Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defining albums from a unique quartet..., 5 Aug 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazzology (Audio CD)
The Modern Jazz Quartet, Jazzology, NOT2CD365
Here you will find 3 LPs on 2CDs. The albums are "Django" with 8 tracks and approx 39 minutes running time. The performers are Milt Jackson on vibes; John Lewis on piano; Percy Heath on bass & Kenny Clarke on drums. Together they play 5 compositions by John Lewis & some familiar standards. The recordings were made on various dates between 1953 & 1955 and were originally issued on the Prestige label.
CD2 comprises the albums "Fontessa" with 7 tracks and the personnel the same as above except with Connie Kay now on drums. The tracks were recorded between January & February 1956 and were issued by Atlantic Records. "Concorde" contains 6 tracks and has the same personnel but was recorded in July 1955 and issued on the Prestige label. In total there are 3 compositions by Lewis; 1 by Jackson along with those by Dizzy Gillespie and mainstream composers of the standards era. The total running time for CD2 is approx 73 minutes. The transfers are very good throughout. The origins of the MJQ were the Dizzy Gillespie big band of the 1940s. MJQ ran from 1952 to 1974 and these 3 formative albums are first rate examples of how they were able to play a wide range of compositions giving them all the MJQ sound. Outstanding performances come on CD1 "Autumn in New York" & CD2 with "I'll Remember April" and then a Gershwin medley. The informative liner notes are by Peter Gamble and the set is attractively packaged. Ideal for both collectors and those who wish to sample the best of the early MJQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MJQ, 23 Nov 2013
By 
K. C. (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Audio CD)
First listened to their music in the mid fifties and still love it. They are, I'm sure, missed by many of us particularly from that era and were unique in a class of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a recovery of a well spent youth., 3 Feb 2013
By 
K. Haylock "KDH" (Biggleswade,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
As written before on several reviews I am reliving my youth when listening to good music was my main delight,this group was ahead of its time and perfect to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MODERN JAZZ BRILLIANCE !, 9 April 2012
By 
Arturo Suski Blanco "elreyarturo" (madrid,Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Audio CD)
IF YOU HAVEN'T LISTENED TO THE MODERRN JAZZ QUARTET BEFORE THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU TO START FIRST ! BRILLIANT INTRODUCTION TO ONE OF THE FINEST QUARTET'S IN JAZZ HISTORY ! ENJOY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent MJQ, swinging with controlled exhilaration, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
MJQ can be too cerebral for me but I was surprised to find the quartet exciting and tightly swinging on many of these tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They stay great, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Toots (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Audio CD)
The strength of their music still lives on 50 years later. A pleasure to listen to their unique skills and beautiful sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The MJQ - an Excellent Jazz Group, 28 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Audio CD)
My first MJQ recording was The Golden Striker, ( no not Robin van Persie)., and the Three Windows on an EP. I was hooked from that moment.

This has more great tracks than not so good but I still love it, there again I am a big fan.

If you like the MJQ then give it a go, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars M.J.Q. at last!, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazzology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
I had trouble with this download, it was "scratchy" and too much echo.This n ecessitated 'phone calls to Amazon on saturday and monday following.
This now seems to have been resolved and I happily justify the 4* award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazzology (Amazon Edition)
Jazzology (Amazon Edition) by The Modern Jazz Quartet
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews