Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lianne Carroll hits the spot again and again, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up and Down (Audio CD)
I've seen Lianne Carroll live on at least three occasions. Its a great experience, always. However, the pa never ever seems to capture the subtlety in Lianne's voice in the same way that recording does. This is such a wonderful cd - the repertoire sounds a little conservative; we've come to expect more than the piano lounge classics, Moanin, My Funny Valentine, Old Devil Moon etc. But the way the songs are treated is anything but conservative. There are emotional cries at the beginning of 'Moanin' which show of Lianne's vocal range, and 'What are you doing for the rest of your life' - well frankly I don't care that its been played and played - this rendition breaks my heart anew. Great vocal work over quite a few octaves. By the way, Mark Edwards on piano - well, wow! Kenny Wheeler and a number of other great soloists lift the ambience even higher. Thank you Lianne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Cowley "Conqueror7" (Hastings, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up and Down (Audio CD)
Liane Carroll is one of the best jazz singers around at the moment. I may be biased, coming from Hastings, Liane's home town, but she consistently produces great musical sounds. Her upbeat numbers are exciting and full of energy and her slow numbers are relaxing and smooth. Liane was made for 1930's Harlem but I am glad she is in 2011 Hastings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up & Down, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Up and Down (Audio CD)
Liane draws you in unexpected ways into songs you think you already know..but then realise through her interpretation that you have never really heard before. Her voice portrays a woman who has lived, really lived through life's Ups and Downs. It made me smile, it made me cry. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liane Carroll 'Up and Down' AllAboutJazz Review, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Up and Down (Audio CD)
Liane Carroll is a much-admired British singer and pianist, winner of accolades including Musician Of The Year at the 2008 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. She has worked with musicians as varied as Sir Paul McCartney and Charlie Haden, while on this album her invited guests include tenor saxophonists Kirk Whalum and Julian Siegel, and Kenny Wheeler on flugelhorn. She already has a strong body of work to her name, but Up And Down might just be her finest album to date.
Carroll's voice is superb--bluesy, smooth, ballsy, cheeky, romantic, heartbreaking, and never less than honest. This combination makes Carroll eminently capable of performances of tremendous emotional intensity--when the songs are upbeat and positive this results in moments of intense joy, when the songs are sad this intensity can be hard to bear.

Aided by producer and horn player James McMillan and a roll-call of top British jazz musicians, Carroll draws out the full impact of these songs in some unexpected ways. The most surprising is her approach to "What Now My Love?" The opening--Carroll singing over Mark Edwards' gospel-style organ with Whalum adding brief tenor phrases--is in keeping with the song's usual sentiment, but everything moves up a few notches with the entry of Mark Hodgson's rock solid bass beat. As Whalum and Edwards add some funky and fiery riffs it's no longer a torch song, a cry of pain from a spurned lover. Now it seems from Carroll's bluesy but almost triumphant tone that she's engineered her lover's departure all along. "What now my love? A nice gin and tonic and a sit down I think. And good riddance."

"Buy and Sell" opens with the sounds of children at play, features electric guitar with an Ernie Isley vibe courtesy of Mark Jaimes and an electric piano solo from Edwards, and adds a vocal chorus courtesy of Carroll's multi-tracked voice. The result gives a fittingly late-60s feel to this beautiful Laura Nyro song. Wheeler guests on Bill Evans' "Turn Out The Stars," adding a starkly emotive solo to Carroll's poignant vocal.

Carroll's singing on Tom Waits' "Take Me Home" and Rodgers and Hart's "My Funny Valentine" are two of her finest vocals. The emotional engagement of both performances is staggering. On Waits' ballad Carroll, playing some delicate and graceful piano phrases, makes a heartfelt plea to her lover that would melt all but the hardest of hearts. On "My Funny Valentine," Carroll, Edwards on piano and McMillan on flugelhorn give one of the album's most powerful performances: superbly stark and raw, it reaches into the song's heart to draw out the full poignancy of the words.

Up And Down is beautiful. The song choices and arrangements are inspired, and the musicians are uniformly superb. Carroll is a singer of superb style, capable of projecting every nuance and subtlety of a lyric. What more is there to say? This is one of the finest vocal jazz albums to appear for many a moon.

Bruce Lindsay - AllAboutJazz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up and Down, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Up And Down (MP3 Download)
This latest cd shows Liane Carroll at her absolute best. Not only does she demonstrate her amazing vocal jazzy athleticism, but she also shows her gentle, hauntingly beautiful sensitive side.
Fabulous *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful., 30 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up and Down (Audio CD)
Having enjoyed several live performances by Liane Carroll, I felt a CD might be disappointing as it could not convey that amazing verve and personality. This CD, however, is a delight - giving an intimacy and detail which can't be appreciated in a stage performance. Track after track are completely stunning, showing her virtuosity and being enhanced by the variety of settings and accompaniments. I would still not miss a live performance whenever I can reach one, but this is a superb alternative way to enjoy her talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic jazz album, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up And Down (MP3 Download)
So good it makes you cry for more. The range and beauty of her voice and musical interpretations are exceptional. A must for anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up and Down (Audio CD)
A brilliant album from one of my favourite artists. Her rendition of 'Take Me Home' is breathtaking. Don't hesitate, just buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and delicate..., 1 July 2011
By 
Dean C. Morrison (Hastings UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up And Down (MP3 Download)
I need more time to reflect on this beautiful piece of work by Ms Carroll, but that very fact means to me that it's something special...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up And Down
Up And Down by Liane Carroll
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews