Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Definitive Blues Recording
I always wondered why people bother to critique music in this type of forum - then along come Hoodoo Man Blues.
This CD has just blown me away completely.
Junior Well's vocals are incredible, moving and confident - he appears so utterley comfortable with his music. And then there is his harmonica playing, which is nothing short of intoxicating.
A young...
Published on 20 Feb 2002 by Jonny (parkerhotels@hotmail.com)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Blues
Although I had not heard a deal by Junior Wells but having read the reviews I decided to invest in a copy. Personally, I think the CD is overated having given it some consistent play time in the car to form my opinion. Reasonable harmonica by Junior, nothing exceptional by Buddy Guy on guitar and the final 10mins of the CD comprises of a session chat and reworking of the...
Published 1 month ago by Ed's Buys


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST BLUES ALBUMS!, 1 Sep 2007
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
I just cannot say enough about this album, except that it is absolutely brilliant. Junior Wells is a superb harp player and blues singer and this cd captures him at his very best and in the same category as Little Walter Jacobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Blues, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks (Audio CD)
Although I had not heard a deal by Junior Wells but having read the reviews I decided to invest in a copy. Personally, I think the CD is overated having given it some consistent play time in the car to form my opinion. Reasonable harmonica by Junior, nothing exceptional by Buddy Guy on guitar and the final 10mins of the CD comprises of a session chat and reworking of the track Yonder Wall. It's hardly the classic blues album I was expecting, underwhelmed !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VINYL REVIEW, 20 Oct 2013
By 
M. Jones (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Bought this for around 10 from a marketplace seller. Took a while to arrive, but price was good so can't complain.

The pressing isn't the best and normally this would annoy me no end. It's very noisy at the start of each side and between tracks but once the music starts it's barely noticeable. I've had new albums where the noise is a constant through both sides with lots of crackle. This doesn't suffer the same affliction.The noise on this album is like vinyl roar if that's the correct terminology.

The music is great, harmonica playing superb and the guitar work is subtle but tasteful.None of those 12 minute solos where the guitarist is simply showing off.

It must be a digital re-issue too but it's not dry and compressed like many re-issues you get. The sound quality is very good indeed. I think when the original is recorded so well any re-issues can be then be made well, which this is. I bought it because many people mention it as one of their favourite blues albums, so took a chance. I'm glad I did - it's one of the best albums I own now. Even the wife likes it and she's not a blues fan by any means.
I'm considering buying the CD simply for convenience reasons, and because you get the MP3 versions free too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks (Audio CD)
man, this is the dogs diddlies! junior wells and his band are sharp, ozzing attitude and style. very much the blues, altho some funky edges are really good. highly recomend. has a similar feel to 'at the beeb' recordings as this album was played more as a set, than a collection of songs individually recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks (Audio CD)
Raw , Powerful , soulful......Hoodoo Man Blues is one of the greatest Blues records ever made. Well's harp & Guy's guitar work in perfect harmony. Most importantly , lets not forget how amazingly strong Junior Wells vocal's were.....Must be one of the strongest Blues singers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks (Audio CD)
What's not to like? Junior Wells and Buddy Guy ("friendly chap") on ferocious form. And a rather nifty little booklet, too. Very nice package, very good blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must be one of the best blues albums, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (MP3 Download)
Can't believe I have never come across this album. The finest Chicago blues sounding just as good today as when it was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Junior Wells & Buddy Guy - Hoodoo man Blues, 11 Dec 2011
By 
M. James (Cirencester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks (Audio CD)
Been looking for this album for a while now. Blistering guitar and vocals, a must-have for any Blues/ Rock fan and recommended for anyone interested in real music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoodoo U Love, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Hybr) (Audio CD)
Having recently started exploring back catalogue blues items and especially SACD versions this is a minor gem. You can just sit back and feel the mood of each song, or, follow the patterns played by each musician.
Almost as good as being in that Chicago blues basement you imagine bands like this grew up in. But without the smoke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hold up mah haaaaand...., 16 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
...done Hoodooed, the Hoodoo Man....

Junior Wells and Buddy Guy are electric. Fantastic stuff from too long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks
Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks by Junior Wells (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews