Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British telly at its best, 27 April 2003
I'm an avid Blackadder fan and I loved this series. The only permanent members (in every episode) of the Blackadder crew this time round as Rowan Atkinson, Hugh Laurie and Tony Robinson but Stephen Fry, Tim McInnery and Miranda Richardson also make appearances. This series hits the tone just right between sarcasm and exaggerated stupidness for plenty of laughing fits and ginormously good storylines as well as jokes. Watch out for the enormous trousers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, slightly dissapointing DVD conversion, 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Blackadder has to be one of the funnies TV series ever made, undoubtedly a classic. The transfer to DVD is clean and well-done, but lacks extras. The US Blackadder boxed set has a lot of extras - interviews, historical backgrounds and extra episodes. Not only did it take longer for the BBC version to be released, it doesn't have any of these extras.
Still well worth buying, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have family entertainment video- Hilarious!, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Another three great episodes from what I think is the most well written series. Meet Mc Adder- Blackadders ginger moustached mad Socttish cousin, and the lovely wovely Amy wamy- the bride-to-be of Prince Gorge. It has the usual great characters, hilarious scripts and the added bonuses of a dual, a wedding and a turnip! Highly recommeded- can be enjoyed over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bladders Peaks !, 8 Jan 2001
If this does not make you laugh, please check the following;
A. Your ears. B. Your television's speakers. c. Your pulse.
All the charactors, jokes, one-liners ( C - big blue wobbley thing that mermaids live in) and even plots are spot on, with 'Thicky George'(Hugh Laurie) stealing sceen after sceen.
This is where Blackadder was always heading for.
Superior to the previous 2 outings, and contains most of the jokes used in the fading Blackadder goes forth.
Bigger than "..a whale omlette.." and sexier too (Woof! Woof!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better Third Time Around, 6 May 2007
After the success of the second instalment, Richard Curtis and Ben Elton decided that Blackadder should have a third appearance. This time instead of Tudor times or Elizabethan times, Edmund Blackadder (BAFTA nominated Rowan Atkinson) is living in the time of the French Revolution. Accompanied by the now stupid but lovable Baldrick (Tony Robinson) Blackadder is the "faithful" butler to George, the Prince Regent of Wales (Hugh Laurie). Throughout this third series to the wonderfully written sitcom Blackadder tries everything he can to get rich and powerful. He tries electing a lord for a rotten borough, tries to sell a book, tries to win a bet about The Scarlet Pimpernel, tries to be a highway man and finally poses as the Prince. This is a very good instalment to the popular comedy. Includes appearances from Robbie Coltrane, Tim McInnerny, Miranda Richardson and Stephen Fry. It won the BAFTA for Best Comedy Series, and it was nominated for Best Design and Best Make Up. Edmund Blackadder was number 3 on The 100 Greatest TV Characters, and he was number 3 on The World's Greatest Comedy Characters, and Blackadder (all four series) was number 2 on Britain's Best Sitcom. Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It can't do any wrong., 6 April 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's another laughable, silly and great series. Like series 2 and 4 It's a must have. I can't do it justice so all I can say is it's probably the greatest comedy's of all time. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated classic, 30 Sep 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The third series of Blackadder tends to get forgotten because its sandwiched between the superb series 2 and the even more superb series 4. Be of no doubt though this is comedy of the highest class. Maybe not quite as good as those two but still exceptional.

The highlights in series 3 are many, but my favourites are the episode with Robbie Coltrane as Samuel Johnson and the episode with Stephen Fry as Wellington. There are an endless stream of fabulous lines from these two episodes, but I'll settle for one [Blackadder replying to the Prince Regent when asked whether he thought Johnson was a genius]:
"No sir, I do not. Unless, of course, the definition of genius in his ridiculous dictionary is 'a fat dullard or wobble-bottom; a pompous ass with sweaty dewflaps"

Hugh Laurie deserves credit for playing the Prince Regent so brilliantly and naturally Rowan Atkinson as Blackadder the Butler is perfect. Its hard to believe that its twenty years ago since this was first aired, and that it hasn't dated at all. Superb comedy and entertainment all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is cunning !, 12 Feb 2006
Following my English teacher's advice I bought this fantanstic DVD! I ordered the whole series but this one was the first to arrive, it was love at first watch! All the episodes are well built and so funny! You can also appreciate the literature hints and the reconstructions of real historical episodes and people such as Dr. Johnson's dictionary, the Duke of Wellington and the Scarlet Pimpernel. In my opinion the funniest of the four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars laff a minute, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. Bkane "camptwat" (moseley birmingham u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived in just 2 days expertly packaged and such good value laugh a minite as Blackadder( Atkinson) totally outwits the hapless Prince Regent( Hugh Laurie) with his grotty Sidekick( Tony Robinson)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackadder the Third (Remastered) [DVD] [1987]
Blackadder the Third (Remastered) [DVD] [1987] by Mandie Fletcher (DVD - 2011)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews