Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ADDITIONAL NOTE: AKA THE DARK LURKING
For those that have `Dark Lurking [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]` You do not need this....because it`s the same movie repackaged for the European market. This movie was also released not too long ago as `Alien Vs Zombies` (Neither of which really apply to the content in truth). I have almost bought this movie three times now due to the constant altering of...
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by Mr. Stephen David Maskell

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to do with Aliens
Essentially the story behind this film starts with a research station on a planet somewhere that sends out a distress call which is picked up by a nearby space cruiser. From that point on all the action takes place at the research station where all havoc has broken loose with monsters attacking the few remaining survivors. The plot (such as it is) then turns into the...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Mr. N. Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ADDITIONAL NOTE: AKA THE DARK LURKING, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Stephen David Maskell (east sheen London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
For those that have `Dark Lurking [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]` You do not need this....because it`s the same movie repackaged for the European market. This movie was also released not too long ago as `Alien Vs Zombies` (Neither of which really apply to the content in truth). I have almost bought this movie three times now due to the constant altering of title and artwork packaging,so I`m just trying to give a little warning as you may already own it.
I would also say as to the content,this is a fairly low budget movie with some extremely dubious acting and lame dialogue at times,but if you know what you`re getting into beforehand you`re expectations should be in line with the product and you should really enjoy a rollercoaster ride full of frantic all-action monster horde killing mayhem.You have to love the way almost every minute in the second half you get to witness very credible and highly crafted mutations being shot back to hell by a group of mercenaries with bloody big guns and you will instantly forget about the budget because of how pumped up and excitingly fearce the action scenes are.The previous review on here says almost exactly the same as I would so I won`t repeat his words and this wasn`t intended as a `review` anyhow. I would recommend you see this if you enjoy any science-fiction-action-horror movies, as for a low budget movie (only really noticable by the bad acting and atrocious dialogue in the first half) it definately kicks some serious butt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..LOW BUDGET BUT BRILLIANT..", 4 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
Its good that this film finally gets a U.K release, in the U.S this movie is titled Dark lurking and has been available for some time, its a low budget straight to DVD sci-fi but its a very good film, the budget has been used very well to create some cool sets and locations, the effects are cool and the story is also rather enjoyable, there is a kind of a twist in the movie and I loved the ending!! The cast was actually great too I thought they all gave a pretty convincing performance enough to really enjoy this film and stay interested, there is some good sci-fi gore and bloody violence, if you like a good sci-fi film then you should enjoy this little gem its part Alien part other things but well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to do with Aliens, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. N. Edwards "NiallEd" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
Essentially the story behind this film starts with a research station on a planet somewhere that sends out a distress call which is picked up by a nearby space cruiser. From that point on all the action takes place at the research station where all havoc has broken loose with monsters attacking the few remaining survivors. The plot (such as it is) then turns into the usual 'survive and escape' formula.

The story reminded me a bit of the game 'Doom 3', the first 'Resident Evil' film with a nod to Aliens & the film/game 'Dead Space'. Unfortunately, it isn't nearly as good as any of them.

The good points are that the special effects and some action scenes are quite good.

The bad points are that the story doesn't make much sense, the acting isn't very good and everything was just too predictable. It comes across a bit like a series of disjointed scenes because there is no real common thread to hold them all together.

On top of that the undead aren't really undead in the way most of us think of them these days and I didn't notice any aliens at all (unless one of the monsters was actually supposed to be an alien and I didn't notice the difference).

Overall, there are much better films around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An adrenaline ride from start to finish, 19 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
The special effects are impressive, and there's great creature work, all makes this an exciting film to watch. This film has it all - action scenes, jeopardy, creature attacks, treachery, kick-ass heroes, good plot, cool fx - plenty to keep you interested from start to finish. A potent mix of sci-fi, action and horror.

The cinematography and editing are top notch. Great use of interesting angles, movement of camera and well edited action sequences provide a visually interesting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sew your head to the carpet instead., 23 April 2012
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
well i took no notice of the other reviews. mistake. this film is utter crap and thats being kind. im glad i only rented it, and that was a waste of 2 quid. crap acting from none actors, bad effects seen it all before story line. i ended up watching this on fast forward x 8 speed and that was too long. its that bad, dont waste your time. utter sh**e.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Dire, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting b-movie horror. This film was absolutely dire. No story and acting abysmal. Avoid at all costs! You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alien Undead, 5 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
i payed how much for this, thinking it was going to be great and quite the rarity. All i can say without being to critical is you definitely need a huge sense of humor to watch this. The story isn't that bad, its everything else, i ve seen some bad horrors in my time, but i have to admit this is now my new number one slot. Go to the local school xmas panto for 6 year old and you ll receive better acting skills. Its just really really pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poo, 19 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Alien Undead [DVD] (DVD)
please please save your money dont buy this rubbish theres a reason why this movie has so many names for this pill of poo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alien Undead [DVD]
Alien Undead [DVD] by Greg Connors (DVD - 2011)
10.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews