Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce on the palaces
This is the DVD of Fiona Bruce's recent television series in which she visited and showed viewers around three of the Queen's palaces, Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Holyroodhouse. With all her experience gained from the "Antiques Roadshow" and her extensive expertise as a television presenter, she wrote and presented these programmes to show off these wonderful...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by RR Waller

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little more palace, a little less Fiona!
Fiona Bruce wrote and presents this series which features the history of Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Holyroodhouse. In the most part, an interesting excursion through the three palaces, well researched and nicely photographed. However much of the content is once-over-lightly while the camera lingers lovingly on our presenter; Fiona striding across courtyards and...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by RJM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce on the palaces, 27 Nov 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
This is the DVD of Fiona Bruce's recent television series in which she visited and showed viewers around three of the Queen's palaces, Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Holyroodhouse. With all her experience gained from the "Antiques Roadshow" and her extensive expertise as a television presenter, she wrote and presented these programmes to show off these wonderful buildings at their best and inform viewers of their long histories.

As another reviewer has written, Fiona Bruce features in many of the shots and, as she certainly is not antique, one assumes the director wanted to vary the visuals, at least I assume it was the direcor's choice.

The palaces come off very well and, although there will obviously be differences of opinion as to what should have been included, by the end of each programme, one learns a great deal about these buildings in which so much history as occurred and, unlike the original programmes, it is possible to study them at length using the pause control. There is not much bonus material and a booklet would have helped but, that said, it is a good DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little more palace, a little less Fiona!, 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
Fiona Bruce wrote and presents this series which features the history of Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Holyroodhouse. In the most part, an interesting excursion through the three palaces, well researched and nicely photographed. However much of the content is once-over-lightly while the camera lingers lovingly on our presenter; Fiona striding across courtyards and battlements; Fiona gazing up at paintings; Fiona climbing staircases etc etc. Enough, already! That said, it was interesting, and the story of Holyroodhouse and the ill-fated Mary Queen of Scots was particularly well described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Nov 2011
By 
H. Mc Nally (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
Wow!!!!!! what a brilliant DVD. if u love touring round the Likes of Buckingham Palace Etc. you will love this DVD, great history along with fabulous interior and exterior coverage which also includes: Windsor Castle, and The Palace of Hollyrood House. So settle down with your fav Drink for over 3hrs, and lose yourself in splendor! With Fiona Bruce. Enjoy. I highly recommend this. Oh... and there's also an introduction from HRH. Prince Charles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen's palaces, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift request. It arrived in good time and they were very pleased withthe dvd. I would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
Series was even better on DVD as I could pause it to look at the amazing details of these wonderful palaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wee gem, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
I see all episodes on BBC but I like to watch it when ever I want. I love this DVD, wish there are more like these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for friend, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for a friend who lives in Germany and she was delighted with it! She had already visited Buckingham Palace twice but made her want to return for Windsor and Holyrood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fiona Bruce, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
Its always a pleasure to listen to Fiona Bruce, reading the news etc.
I cannot think of seven more words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The history was as interesting...., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
...as the tour of the palaces. I so enjoyed the presentation of each of the 3 palaces, the detailed photography and the attention to so many aspects of interest. The only small complaint I would have is that the DVD tended to have little glitches here and there throughout and even though they were quite numerous, they we momentary so not a real problem to viewing and enjoying DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queen's Palaces, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen's Palaces [DVD] (DVD)
A first rate video of immense interest. I'd watched the programmes first but decided that I needed the dvd too to keep. It was very intetrasting to learn of the background to the palaces besides current details; all presented in a clear and concise manner by an excellent broadcaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Queen's Palaces [DVD]
The Queen's Palaces [DVD] by Fiona Bruce (DVD - 2011)
£6.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews