Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely tied sequel
This is Carol Drinkwater's much anticipated sequel to "The Olive Route". It was worth the wait. In this tranche she travels to the western Mediterranean to see for herself the vast array of olive husbandry, from the intensive farming in Spain to attempts to halt the northward march of the Sahara in Algeria. As always, it is the story of the olive told through the...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by C. Lynch

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree
I missed this book when it was first published and only discovered it when it's sequel Return to the Olive Farm appeared. I am a great fan of Carol Drinkwater and have read and enjoyed all her other books in this series. She writes well and her books are interesting and easy to read. This volume is no exception. I admire her courage in travelling alone in dangerous places...
Published on 19 Dec 2010 by Mrs. ME Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely tied sequel, 17 Nov 2008
By 
C. Lynch "CL" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Carol Drinkwater's much anticipated sequel to "The Olive Route". It was worth the wait. In this tranche she travels to the western Mediterranean to see for herself the vast array of olive husbandry, from the intensive farming in Spain to attempts to halt the northward march of the Sahara in Algeria. As always, it is the story of the olive told through the people involved in its farming that draws the reader into this odyssey. She does not shy away from describing the disasters as well as the triumphs in her journey. Just the read for winter evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. ME Richardson (Belfast United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I missed this book when it was first published and only discovered it when it's sequel Return to the Olive Farm appeared. I am a great fan of Carol Drinkwater and have read and enjoyed all her other books in this series. She writes well and her books are interesting and easy to read. This volume is no exception. I admire her courage in travelling alone in dangerous places and coping with tricky situations.
She presents a fascinating account of travelling off the beaten track in Spain, North Africa and Italy. Perhaps the 'olive' theme is nearing exhaustion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living With Your Neighbors, 29 Oct 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
My granddaughter has a myriad of friends of all different nationalities. She lives in an area where a lot of different cultures are available. But, that is not so for many children, and I think it is very wise to open up their worlds to different cultures. One of the very best ways to do this is through books, and the author of this book has been writing for everyone.

Elsa Marston, the author, grew up in Massachusetts. She knew as a child she wanted to be a writer, and while she was home with her children she started writing stories. She is particularly interested in the Mideast and Arab American stories.

Sameer and his mother often talked about the beautiful house next door. The neighbors had gone away during the troubles, and it stood empty. During this time, they discovered the neighbor's tree had branches that hung over their property, and this tree had the most delicious olives they had ever eaten. One day the neighbors returned, and Sameer was very excited to meet them. He hoped they had a boy to play with. They found the neighbors very quiet, and they did not reciprocate to invitations to visit. They also had a girl, Muna. One day, Sameer was in his yard collecting the olives that had fallen. Muna told him that those olives belonged to her family and not his. Sameer tried to explain that his family had taken care of the tree while they were gone and had enjoyed the olives. Muna was not impressed, and stated again, the olives were hers. When you read this story you will learn what happened between Sameer and Muna. Did they resolve their differences?

Parents/teachers will enjoy reading this book to their children. The children will have many questions. One of the best parts about this book is the lesson or moral to be learned. The illustrations by Claire Ewart are beautiful, lovely colors that provide a wonderful background to the storyline. The children may have many questions about olives, 'the troubles' and the country, Lebanon, that this story comes from. Be prepared!

Highly Recommended. prisrob 10-29-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Olive tree, 2 Aug 2009
The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves I enjoyed this book very much. I thought it was better & less long winded than her book called, The Olive Route. Best of all though was the trilogy of the Olive farm. I look forward to the new book that comes out next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flit lit with class, 14 April 2011
So many people move to a French rural retreat, sit back and start hammering away at the laptop with an eye on the bestseller list. Just as Ms Drinkwater is no ghosted actress lending a name to a potboiler, she is also no flit lit hack. Her books are the best in the genre. Well researched and a charming read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't bear to finish it!, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having devoured the initial trilogy of Olive Farm books I have loved every minute of travelling with Carol through Spain, Morocco, Algeria, Sicily and mainland Italy. I am fascinated by the historical and political issues that she gently exposes to us to on the journey. I am in awe of the way she travels at 'ground level' staying in basic local accommodation, introducing us to scenes and experiences that would certainly be beyond my sphere of travel. I just can't bear to finish this book though! ........Well not until I have first stashed away my next wonderful read from Carol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
LaineyTiffers "Lainey" (Brighton, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Drinkwater holds the reader spell-bound as she recounts one half of her awesome quest to discover the origins of the not-so-humble Olive tree! Carol writes with much passion, compassion & enormous skill! She is also now a friend via social networking & I am so lucky to be able to follow more of her amazing life through this avenue.
I discovered her Olive series at around the same time as I discovered & also fell in love with Provence in Southern France. Sadly, holidays are once a year, but with Carol's Olive series, I can pick up one of her books & be back 'home', even on a windy, cold, wet afternoon in UK....The Olive Tree was equally as evocative as all the others! Thank you Carol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just love the olives, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an interesting, emotionally challenging and rewarding journey. A facinatory of life with olives and Carol. Read previous books and just wanted more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was received by me well within the advised timescale. It was extremely well packaged. I can recommend the book to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very irritating, 3 Dec 2014
I was not familiar with previous works by Carol Drinkwater and I was surprised by her voice. I found it overly emotionnal and dramatic for a traveling /fact finding book. Shes turns what could have been a rather interesting quest into a bit of a "woman" book. Her musings are just that: not scientifically based, and for the Spanish part of the book, she really could have double checked pronunciation and facts. She is also be at time patronnising and so terribly English!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews