Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Definitive Blues Recording
I always wondered why people bother to critique music in this type of forum - then along come Hoodoo Man Blues.
This CD has just blown me away completely.
Junior Well's vocals are incredible, moving and confident - he appears so utterley comfortable with his music. And then there is his harmonica playing, which is nothing short of intoxicating.
A young...
Published on 20 Feb 2002 by Jonny (parkerhotels@hotmail.com)

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Blues
Although I had not heard a deal by Junior Wells but having read the reviews I decided to invest in a copy. Personally, I think the CD is overated having given it some consistent play time in the car to form my opinion. Reasonable harmonica by Junior, nothing exceptional by Buddy Guy on guitar and the final 10mins of the CD comprises of a session chat and reworking of the...
Published 5 months ago by Ed's Buys


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Definitive Blues Recording, 20 Feb 2002
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
I always wondered why people bother to critique music in this type of forum - then along come Hoodoo Man Blues.
This CD has just blown me away completely.
Junior Well's vocals are incredible, moving and confident - he appears so utterley comfortable with his music. And then there is his harmonica playing, which is nothing short of intoxicating.
A young Buddy Guy accompanies Wells and shows his early mastery of electric blues guitar: highly expressive and tuneful.
The partnership of these two awesome figures was made in heaven. Also, as if things couldn't get any better, the recording is audiophile quality - I'll say that again, the recording is audiophile quality - if you can't SEE the music, your hi-fi is ready for the scrap heap. A Beautiful album that anyone with even the faintest interest in the blues must own - its the real deal, and you won't stop playing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues got off its deathbed and danced, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
This was recorded when blues had lost its popularity with Black Americans. Stax, Motown and James Brown reflected their aspirations much better, expressing self confidence and hope without harking back to plantations, poverty and life as a second class citizen.
There's not a moment of self doubt or worry about a disappearing audience in this session. Junior is right up there, singing his heart out and blowing on his harmonica with hunger and enthusiam - and a touch of menace when necessary. He's hungry,he's got something to say, and he's got the self-confidence to nod in the direction of James Brown without stooping to plagiarism.
Buddy is a sensitive and intelligent accompanist. He knows when to keep in the background, when to push Junior on, and when to step into the spot light and fill in empty bars. He's that rarest of things in the 1960s, a lead guitarist who wants to contribute to the music, not dominate it. If you can think of an album with a better supporting guitarist - in any genre, not just the blues- please put it on the comment page, because I'd love to hear it.
The guys on drums and bass just lay down a nice steady background with no histrionics or unecessary flourishes. It all sounds easy, but it isn't.
This wasn't the best time to be making a blues album. However, it's a classic - arguably the last great blues album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 8 April 2008
By 
Keith Randall (Isle of Man, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
With respect to my fellow reviewer, this album is not really fifties blues. It was recorded in the mid-sixties and was, as other reviews describe, a fine contemporary work. And, had it been recorded this year, it would still sound current. It has a vitality and presence which passes the test of time with honours. And so, it is blues - very good blues - which does not need to be slotted into a specific era.

What a band! Four brilliant musicians at the top of their game. I'm not familiar with drummer Billy Warren but I like his style; Jack Myers was a very influential bassist with a fresh approach to a classic form; Buddy Guy was in excellent form on these sessions; and Junior Wells leads them to many peaks throughout the album. He is 'his own man' as a vocalist and harmonicist. I would hesitate to claim that he is the equal of Little Walter (although he was a very serious rival to Walter in the early 1950s) but I love what he plays. The comparison is pointless. He's who he is, and that's good enough for anybody.

So - why four stars, not five? I've docked one star for tuning problems which spoil a couple of tracks for me. I won't say which tracks because if you haven't noticed then I don't want to spoil it for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wells & Guy set Chicago aflame, 3 Sep 2003
By 
No Longer Used - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
Hot foot from Muddy Waters and Earl Hooker Wells teamed up with guitar master Buddy Guy, bassist Jack Myers and drummer Billy Warren to record this Chicago masterpiece, reputedly the first LP recorded by a working Chicago blues band it crackles with menace, Junior commands you to 'Snatch it Back and Hold It' at the opener before tearing it out of your hands and pushing it back in your face, this is a superb set where everything gels, Guy (I think billed as Friendly Chap on the original cover) tears it up and Wells meaty harp compliments the onslaught parry and thrust, what it must have been to see this band in its prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS GOOD AS IT GETS!!, 9 April 2009
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
Hoodoo Man BluesI bought this album on a Delmark LP about 44 years ago, mail order direct from Chicago and it still sounds superb (I also have the CD). It was one of the first "Blues albums" as opposed to "a collection of singles" and set the standard which others are still trying to emulate. It became the template that many bands (my own included) tried to follow. Blues has got a lot louder since then but never as modern as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoodoo Man Blues, Junior Wells and Buddy Guy - The first true blues album, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
A historic first in the history of recorded music, this wonderful album is generally considered to be the first Blues album. Recorded in 1965, albums had been around for a while, but the great blues singers and labels tended to record singles, and what albums had been put out were merely collections of singles. This was the first time a series of recordings had been made with the intention of making an album.

Even without the notable first, this would still be an essential album for any blues lover's collection. Here we have not one, but two masters of the genre starting out on their careers. We have the incomparable Junior Wells on harp and vocals, and one of my long time blues guitar heroes Buddy Guy showing us just why he would become a legend.

This is down and dirty Chicago blues of the highest order. It kicks off with the attention grabbing `snatch it back and hold it', which really sets the mood. The band then proceed to grind their way through a set of blues standards (including an impressive reworking of `good morning little schoolgirl', a tribute to the harp player extraordinaire of the previous generation, Sonny Boy Williamson I) and a couple of originals. Junior Wells shows time and time again why Muddy Waters chose him as successor to Little Walter when he left Water's band. His harmonica playing is tuneful and emotional, played with great passion. And his vocals are sublime. And as for Buddy Guy's guitar work - it just doesn't get better.

This CD from Delmark presents the original album in stereo with a decent sound quality. There are two bonus alternative takes, one of the anthemic `hoodoo man blues', and the superb instrumental workout `chitli' con carne'. These are interesting and add to the album. The liner notes contain a short essay on Junior Wells, and limited track details.

All in all, a superb release, and a must for any blues fan, not only for the historical significance, but for the quality of the music. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!, 28 April 2006
By 
COLSEE "colsee" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
I found this c.d. from a link from another artist, listened to a few soundbites and thought I would give it a go.

I am sure glad I did. The sound on the disk is fantastic. How they transferred this to this quality is truly amazing.

It is a ADD quality and highlights the level of musicianship from the young Buddy Guy on guitar and the energy and feeling of Junior. I have quite a large selection of blues but this has just climbed to the top.

I will be looking for some more from this label.

Buy and enjoy. It feels like it was recorded yesterday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50'ies Chicago Blues at its best, 3 Jan 2002
By 
Tim Petersen (Brabrand, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
One of my favorite CDs. A young, daring Junior Wells with a young Buddy Guy on guitar. This is a very lively record with much energy, even the slow tracks are very intense. The sound on this record is surprisingly good too. If you like Chicago's fifties blues this is a very fine record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chicago blues with a splash of funky energy, 1 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
outstanding chicago blues with a splash of james brown style funky energy. junior wells is a fantastic harp player in the tradition of rice miller, little walter and james cotton. with buddy guy on guitar as well this lp is a real gem especially good morning school girl. i would recomend also getting "the best of the vanguard years" on ace records.The Best of the Vanguard Years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blues Machine, 6 Nov 2010
This review is from: Hoodoo Man Blues (Audio CD)
With the breathtaking assistance of the bassplayer and drummer, Junior Wells and Buddy Guy play the blues so that you feel you are right inside the engine of a motor bike. This works amazingly well for one album, but could never last as a continuing performance style. Worth having; brilliant in its own way; never to be copied or tried again. Worth having as stunning one-off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks
Hoodoo Man Blues - Digipak + extra tracks by Junior Wells (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews