Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little printer. Not perfect and as yet, no iPhone Bluetooth printing
First off, this is a great fun little printer. I use it to create small samples of my photographs to hand out to prospective clients as well as friends and family. The prints are 3"x4" and because of the inkless (Zink - for 'zero ink') printing menthod, the prints are instantly dry as there is no wet process going on. Crucially this means no additional costs for ink...
Published on 30 May 2012 by GeoffNotJeff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Usefull
Works OK , but I have the smaller one , which I prefere . The papers are sticky backed on the small one which I find Handy . Photos are also clearer .
Published 9 months ago by Helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little printer. Not perfect and as yet, no iPhone Bluetooth printing, 30 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
First off, this is a great fun little printer. I use it to create small samples of my photographs to hand out to prospective clients as well as friends and family. The prints are 3"x4" and because of the inkless (Zink - for 'zero ink') printing menthod, the prints are instantly dry as there is no wet process going on. Crucially this means no additional costs for ink supplies. All you need is the paper.

Being a Bluetooth printer means it is very easy to get images onto the device to print although annoyingly there seems to be no buffer which means images have to be transferred one at a time. Prints take around 20-30 seconds to print. Each pack of 3"x4" contains 30 sheets of paper in 10-pack mini-cases. Prices for these vary and although available here on Amazon, at the time of writing, this was only through resellers, although the one I use is a 'Fulfilled by Amazon' scheme member - and the cost with them is £14.99.

There are some things to be aware of:

1. The first and possibly most important for users of the most popular phone right now, is that there is currently no way of Bluetooth printing direct from the iPhone. There is talk of a Polaroid app being produced to allow this, but there's no sight of it yet. iPhone users will need to transfer images to a computer and send them via Bluetooth from there.

2. Second - print quality. Contrary to some opinions, this printer is CAPABLE of producing great quality prints and reproducing reasonably accurate colours BUT it is sensitive to the quality of the file sent to it. At anything under about 150-200k, solid areas of colour will be inconsistent or patchy.

3. Image cropping - because the aspect ratio of the prints and their size, the printer will auto-detect the main area of the image and print accordingly. SOMETIMES, this means you won't get exactly what you thought you would. The only way past this is to edit images to the correct size before printing, although this kind of defeats the impulsive nature of it.

However, taking it for what it is, a great little fun printer, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The GL-10 is what I've been waiting for all these years., 15 Sep 2011
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
The GL-10 is what I've been waiting for all these years.

After searching for an instant photo solution, and no matter what I tried, I was never quite happy. I own 5 working polaroid cameras (3 land cameras, an SLR-5 Macro onestep and a Graflex XL RF with a packfilm back), 2 pogo printers with the 1st gen ZINK system, and an HP A640 instant printer. None of them make me remotely as happy as this printer does. The packfilm cameras? Great film, giant cameras, spotty usage success with semi-automatic annoyances, lots of waste and the prints need to dry. Forget about ambient nightlight and expect to lose a couple shots per pack with loading issues. Pogo? Gah....party favor stickers were nice, but crap for battery life and Colors McRudderson was the result on your best day. The HP instant printer was HUGE, ink was a drag, and the quality is so-so after all that work anyway.

The GL-10 is what I've been waiting for all these years.

Leaps and bounds improvement in quality over the pogo. Still talking mid-range quality, but it's way better than the film the impossible project is putting out for it's one step cameras (or the unusable expired original film...."soft tone" my taint!) and considering the tradeoff size/toner/paper for any of the other battery powered options (HP, epson, canon selphy, etc), the pixels/per/hassles ratio is way better than anything else out there. The best business card you could ask for is this in the back pocket of your jeans with a felt tip pen and a USB cable. The only thing I could compare it to from a "WOW HOW DID YOU DO THAT----THAT'S AWESOME" factor is the land cameras, but considering their use record, I'll take a 70-75% quality 100% of the time compared to 100% quality 40% of the time any day of the week. As I said,

The GL-10 is what I've been waiting for all these years.

I can't believe I'm saying this, but I'm actually considering buying the camera that's coming out soon just because I use the printer so much (40 pictures in one weekend of travel meeting new friends) that I'd just as soon not have the hassle of hooking the cord up to my pocket SD-1400. Anyway, I think you get my drift.

Note to Zink: make 3x4" paper that has a sticky back! That would be great. That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not perfect, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
Then again, what is? The Polaroid GL10 is a great little printer because it outputs very acceptable prints, doesn't need any inks or toners to make it work and connects to host devices wirelessly via Bluetooth, albeit NOT to Apple's iPhone, iPad and iPod products apparently. However, I understand that this is Apple's fault: NOT Polaroid's. A lot of other printers, Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, won't connect with those Apple devices either because it seems that Apple wished this to be so for their own reasons, whatever they might have been. However, GL10 works with the other Bluetooth devices I have, including a MACBOOK, Samsung Galaxy phone and an HP Windows 7 laptop fitted with a cheap Bluetooth USB dongle obtained from a well-known high street shop that sells all its wares for £1 each.

The essence of GL10 lies in the special ZINK paper it uses. This is analogous to the instant film that Polaroid built its reputation on. All the colour tones for realising images are embedded as tiny crystals in the ZINK paper and produce prints when GL10 heats them up in a special way. ZINK paper really is an amazing piece of modern technology. At current prices I've established that each print, monochrome or colour, costs around 44.5 pence. According to the user manual GL10 should be good for 35 prints on a full charge of its internal battery. But that doesn't bother me because I always use the thing on mains power. I am also going to buy another GL10, an intention that may give you some idea of how much I have taken to this dinky little device. While it's maybe not up to the same printing standard obtainable from an inkjet printer or a dye-sub like the Canon CP900, GL10 is a lot more user-friendly and the results it produces are, to my eyes at any rate, extremely pleasing. Well worth a punt I would say.

Just a final point... When connecting to your computer, either Windows or MAC, if you try to add GL10 as a 'printer' you might have problems. Whereas, if you add GL10 as a 'device' you should be okay. That's what I found anyhow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised by the quality, 28 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
The image quality of this printer is not great. However, the prints are much better than other Zink products and I have tried most of the other ones (Polaroid Pogo and the two made by LG - of the those the LG ones are much better than the original Polaroid branded Pogo - faster data transfer, superior print quality and less streaking).
Other reviewer's have complained about the apps made for this product. I have not tried the ones for PC or Mac, but the one for Android seems OK, although I much prefer just going to the gallery, choosing the image and send it direct to the printer via wi fi. I have paired this with my Mac and have no tpruble sending images to the printer via Bluetooth and I never had any issues with the other Zink printers I have used. I have used Zink printers with various phones and I have always used the 'share via bluetooth' option. Most phones have a send or share option when you select a photo in the gallery, and it always works that way.
Image quality is slightly above average, and so far I have not had any streaking issues either. This is much better than the Pogo printer, but due to the higher price, it probably isn't as well known. I do, however, find that very few people actually want prints these days. If I take someone's photo and print it, their delight eventually wears off and they usually either leave the photo lyong around or don't know quite what to do with it. It is cool to have prints but I have mixed feelings about it. I used to love printed photos but once they statt accumulatong they can get hard to organise and sift. This is an interesting product but I would advise people to think long and hard about it before purchasing. The Zink paper is expensive, and you may overestimate how much people want printed photos. O just think generally people only appreciate prints in situations where a photo may not have otherwise come into their possession. For instance, if you take a photo of someone who doesn't know you well (and probably won't have your Instagram/Twitter details), they may appreciate a print. Otherwise, most people will look at the process in awe and won't know what to do with the photo.
As for the product itself, it works, the prints are OK (they lack fine detail), and it can be useful for people who like to print wnd display photos. I will probably use this to print photos to stick on my wall. The best photos should still be printed with much better printers because this unit will probably won't produce a definitive print.

Final point. Many Amazon reviewer's are complaining about Polaroid's customer service and how there is no support available. Now, not to be offensive, but Polaroid no longer exists as a company. They licence their name to various products. The back of this Zink printer, and many other recent Polaroid branded products, state that they have not manufactured or produced it. The box for the Zink paper also has this statement in the fine print. Polaroid is just a name held by a holding company, and what I find baffling is how customer's still expect Polaroid to provide support or advice, even though there is a statement on the box saying it does not make these printers and the name is used under licence. Sure, consumers can complain but at least be informed and stop thinking that Polaroid still exists. Even Asda have an electronics department where they sell Polaroid branded goods. Not one of them is made by Polaroid, they are just licensing the name so one needs to complain about the company responsible for making the products. It is also worth noting that this Zink printer works perfectly well without any of the custom apps, at least on Android and the Macbook Pro. In fact it is so easy and logical to use, I wonder why customers need all the support and the apps and everything. Just go the image, send it via bluetooth, select the device, and you have your print. Voila!! Have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice printer, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
My wife use it for making a picturebook with storys where she writes down the things that happened when our grandchildren are at our home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS., 12 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
This product is a great, innovative example of our technological advances, although buying the paper for this printer isn't cheap; about £15 per 30.
Works with smart phones... An app you can use to choose and 'decorate' pictures before printing like adding borders, text and 'old school' polaroid boxes around the photo.
Easy to use with bluetooth or the lead included in the box.
Printing= quick and easy, with no ink so no smudging, photos look pretty good and the printer itself looks great.
Overall: Love it. <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for printing on the go......, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Steve Smith (Dinnington, South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
I have used this product many time's while on business trips and even on holiday's. Very light and slips easily into my laptop bag. Work's flawlessly with my Apple MacBook Pro and my smart phone. Very easy to setup and configure. Would recommend to anybody needing a fast and simple way to print on the go in a cost effective manor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO wit GL10 It is an excellent product, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
I like the Polaroid GL10 Mobile Printer because it gives me an easy way to print photos from my cell phone or digital camera. It is good for printing from a phone using Bluetooth or from a PictBridge camera. It's very cool to be able to print a photo on the go, without the need for a USB cable.

Plus, Polaroid have a free mobile app you can download. This app lets you edit your photos, then send them to the GL10. There are more apps set to be released in the near future. If you already own a Blackberry, iphone, Android or other Windows-compatible phone, the Polaroid Grey Label GL10 makes the perfect partner.

You can also print photos off your desktop PC, laptop or netbook, using a Bluetooth connection.

You can still connect your phone or camera to the printer's standard USB port, of course, but it's not as much fun as using a Bluetooth connection.

The printer is a compact, holiday-friendly size. It measures about the same as your average paperback book. It is light enough and tough enough to throw in with the rest of your luggage, and not have to worry about breaking it.

Setting up the printer is simple. All you need to do is plug in the power source, load the ZINK paper, and you're good to go. No pesky software installation is necessary.

The printer needs to be charged just like a laptop does. A fully charged battery will print around 35 photos.

Zink is short for zero ink, so, in other words, the printer doesn't need to be refilled with ink like a regular printer does. The clever thing about ZINK is that the ink is embedded in special printer paper. The colors only "come out" and make a picture when you hit the print button. Pretty cool, I think you'll agree.

Previous to the Polaroid GL10 Mobile Printer, ZINK printers could only produce photos that measured 2 by 3 inches. The GL10 can produce 3 by 4 inch photos.

The quality of the photo is much better than you got with "older" ZINK printers. However don't expect stunning high definition photos because the GL10 is designed for printing those quick "snapshots", and then quickly sharing them, or sticking on the fridge door. Actually, for a mobile or portable device, the photo quality is not bad at all. Skin tones are reproduced well for example.

The quality of the prints also depends to some extent on the quality of your camera - a photo taken on a Nikon SLR, for instance, will print with more "vibrant" color than your average cell phone camera.

The photos have a nice retro, or classic, look and feel to them.

And prints are water-proof, scratch-resistant, tear-resistant and smudge-proof. Ideal for handing round at parties or outdoor festivals.

The Verdict
This is a big improvement on the first generation, Polaroid PoGo Instant Mobile Printer. It's so quick and easy to use, and is the perfect accessory for your smartphone, The only drawback is the price I guess, but personally I think you get lots of fun and memories for your buck. Well done Lady Gaga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
Fantastic product, and the best I've used in a while. It's hard to find one product that is adaptable for smart phones, and cameras, but this ticks all the boxes! good value for money, especially considering it does the job of two of a similar product. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for windows phone, 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: Polaroid GL10 Instant 3X4 Mobile Bluetooth Printer for Digital Cameras and Smart Phones (Electronics)
Great little printer, images of surprising quality, only a little adjustment of the software needed. It prints great via the cable from my computer, BUT, I had bought it to print Bluetooth from my phone, its a Lumia and as yet no apps for this. A bit disappointing, nothing about that in the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews