Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars delightful, easygoing series
There is much to admire in this book and indeed the series. Light, well crafted mysteries play second fiddle to the doings of the cast of disparate characters who inhabit and visit Lochdubh, so my recommendation is that if you like this sort of thing read the books in order to fully absorb the soap opera that Hamish and his chums and enemies inhabit. Sometimes there id...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by Big Jim

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A BUMPY RIDE, THIS!
The start shocks. Lochdubh's police house has been closed, Hamish Macbeth permanently transferred to bustling Strathbane (where a colleague is so obnoxious, he dumps her in a bin). Fortunately for readers, inhabitants of Lochdubh concoct a crimewave to secure his return. A welcome back party awaits. Wonderful. At the book's end, he confides to mongrel Towser "times...
Published on 21 May 2010 by Mr. D. L. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A BUMPY RIDE, THIS!, 21 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The start shocks. Lochdubh's police house has been closed, Hamish Macbeth permanently transferred to bustling Strathbane (where a colleague is so obnoxious, he dumps her in a bin). Fortunately for readers, inhabitants of Lochdubh concoct a crimewave to secure his return. A welcome back party awaits. Wonderful. At the book's end, he confides to mongrel Towser "times are changing" - blustering boss Blair more conciliatory, adored Priscilla more accessible.

All this is vintage Hamish and delights.

Unfortunately the rest of the novel is not in the same class. Maggie Baird, the "hussy" destined for destruction, is not so much a character as a contrivance. Very wealthy after sexually exploiting men for decades, she concentrates now on forever belittling her meek niece Alison and making advances at every man in sight. A terrible driver, it is perhaps appropriate she is responsible for the book's erratic directions and awkward manoeuvrings. Of all people, she is the one who initiates plans for Hamish's return. Why? She has only just arrived and never even knew him. Almost half way through the novel, she returns from a long absence (involving cosmetic surgery and the like), announces plans to publish her lurid memoirs, and invites to stay in her bungalow four former lovers - wanting them to compete for her hand in marriage. Credulity has thereby been stretched to the utmost in order to create a reasonable number of eventual suspects.

Of the five novels so far, this is the most creakingly constructed. Thank goodness for Hamish! He solves the murder and rescues the book (his detective work awesomely thorough for one who prefers being lazy).

The reader, as ever, greatly cares for him. His adventures enormously entertain. It would not hurt, though, if the cases investigated proved more convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars delightful, easygoing series, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
There is much to admire in this book and indeed the series. Light, well crafted mysteries play second fiddle to the doings of the cast of disparate characters who inhabit and visit Lochdubh, so my recommendation is that if you like this sort of thing read the books in order to fully absorb the soap opera that Hamish and his chums and enemies inhabit. Sometimes there id too much pandering to the American audience eg car parks are described as parking lots - not authentic - yet Hamish goes for "Butcher Meat" in this book, which is a very authentic figure of Scottish speech. This gets a tad annoying at times but should not detract from a delightful series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 6 Jan 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This is the fifth in a series of mysteries featuring the detective work of small town, Highland Scottish detective Hamish Macbeth, P.C. In this story, Maggie Baird, a rich Londoner of more than somewhat checkered history, moves into Lochdubh for peace and quiet, but then finds it too peaceful and quiet. Deciding that she needs to marry again, she invites four old suitors to her house and then announces that she'll marry one, and bestow all her money on him. When Maggie ends up dead, its up to Hamish to find out who did it and why.
My wife has been a big Hamish Macbeth fan for years, and now I know why. This story was a great deal of fun to read. I enjoyed the characters that Ms. Beaton created, finding them interesting and well developed. I enjoyed her setting of small town Scotland, and found the story and setting believable and captivating. If you are interested in a story set in modern Scotland, or just a good mystery, then I highly recommend this book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book in the Hamish Macbeth Series!, 11 Jan 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
What's a hussy? The definition that fits this book is "an immoral woman." As you can imagine, hussies are not well regarded in the conservative Scottish highlands. Put a hussy in that locale, and the results can be explosive.

If you love Hamish Macbeth mysteries, you have a great treat ahead of you with Death of a Hussy. But if you haven't read any of the books in the series, you owe it to yourself to begin with the excellent, Death of a Gossip. Then go on to read the books in order of their publication. You'll enjoy the development of the ongoing characters better that way.

As the book opens, Hamish has been banished to Strathbane to be beat officer. His new partner there proves to be a good foil for lots of humor. But he misses Lochdubh. Feeling forlorn, rescue comes from an unexpected direction: New resident Maggie Baird suggests that the locals make up imaginary crimes to force the powers to be to send Hamish back . . . even though she's never met him. Strathbane capitulates and Hamish returns. Then the story leaps forward in time as Maggie retires from the scene to work on recovering her previous good looks from the days when she was a highly sought-after companion for rich men. Her timid niece, Allison, remains behind with one thing on her mind: Becoming a driver. Hamish is pressed into duty as her driving instructor. The book alternates between Hamish and Allison as the narrators, and the contrast enlivens the story development. Maggie unexpectedly returns, much thinner, more toned, with freshly dyed and cropped hair, and wearing expensive clothes. But she's in a bad mood. She has set up four of her former lovers in competition to marry her for her money. In the meantime, Maggie makes life difficult for Allison, her heir. When Maggie dies following a suspicious car fire, the criminal investigation part of Death of a Hussy begins. You probably won't have any trouble figuring out who the murderer is, but it's a most enjoyable story. There's also a development on the Priscilla-Hamish front to look forward to.

Death of a Hussy has several qualities that make it stand out from other books in the series:

1. The subplots are long, interesting, and invariably humorous.

2. The time involved isn't compressed into just a few days. As a result, there's more room for interaction and development in relations among the characters.

3. There's more variety of locales than usual.

4. The humor is much stronger throughout the book. You almost get a sense of M.C. Beaton as being a perfectly happy person in reading this book.

5. The plot nicely brings out new dimensions of the on-going characters in ways that strengthen the series for future books.

This book shows much more care in planning and execution than the earlier or later books in the series. It's as though M.C. Beaton realized that she had a potentially bigger winner on her hands if she made some mid-course corrections in the series . . . and those corrections are perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Hussy, 8 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gentle easy read,amusing but the Scottish dialect as written did get a bit wearing at times
I was encouraged to read the Hamish Macbeth novels by an ex US Marine a friend of my family in North Carolina. I had not heard of them before that and was pleasantly surprised to find Amazon had many of them in stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 14 Feb 2013
By 
ASH (Heswall. Wurral. UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death of a Hussy (Hamish Macbeth Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Being under the weather with a rotten cold, I wanted something light and distracting to take my mind off my misery. . This was just the job! I love the decency of Hamish and his ample common sense, but could shake Priscilla!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER WONDERFUL MACBETH MYSTERY..., 6 Mar 2012
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Poor Hamish Macbeth, the Constable of the quaint village of Lochdubh, has been reassigned to a new post in the bustling and gritty city of Strathbane, since the village of Lochdubh is hardly a hotbed of criminal activity. Feeling put out and longing for village life, Hamish wonders if he is at all missed by those he has left behind. Little does he know that the villagers are planning to stage some criminal activity in hopes of getting him back home where he belongs. Hamish may be a bit lazy, but he is one of their own and they desperately want him back.

As luck would have it, they succeed, and Hamish returns just in time for him to find out who murdered Maggie Baird, middle-aged minx who was a new arrival to Lochdubh. Who could have done it? Was it her put upon, long suffering niece? Was it her four former lovers who were Maggie's house guests? All had motive and opportunity. Or was it some else altogether?

This is the fifth book in a series of cozy mysteries featuring lovable Highlander, Hamish Macbeth. In this book, village life takes center stage, and the village characters continue their development, giving the book that cozy feel. The book is also laced with sly humor throughout that is engaging, keeping the mood of the book light and highly enjoyable. As with all cozy mysteries, it is not so much the mystery that is of import but the characters that revolve around the mystery. While the mysteries are intriguing, they are the framework around which the characters evolve. With the oddly endearing Hamish Macbeth, the author has created a character that is bound to win many fans of the cozy mystery genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another gentle whodunnit in the Hamish MacBeth series, 17 July 2014
By 
YeahYeahNoh (Willenhall, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Hussy (Hamish Macbeth Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I found this instalment in the series to be something of a mixed bag. As part of a series there are effectively always two plot strands, one being the 'mystery/crime' plot which is central to the book, and the other being the on-going life/loves of the central nd surrounding characters. I felt the latter was better in this book than the former, which felt more contrived than perhaps it had in the earlier books in the series. That said, this is still full of the same old-fashioned relatively gentle humour which has stood the earlier books in good stead, and the story rattles along with a pace that makes you want to read just a little bit more each time.
A couple of other reviewers have said they feel you get more from these if you read them in order, and I'm inclined to agree with that, but effectively, if you like others in the series, you'll most likely enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same old stuff., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Hussy (Hamish Macbeth Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I seem to be hooked on Hamish Macbeth and I'm not sure why. Probably because it's easy to read and my fondness for the old TV series.
The plots are not complicated and often follow the same theme. A group of people being brought together with the obnoxious one being murdered in chapter 3 or 4. The nature of Hamish's relationship with his superior, Detective Chief Inspector Blair, is repeated in each book so the course of the story is predictable.
The murderer could be any of the characters and usually by the end of the book I don't really care who it is. Hamish will get a hunch with no proof whatsoever and in some absurd way get the murderer to confess.
I don't think I would recommend these books to anyone. I've read 5 or 6 in the series now and do not want to read anymore, I probably will though as they are strangely addictive - like smoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Hamish MacBeth : this series is a must read for any serious Murder/Mystery fan., 5 July 2014
A recommended series if you like mystery,murder ,& intrigue. I recommend starting with the first tale & then read each book in order . You will love Hamish et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews