Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel
Almost a year after the events in Black Magic Woman we rejoin Quincey Morris as he's doing a little private investigating. This turns up some interesting information, and when Agent Fenton of the FBI gets in contact about a range of murders similar to those they had investigated the previous year it is clear that something deeper is going on. Not only this, but it turns...
Published on 13 Mar. 2009 by Mark Chitty

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Totaly unrealistic
It's a very well written book an so far as I know the FBI procedures where accurate an the charactors where pretty well written but the author has the occult knowledge of someone who has a 12 year old wiccan friend. He trys to seem realistic but having such little knowledge of the subject just ends up being uncreative. Preschool black an white pulp tv watered down...
Published 24 months ago by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Almost a year after the events in Black Magic Woman we rejoin Quincey Morris as he's doing a little private investigating. This turns up some interesting information, and when Agent Fenton of the FBI gets in contact about a range of murders similar to those they had investigated the previous year it is clear that something deeper is going on. Not only this, but it turns out Agent Fenton's new partner is, unbeknownst to him, more than meets the eye: a white witch.

When Libby Chastain is the victim of an attempted murder in her own apartment she starts to worry what is going on - not many people should have been able to get past her protections, especially not the goons that did. Unknown to her is the fact that this is happening across the country to many white witches in the sisterhood. As events start to converge it is clear that all on the side of good must pull together to stop evil prevailing.

Walter Grobius, the mega rich billionaire, is dying. After being foiled the previous year in his attempts to gather the vital ingredients that will help in giving him eternal life, he is now relying on Pardee, a black magician of great power, to give a successful conclusion to what could be his last chance. While Pardee prepares for the event on the blackest night in memory - a full mooned Walpurgis Night - Quincey, Libby and company are quickly putting the pieces of the puzzle together - but will it be in time?

Last month I read Black Magic Woman, the first book in the Quincey Morris/Libby Chastain series. I loved it. Not only was the book a page turner, it had great characters and I didn't feel out of my depth at all reading outside my usual comfort zone of sci-fi. I had Evil Ways sitting on the shelf when I finished BMW, but I decided to hang off for few weeks before jumping into it - I wanted to know that I had a book on my shelf that had great promise and I knew I would enjoy. Joining company again with Quincey, Libby and a few other familiar faces was a welcome treat - it felt like rejoining a group of friends.

Although the series is named after Quincey and Libby, Agent Fenton also makes a reappearance here, and not just a small one. By recruiting Quincey onto the FBI payroll as a consultant in the case it felt much more like it was heading towards a small team that tackles the bad guys, rather than the lonely hero, or even duo. Add to this the fact that Fenton's new partner, Colleen O'Donnell, is a white witch that is hiding her abilities from him, we have a great cast of characters involved in an interesting and gripping plot.

The location is also an interesting part of the story because it's not set in one place. Although this could be a hindrance to many novels it works perfectly here, from Iraq to Chicago (and the pub of another famous wizard) we get a good description and a good feel of the places we visit. This also puts the characters in the position of not having a regular office or home and in that slightly uncomfortable situation of nowhere to go when it hits the fan. Again, this really helps with the story and the sense of danger involved - not that it needs anything extra when the bad guys can break down the protections of the white witches wherever they are.

This brings me to the central point of the story and the very real, credible threat facing the sisterhood. Gustainis pulls it off remarkably well and the tension I felt when bad things started to happen really kicked the story into another gear. The descriptiveness employed in the telling of this story not only keeps the narrative flowing amazingly well, it also brings a vivid picture to mind with some of the more spectacular scenes.

Bottom line, this is a book that I not only enjoyed, but has reinforced the fact that I'll be a fan of Quincey and Libby for life and I'll eagerly await the next addition to this great series. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Own Supernatural, 12 April 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Having discovered Justin last year I really couldn't wait for his second novel so when it landed from Solaris I just had to get started. Its well written, the characterisation building upon the world for which he developed and thanks to a certain Mr Butcher a trip to Chicago allowed for others to penetrate the world in such a way to allow for a greater world building experience as others make an appearance. The sad thing about the book is the dedication within the text that tells the reader how hard a time it must have been for the author to write the piece. That said it doesn't show within the text and it clearly demonstrates how much of himself the author has thrown within the tale. Its concise, it's a wonderful read and it adds a touch of magic to the world that we wish we'd inhabit even if its darker than the norm in the continual epic struggle of good vs evil where a descendant of a character in Dracula continues the family pursuit of justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quincy, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Ways (Morris and Chastain Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
i love this series, i have read them all and i love the humour in among the horror. cant wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Ways (Morris and Chastain Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book started slow but then built up steam..I think it's one of those where it's difficult to read them out of context in the series because you do start off with a lot of 'Who are they talking about again' moments but ultimately it's an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Totaly unrealistic, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Evil Ways (Morris and Chastain Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
It's a very well written book an so far as I know the FBI procedures where accurate an the charactors where pretty well written but the author has the occult knowledge of someone who has a 12 year old wiccan friend. He trys to seem realistic but having such little knowledge of the subject just ends up being uncreative. Preschool black an white pulp tv watered down rippoff. Not a bad read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Ways (Morris and Chastain Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
another great read this series is getting better and better,highly recommend this series and author.
can't wait to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Ways (Morris and Chastain Investigations Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes you take a chance on a new author and are rewarded. I have read the first two books in the series and simply found them compulsive reading. The author has an easy style that belies the pace of the books, good humour with darker elements and characters that, while larger than life, you can still engage with and feel for. Overall just an excellent all round read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars old friends, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
John Brooks "book junkie" (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wondeful return of the team,like old friends visiting.I read the first book and could not wait for this one.I read simon.l.green,jim butcher,mike carey ect and i would be more than happy to put these books on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews