Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars By Gad, Sir!, 24 Sep 2011
By 
Martyn J. Fogg (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
All the prophets of doom and gloom who foretell the inevitable extinction of the human race have missed out on one way it will actually happen. By Gad, Sir! We will all laugh ourselves to death at our own history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blackadder with it's best actors, 6 Aug 2011
blackadder is one of the best comedies the BBC has ever produced.The actors are brilliant.
Just try not to dub it into german, it does not work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I offer the scriptwriters my most enthusiastic contrafibularatories, 28 Feb 2011
By 
S. Meadows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having found the 'true' Blackadder in the second series, this third season moves us on a little in history to the regency period. Miranda Richardson's schoolgirl-esque Queenie is replaced by Hugh Laurie's idiot schoolboy-like portrayal of the Prince Regent; Baldrick's ever decreasing intelligence and wit is exacerbated seemingly without end and Edmund Blackadder grows in his sneering indignation of all those around him. There is no real equivalent of Lord Melchett, Percy or Nursie, and as such the cast is much more exclusive. The 'regulars' such as Tim McInerny and Stephen Fry are restricted to each appearing in only one episode.

It is amazing at how much is packed into just 6 half hour episodes. The 'gag count' seems to have gone up from series 2, though not quite reaching the constant joke-after-joke of series 4. The history of the period is immaculately observed and this allows for cutting and insightful satire. The stand out episode of the series is undoubtedly when Samuel Johnson presents his dictionary. At first look it is hilariously funny, full of misdirection and the usual Blackadder-esque imaginative insults. However, the genius is revealed in the scene when Blackadder makes up words to annoy Johnson; if you look at the etymology of the constituent parts (and yes, I am an etymology geek) of those words. For example, contrafibularatories is clearly a reference to "pulling your leg."

There are few comedy series that come close to this in terms of genius and longevity, and it is a masterclass for anyone interested in comedy writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have a cunning plan, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Flix (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cult viewing at it's best.Regency Blackadder may be down on his luck but the magic is still there.This knocks the socks off more modern offerings.Rowan Atkinson is superb with stylish dry wit at it's best,Baldrick has lost a few more brain cells and for younger viewers the Prince regent IS the same guy who plays House-really.
At 3 hrs it's the perfect evening in viewing and doesn't feel dated.I suggest you get the whole lot as you won't beat this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More comic genius from Curtis and Elton, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blackadder 3 is a superb series and one you should add to your collection. Rowan Atkinson is outstanding as Edmund Blackadder, butler to the very stupid Prince Regent played brilliantly by Hugh Laurie. Tony Robinson is once again great in his role as the hapless Baldrick and all of the six episodes are hilarious. There are some great cameo roles in this series by Stephen Fry, Kenneth Connor, Hugh Paddick, Miranda Richardson, Warren Clarke and Robbie Coltrane. In this series Blackadder has slipped down the social scale because he is a butler and not a lord and he dreams of making money and becoming powerful. Most of his schemes and cunning plans are thwarted but he does hoodwink the Prince Regent of money by stealing and selling his expensive socks. Helen Atkinson-Wood plays a great role throughout the series as Mrs Miggins who runs a coffee shop in town. This series set in the late eighteenth early nineteenth century is fantastic. There are some great laughs at some historical figures like Dr Johnson, the Romantic poets, the Duke of Wellington, George III and many more.
This is a tremendous series-very, very funny.
5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blackadder lessons for life, 19 July 2010
By 
L Hamilton "L. Hamilton" (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All of "Blackadder 3" make my family and me laugh aloud, but two in particular provide us with lessons for life as well. "Ink and Incapability" definitely expand our vocabulary with tongue-twisting words we will NEVER use, even if we remember them. "Amy and Amiability" teaches us how to make the most diplomatically correct observances ever in the way Blackadder speaks to the father of the Prince Regent's anticipated bride. Astute and memorable for wit and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blackadder3, 8 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant comedy series with rowan atkinson& co.blackadder is up there with "only fools & horses" as a classic bbc comedy series.my favourite blackadder series is "blackadder goes forth".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blackadder 3, 13 Nov 2009
Brilliant from start to finish! In my opinion the absolute best series of a great programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Have only seen one episode so far, can't wait to see all the rest. Wondeful writers, the Yanks could learn a lot from the Brits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COMEDY THAT SPANS ALL AGES!!!, 10 April 2009
By 
Hl Muttock "knitting nutter" (norfolk,united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ladies and Gentlemen,
I bought this dvd because I collect british comedy dvds,I also collect Red Dwarf as well,this dvd contains all of the episodes that were featured on the BBC in the early 80's/90's and for a good down to earth,british comedy I would definitley recommend this one!!!
These episodes follow Edmund Blackadder through the georgian times all the trials and tribulations of a georgian butler,including his cheats and schemes to become royalty,And mocks the stupidity of the once german royal familly with out being cruel,
For a good example of a Modern British comedy,i would definitley recommend any of the "Blackadder" series!!!!Blackadder 3 - The Entire Historic Third Series [1987] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackadder the Third (Remastered) [DVD] [1987]
Blackadder the Third (Remastered) [DVD] [1987] by Mandie Fletcher (DVD - 2011)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews