Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile, easy to use, Could be louder for beach use
TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black
This is easy to set up, easy to change the code and very versatile, the cable length is enough to wrap through bike spokes/ go over door handles/ be threaded through gate hasps.

One thing the instructions havent made clear is the cable end must be pushed RIGHT in - just popping...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Savvy Mama

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alarm cable lock
bought this item recently.it is a useful and sturdy lock but i found the alarm to be very feeble, definitely not 100 decibles. maybe i got a faulty one.
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by leedsman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile, easy to use, Could be louder for beach use, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black
This is easy to set up, easy to change the code and very versatile, the cable length is enough to wrap through bike spokes/ go over door handles/ be threaded through gate hasps.

One thing the instructions havent made clear is the cable end must be pushed RIGHT in - just popping it in will give the "click and chirp" but not allow you to arm it.

Though its 100db, it doesn't seem that loud (for daytime/beach use) though as we have bought it as additional security for our scooter - its loud enough to alert us should someone try tinkering at night.

Things i liked -
its really versatile and small enough to be used in lots of locations discretely
Even I understood the instructions
If the cable is cut - the alarm sounds
It "Chirps" if its moved - but (dependant on setting) wont go off unless the motion is continued
you can easily change your combination
Batteries are included
Cable can be set to length needed
its not heavy
Battery cover cant be removed too easily

Things i didnt like so much
Its not loud - but it IS piercing (not needed it yet so cant tell which would be better)
it seems a little "plasticky" (if they wanted to silence it would a good old stomp do it??)

All in all for what ive paid and what i will use it for, its suitable & reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It suggests an alarm, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
It does what I expected. It's a cafe stop bike alarm. It wouldn't last 10 seconds with a determined thief but then neither would a more secure lock. It just helps make my bike slightly less appealing to an opportunist. I like it it has a red light and is called Alarmio... Those two things are about as effective as the lock its self. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alarm cable lock, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
bought this item recently.it is a useful and sturdy lock but i found the alarm to be very feeble, definitely not 100 decibles. maybe i got a faulty one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TripNeeds Alarmio Personal Alarm Cable Lock, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
I was hoping for another expensive handbag for my birthday but hubby bought me an Alarmio instead!!! Joking aside, it's a really useful security device and with the retractable cable can pretty much be attached to anything, unlike normal locks.

My favourite bag was stolen in a restaurant a few months ago and I've never lived it down since. At least there's no danger of losing another now - it just gets attached to the handle of the bag and has a motion sensor/alarm if someone tries to take it or even just try to take something from inside it.

Pretty simple idea, but very effective and works great in practice. Maybe I'll get a new bag for Xmas after all given that I can pretty much guarantee its safety now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alarmio - good idea BUT..., 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
Mine arrived and didn't work despite being well made. There was no siren when shaken/moved and no siren when I simulated the cutting of the cable. The unit is driven by 4 LM44 1.5v batteries and whilst these are small they don't have the voltage/current to drive a decent piezo siren for long. There siren may be rated at 100dB but this is very likely to be at 10cm distance. Every doubling of distance drops the dB by 6, so by the time you are only 0.8m away you have only 82dB sound pressure. By the time you are 3.2m away the noise level is only 70dB - roughly the same as the background noise inside a modern saloon car accelerating fully. That's NOT going to alert many people! Using the unit outside means the wind can set off the movement sensor as it just dangles. There are 2 movement settings - low one sounds after 8 secs of movement and the hi setting after 4 secs of movement. This is enough time to jimmy the battery case open and take out the batteries BEFORE the alarm sounds. I didn't even bother to send mine back for an exchange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for being used long periods of times, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
I used inside my kayak, so it's switched off only one day per week. It runs out of battery after roughly 1 month, ish...

If you want to use it for bikes, bags etc it does what it says. But be aware breaking the cable is quite easy....so it shouldn't be the only security between your belongings and thieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alarmio, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
Great little product for the price..and peice of mind........ Outside 24/7 and the power lights still flashing like a good one.... For the price amazing........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy device for peace of mind when travelling with a toddler, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
We recently rented a villa in Lanzarote for a week and we wanted to be able to alarm the patio doors in case of intruders during the night so we purchased this device. At night it was quite simple to tether this around the door handle and the internal curtain tie post and that gave us peace of mind. The alarm is pretty loud, I guess it could be louder but it was loud enough (having read the other reviews before purchasing I was a little worried it would be too feeble to hear from our bedroom but it was quite audible).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Room Security, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
Bought for a trip to Jamaica,ideal for securing your suitcases.
Glad we bought this and would recommend it to others who frequently travel like we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Junk, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TripNeeds Alarmio Versatile Motion Sensitive Personal Alarm Cable Lock, Black (Sports)
It lasted about 3 moths on the batteries then died. Replaced the batteries but not designed to work for longer than a month or three and it would not come back to life but just made some clicking sounds.

It's in the bin and so will be your money of buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5b26918)

This product

Only search this product's reviews