Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reworking of classic series
I have to be honest here. The first time I ever saw Blackadder II I nearly had a heart attack. I had been such a major fan of the Medieval romp, that this more traditionally-styled sitcom was a bitter pill to swallow. However, following the 3rd and 4th similarly-styled outings, I have now reassessed my appraisal, and can finally objectivelty see this as the gem it is...
Published on 5 Jan. 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
I never ordered this movie.
Published 2 months ago by Brian Smith


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reworking of classic series, 5 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
I have to be honest here. The first time I ever saw Blackadder II I nearly had a heart attack. I had been such a major fan of the Medieval romp, that this more traditionally-styled sitcom was a bitter pill to swallow. However, following the 3rd and 4th similarly-styled outings, I have now reassessed my appraisal, and can finally objectivelty see this as the gem it is. Excellent performances all round, and a barrage of non-stop humour that'll make you miss half the jokes since you'll be laughing so hysterically make this one of the greatest televisual achievements of all time. However, the catch, is the first series was THE best televisual achievement of all time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is only one Blackadder, 12 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
After the poor first series Blackadder 2 is one of the comedy classic of the eighties. Fantastic performances from all the cast. Fantastic one liners and brilliant storylines. Rowan Atkinson and Tony Robinson are born to work together. Its hard to find anything wrong with this perfectly crafted series. I bow down to writers Richard Curtis and Ben Elton who are very talented people. Only to say this is not the best Blackadder (yes it does get better)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second time right, 20 Nov. 2000
By 
Mr. S. Carlin "arca20" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember watching some of the first series and being uncertain about it. I was intrigued enough to sit and watch the first episode of the second series and found it to be a vast improvement.
For me, this is the funniest of the Blackadder series, but I enjoyed them all.
The first episode, Bells, introduces us to the new Blackadder dynasty as he falls in love with his manservant, Bob (short for Kate). Head has to be one of my own favourites with Edmund appointed Lord High Executioner. Who can forget Tom Baker's portrayal of Captain Rum in the wonderful Potato?
Blackadder's attempts to avoid the Bishop of Bath and Wells' hot poker delight in Money. Equally unforgettable are his dual parties in Beer as he tries to keep his puritan aunt and a drinking binge apart. The final episode seemingly brings the Blackadder dynasty to another end as Edmund finds himself in Chains.
A welcome addition to the BBC's DVD catalogue. The picture quality is generally excellent (an improvement on the transfer for the first series). On a down note there are no extra features on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore..., 2 Aug. 2007
By 
Wellington (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Hilarious. That is the first word that springs to mind when I think of Blackadder. This really is a classic, modern comedies don't come close. In this series, Blackadder is cunning, shrewd and witty as a complete juxtaposition with the original Blackadder, and this works to stunning effect.
Perhaps the greatest thing about Blackadder is that you can watch it again, and again and find things you didn't see the first time and still laugh at most of the jokes. This really is British comedy at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So cunning you can brush your teeth with it, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Against all odds and certain laws of evolution, apparently the primary characters of "Black Adder I" managed to reproduce.

Amazingly, this is fortunate for us, because it turns out that "Black Adder II" is hilariously superior to the previous season in just about every way possible. Rowan Atkinson is pitch-perfect as the acid-tongued Lord Edmund Blackadder, who is forced to navigate a surreal Elizabethan court full of bizarre characters and hysterical dialogue.

After (temporarily) firing Baldrick (Tony Robinson), Blackadder (Atkinson) hires a new manservant, Bob -- who is actually a girl named Kate, who is trying to escape a life of prostitution ("It's a steady job, and you'd be working from home!") by pretending to be a boy.

But predictably, Blackadder soon finds himself sexually attracted to "Bob," which unnerves him greatly. After visiting a leech-obsessed doctor and a crazy wise woman, Blackadder finds out the truth about his "manservant" and decides to marry her. But of course, the course of love never did run smooth -- especially not for a Blackadder.

Things don't get much better for Blackadder after that -- insane Queen Bess (Miranda Richardson) appoints him Lord High Executioner, and he tries to make the process more efficient. After sneering at Sir Walter "Ooh What A Big Ship I've Got" Raleigh, he ends up on a round-the-world voyage to find something as interesting as a potato and bring it back to the Queen. And due to an old loan, he finds himself on the bad side of the "baby-eating Bishop of Bath and Wells."

Additionally, the Queen commands him to throw a beer-soaked debauch on the same evening that his wealthy Puritan relatives are visiting. And after Blackadder and his nemesis Melchett (Stephen Fry) are kidnapped by a charades-playing inquisitor, they find themselves at the mercy of the waitress/sheep impersonator, Prince Ludwig the Indestructible!

Somehow the first season of "Black Adder" never really impressed me, since most of its humor came from the superhuman repulsiveness of its title character. Fortunately they added a new writer in the second season, and suddenly everything about the series clicked into place -- the writing, insults and historical mayhem all suddenly went from funny to sidesplitting.

Much of this comes from the incredibly surreal plots: usually it's Edmund in over his head and surrounded by people he deplores and/or fears, in a situation that spins out of control. Deranged sea captains who can't find France, rubber breasts, a bombastic self-absorbed adventurer, turnips shaped like naughty bits, and an inconvenient severed head all come into play, making life MUCH more difficult for Edmund.

But the real genius is the dialogue, which ranges from mildly insulting ("Am I paying for this abuse, or is it extra?" "All part of the service") to hilariously barbed ("My name is Edmund Blackadder, and I'm the new minister in charge of religious genocide"). There's a lot of raunchy jokes, irreverent mockery of revered English monarchs, and fun moments where they poke fun at the Elizabethan era ("It wouldn't have anything to do with LEECHES, would it?").

Rowan Atkinson is the heart of all this jaded, nasty hilarity. He does a simply brilliant job as the one semi-intelligent person in a court of nincompoops, who deals with it by having thinly-veiled contempt for everybody and a tongue woven from barbed wire. Robinson is suitably gross and not-very-bright as his faithful servant Baldrick.

Supporting them: Richardson is brilliant as a squealy, childish Elizabeth I ("There's simply HUNDREDS of Catholics who DESPERATELY want their heads SNICKED off.... and there's no one to organize it!"), while Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie and Miriam Margoyles add to the surreal wit. And watch for Tom Baker as the deranged sea captain who's obviously not had a girlfriend recently.

"Black Adder II" magnifies everything that was enjoyable about the first "Black Adder" season and shucks away everything that wasn't. Comic brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Role reversal for Blackadder and Baldrick, 6 May 2007
Blackadder II is a vast improvement over its less popular predecessor. The second series was almost not made due to the lack of success of the original, and clearly the writers re-considered Blackadder's character. He, rather than the now dull-witted Baldrick, is the more intelligent of the pair and his character is now quick-witted, cunning and offers much in sarcastic humour. This, and possible Blackadder goes Forth, is the best of all the Blackadder series. Blackadder's new character is much funnier and Atkinson plays it masterfully. The series itself takes place some one hundred years after the first, just before the turn of the 17th century. I recommend it to all comedy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the bunch, 12 Sept. 2003
I think this one's the funniest. I know each series has its fans, even the first one, but this was such a change of tack compared to the first series that it really set the formula for series 3 and series 4.
In the first series, Edmund was slimy, weedy, stupid and unpopular. Baldrick was the clever one, who saved him on more than one occasion. The series cost a fortune to make - every episode had outdoor shots on castle ramparts, in monastery grounds, in woods and on hills. Then Ben Elton joined the team, and this series was filmed entirely in either Blackadder's front room, Queenie's chambers or in the Tower of London dungeons. And Edmund went from being supremely stupid to the sly, cunning genius he has been ever since. True, he retained his loathing for everybody that he had in the first series, and he still is only ever looking out for himself, but he is an entirely different person compared to the Duke of Edinburgh. And, because he's now clever, Baldrick has become very very stupid. Percy, of course, is pretty much the same as he was in the first series, just more so. Whether Edmund is getting married to his manservant, executing the Queen's enemies in the Tower jail, travelling around the world with a legless sailor, selling his house to pay off his debts, having a piss-up and a puritan meal simultaneously or trying to escape from a German kidnapper, his exploits are hilarious. All the supporting cast are superb as well. As I mentioned above, Baldrick has become the lovable idiot that he still is, Percy reminds me of an Elizabethan "Gareth from The Office", Queenie is so girlish but with a wonderful mean streak, Melchett is the odious arse-licker to the queen that Edmund aspires to, Nursie is nearly as stupid as Baldrick, but cute with it.
Series 3 and 4 are still very good, but for me this is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy at its best!!!!!, 10 April 2009
By 
Hl Muttock "knitting nutter" (norfolk,united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD]
Ladies and Gentlemen,
I bought this dvd because I collect Britsh comedy.This dvd follows Edmund Blackadder through his trials and tribulations as an elizabethan courtier,It follows his trials and tribulations with the queen,Elizabeth the First,and her nanny Nursie!!!(called Bernard)
It shows how men and women viewed each other through time in a way to make you smile!!!
This is a dvd that show's the greatness of the era of the early 80's and 90's when british comedy was at its peak!!!
this item was delivered very fast,and was in excellent condition.This is hard to find on the high street,therefore amazon is the place to buy good quality dvd's that are difficult to find.
For a classical,timeless comedy i would definitley buy this and all of the others in the run!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Blackadders, 30 Jun. 2009
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For me this is the best of the four Blackadders and Rowan's performance is genius. It's much witter than the first with Ben Elton's influence on the script. But it still maintains its clever use of the Shakespeare plays as a basis for some of the plots. Plus you get the likes of Rik Mayall (providing one of the best comedy head butts ever!) and Hugh Laurie popping up as well as the regulars (Stephen Fry, Miranda Richardson, Tony Robinson).

This DVD is excellent value for money, one of the best comedies of the eighties and possibly one of the best ever!! Get it bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big leap from the already good season 1, 29 July 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blackadder II (Remastered) [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
On a production level this second season, produced 3 years later seems
actually less sophisticated; cheap looking sets, much more of a
standard sit-com look.

But this is a sit com ala Fawlty Towers, weird, whip-smart, subversive
and very dark. While I can't say for me that it quite stands up to the
greatness of Fawlty Towers or Monty Python, the two shows to which it
is inevitably compared, it has a ton of very funny moments, and the
acting is top notch.

It's 100 years plus since series one, and Blackadder is no longer the
weaselly immoral wimpy swine of the first series. He's now a handsome.
dashing weaselly immoral swine, a favorite of the vaguely insane Queen
Elizabeth --that is when she's not threatening to execute him.

It's a lot of fun to see Atkinson in this very different, non Mr. Bean
persona, and he pulls it off wonderfully. And Hugh Laurie is hysterical
in two completely different guest roles, while Miranda Richardson as
Queen Elizabeth displays a flair for goofy silly physical comedy one
would never suspect from her body of work.

Very worth a view, even if you were iffy on series one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackadder II (Remastered) [DVD] [1986]
Blackadder II (Remastered) [DVD] [1986] by Mandie Fletcher (DVD - 2011)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews