes little space in a backpack and is quite lightweight., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
None of the group believed that I will be dry in the morning, but I think I slept better than most of them.
Zippers work well without hitches. When unzipped provides quite a large opening through which you can comfortably sleep in the sleeping bag. This is an advantage compared to other similar bivys.
Membrane provides good protection from water. A slight condensation of the moisture in the exhaled air appears and collects in the lower part behind the head (sometimes drops on your nose) but this is not a problem.
The only disadvantage compared with larger tents is that you can not get the backpack and shoes inside. And you can not put a raincoat before you leave the bivy. This is not a problem of the product but the concept. If it does not rain in the morning everything is OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
I wasn't expecting too much from this item at the price, but its lack of breathability rendered it quite useless! If you a want a bivi bag, spend out a little more and get something that is actually breathable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aqua-quest bivi, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
this is the bivi you can buy for the money i have had tera nova bivi and the aqua-quest bivi is the best i have ever had, so i would say buy aqua-quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exactly what i was looking for, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
Very practical and robust and packs down small which is key, lots of space when unfurned for inner sleeping bag etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made product, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
Extremely well made product, as described and suitable for most weather conditions. Very light to the point I'd take it along on any testing trips as emergency gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
This one man tent is fab, used it in the lakes district united kindom.
Also perfect size with your sleeping bag to set a perfect base for your rucksack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
I slept 6 nights in a sea kayak trip in Crete with temperatures around 8-20oC and it was ok. The only problem is the lack of breathability. It is not bad but not so great. I bought it on a special discount so for that money is worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good build quality but lacks breath ability., 20 May 2014
This review is from: Aqua-Quest 'The Hoopla' Waterproof & Breathable Ultra Light Bivy Bivouac - One Person Multi Season Shelter - Orange Model (Sports)
Have used this once in Spain sleeping by the beach, woke up with a very damp sleeping bag and almost suffocating, it seems this is not so breathable. A little worried about sleeping in it again as I will be constantly drying out my sleeping bag. Perhaps this is why they suggest buying a tarp so u can leave the mesh open and breath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews