Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 52 Small Changes - One Excellent Book
52 Small Changes

This is a lovely book to read, and to follow. Each week, a new `change' is introduced, and explores how this change may be incorporated into every day life. The new change is reinforced, and new changes introduced, so in just a few short weeks, significant improvements towards "a happier, healthier you" is achieved.

Although the...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Tim from Surrey

versus
111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'll bet you don't get past week 4....
This is disappointing. The ideas in it range from the banal to the bleedin' obvious and back again.

Drink more water, eat more fruit, go to bed earlier, do more exercise. Repeat every month

There - I've just saved you 3.50.

A final point - it deosn't work in kindle as you can't really flip back and forwards because the contents page is...
Published 18 months ago by Rachel Irvine


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 52 Small Changes - One Excellent Book, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Tim from Surrey (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 52 Small Changes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
52 Small Changes

This is a lovely book to read, and to follow. Each week, a new `change' is introduced, and explores how this change may be incorporated into every day life. The new change is reinforced, and new changes introduced, so in just a few short weeks, significant improvements towards "a happier, healthier you" is achieved.

Although the concept of setting new year goals, or objectives, isn't new, the way that this book has been written, is designed to help those targets become achievable. The author, Blumenthal, writes a "roadmap for success" for the goals.

Week One, is all about `drink', that is increasing the amount of water that is consumed daily. Blumenthal explains why water is important (more so than drinking coffee, tea or other substances). This chapter is written very simply, but cleverly, and before the end of the chapter, the reader can see that this goal is SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and time).

Week Two focuses on another major important ingredient to life - sleep. Although it may appear that much of this is common sense - which it is - it helps to reflect and see how the quality of sleep may be improved.

Week Three is designed for exercise. Although everyone knows the importance of adequate exercise, so many use excuses such as "I don't have time". Well, that may be true - but Blumenthal even gives some advice relating to watching television, and how to make this `active'. Of course, one goal could be to simply stop watching the television, then there would be time for exercise.

The book isn't just about achievements which are easily seen. Blumenthal also concentrates on mental goals, such as having a positive outlook to life. As the book moves forward, at the end of each chapter, there is a weekly change checklist, which helps to reinforce the changes that have already taken place.

Throughout the book, there are lots of little snippets of facts included in every chapter (such as optimists are 9% less likely to develop heart disease than pessimists).

Of course, the reader may easily switch some - or all - of these changes for their own. What I particularly like about the book, is that it really does explain why the change is good, and how to manage the change successfully, and to keep the change, and to fully integrate that change into normal everyday life. The book may have been written for an audience in the USA, but the principles are easily adopted to the British way of life.

Overall, an interesting book, and may help to bring about a positive change for people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'll bet you don't get past week 4...., 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You (Kindle Edition)
This is disappointing. The ideas in it range from the banal to the bleedin' obvious and back again.

Drink more water, eat more fruit, go to bed earlier, do more exercise. Repeat every month

There - I've just saved you 3.50.

A final point - it deosn't work in kindle as you can't really flip back and forwards because the contents page is hopeless - publisher take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One step at a time to reach your better life, 22 Dec 2011
By 
OrganicGreen "Knowledge is King and books a g... (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 52 Small Changes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the new year approaches, I think this book is great to have to help you to really make real changes to your life. Instead of having a long list of things to achieve then after 3 weeks you just go back to your old self.. this books allows you to take things one goal one week at a time. Each week your are given a goal like being eating more veg, being active, organised at home and there is a chapter for you to read about that one topic that week. Then the next week you are given another goal to read and action. I feel that this book is better than having to read a load about what to achieve and not knowing were to start. Great book. I am a life coach and I would recommend this book as it allows you to gradually move to a better person without loosing track and overwhelmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book to make small changes to your life, 22 Dec 2011
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 52 Small Changes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love January and making New Year resolutions as it feels like a fresh start for your life and who doesn't want to make their life better? As a result the premise of this book really interested me as it seemed to take the concept of New Year resolutions that continue all throughout the year.

The book itself is in three parts. The first part is simply introducing the concept and establishing a baseline for success. The second part is the weeks of change. For each week you are given a change to work on be that drinking enough water, enjoying time alone, going organic or something similar. The fact that all the changes are small makes each something you feel like you can easily manage. Each small change is dedicated around 5 pages and gives you advice, instruction and help. There's also `extra credit' sections if you already have incorporated that small change into your life which is a useful touch.

The third part of the book is the tools and resources section. I'm one of those sad people who just love logs, lists, tables and questionnaires so this section was so much fun for me. It corresponds with the weekly change section in part two so you can get started straightaway on the changes you'd like to make.

I really liked this book as a whole. The tone was perfectly suited to the book and I loved the way that the author explained things without ever coming off as condescending. The advice given made sense and there were always steps on how to ensure you succeeded at each goal. I don't suppose you have to do every goal and picking the ones you do doesn't lessen the principle that you only need a small amount of time to make a change for a healthier lifestyle. Having read through this book I'm definitely going to take up the challenge and starting in January I will work through the changes and see how I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better in the real book form., 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying this book and making small changes. I think it might be better in the actual book form, I've bought the e-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 9 April 2013
This review is from: 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You (Kindle Edition)
Not bad but I wouldn't call them 52 SMALL changes. Some of them are a little unrealistic to expect someone to be able to follow. Easily forgotten and I got bored quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You (Kindle Edition)
This book gives really good dietary advice , but this tended to be the main focus throughout the book. I would have hoped for a, more robust take on life improvements both internally and externally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the small changes that make a difference, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: 52 Small Changes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'52 small changes' is a commonsense book with a holistic approach that addresses the basic healthy changes many of us know we should do, yet lack the motivation to actually do. Brett Blumenthal identifies that whilst we have many good intentions to make changes to our lives, i.e. through regular exercise or changes in diet, these actions are often hard to put into practice, as we have a tendency in life to either...
1) overdo activities, producing burnout, often resulting in lack of motivation, or
2) lack the motivation to make changes in the first place.

'52 Small Changes' attempts to help people by, as the book states, making 52 changes to our routines over a year. One small change a week is certainly more attainable then trying to reinvent ourselves entirely in one hit! Each weekly change describes the reasons for implementing the behaviour, and explains how these actions will help you look and feel better. The idea behind the 52 steps is to slowly introduce these behaviours into your daily routines, with the hope that as well as adopting a new behaviour each week, you will also continue with the behaviours you have already practiced.

Some of these weekly behaviours include:
Staying hydrated, Food journals, Nutrition labels, Exercise, Benefits of laughter, Benefits of sleep...and many many more areas.

By the end of a year, you will become a fitter, healthier and happier you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A calm and rational approach to resolutions, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 52 Small Changes (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the new year approaches, thoughts inevitably turn to the tradition of resolutions. What to give up? What to improve? What to change? All in the name of self improvement - it can be doomed to failure!

This book offers a calm and rational approach to self improvement through a simple formula - one change / improvement per week. Each chapter gives you just that, and the chapter summaries show how these cumulate over the year into a 'better' you. From drinking more water, to exercise - its all there.

Of course, you could start anytime, not just new year, but in terms of simplicity and stickability, I'm giving this one a go as my resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes sense, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You (Kindle Edition)
I'm working through this although a bit more quickly than the one a week as I'm already doing some of these things. Most of the ones I've read so far are common sense and if you've been trying to live a healthy lifestyle they won't be new to you. However I've only got up to week 25 and have been very good about not looking ahead - so I could be in for some surprises!
Most are easy to incorporate and the advice sensible, although the getting rid of negative people in your life might not be so easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews