Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely tied sequel
This is Carol Drinkwater's much anticipated sequel to "The Olive Route". It was worth the wait. In this tranche she travels to the western Mediterranean to see for herself the vast array of olive husbandry, from the intensive farming in Spain to attempts to halt the northward march of the Sahara in Algeria. As always, it is the story of the olive told through the...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by C. Lynch

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree
I missed this book when it was first published and only discovered it when it's sequel Return to the Olive Farm appeared. I am a great fan of Carol Drinkwater and have read and enjoyed all her other books in this series. She writes well and her books are interesting and easy to read. This volume is no exception. I admire her courage in travelling alone in dangerous places...
Published on 19 Dec 2010 by Mrs. ME Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely tied sequel, 17 Nov 2008
By 
C. Lynch "CL" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Carol Drinkwater's much anticipated sequel to "The Olive Route". It was worth the wait. In this tranche she travels to the western Mediterranean to see for herself the vast array of olive husbandry, from the intensive farming in Spain to attempts to halt the northward march of the Sahara in Algeria. As always, it is the story of the olive told through the people involved in its farming that draws the reader into this odyssey. She does not shy away from describing the disasters as well as the triumphs in her journey. Just the read for winter evenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. ME Richardson (Belfast United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I missed this book when it was first published and only discovered it when it's sequel Return to the Olive Farm appeared. I am a great fan of Carol Drinkwater and have read and enjoyed all her other books in this series. She writes well and her books are interesting and easy to read. This volume is no exception. I admire her courage in travelling alone in dangerous places and coping with tricky situations.
She presents a fascinating account of travelling off the beaten track in Spain, North Africa and Italy. Perhaps the 'olive' theme is nearing exhaustion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Olive tree, 2 Aug 2009
The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves I enjoyed this book very much. I thought it was better & less long winded than her book called, The Olive Route. Best of all though was the trilogy of the Olive farm. I look forward to the new book that comes out next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flit lit with class, 14 April 2011
So many people move to a French rural retreat, sit back and start hammering away at the laptop with an eye on the bestseller list. Just as Ms Drinkwater is no ghosted actress lending a name to a potboiler, she is also no flit lit hack. Her books are the best in the genre. Well researched and a charming read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
LaineyTiffers "Lainey" (Brighton, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Drinkwater holds the reader spell-bound as she recounts one half of her awesome quest to discover the origins of the not-so-humble Olive tree! Carol writes with much passion, compassion & enormous skill! She is also now a friend via social networking & I am so lucky to be able to follow more of her amazing life through this avenue.
I discovered her Olive series at around the same time as I discovered & also fell in love with Provence in Southern France. Sadly, holidays are once a year, but with Carol's Olive series, I can pick up one of her books & be back 'home', even on a windy, cold, wet afternoon in UK....The Olive Tree was equally as evocative as all the others! Thank you Carol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was received by me well within the advised timescale. It was extremely well packaged. I can recommend the book to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't bear to finish it!, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having devoured the initial trilogy of Olive Farm books I have loved every minute of travelling with Carol through Spain, Morocco, Algeria, Sicily and mainland Italy. I am fascinated by the historical and political issues that she gently exposes to us to on the journey. I am in awe of the way she travels at 'ground level' staying in basic local accommodation, introducing us to scenes and experiences that would certainly be beyond my sphere of travel. I just can't bear to finish this book though! ........Well not until I have first stashed away my next wonderful read from Carol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just love the olives, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an interesting, emotionally challenging and rewarding journey. A facinatory of life with olives and Carol. Read previous books and just wanted more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard going!, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't finish the book because l found it a trifle boring in places. Didn't 'grab' me like Carol's other books :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming well written book., 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very enjoyable read,well written by Carol Drinkwater as usual,you almost felt part of the family. Has a feel good factor about it, it makes you want to live the dream yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf6e0d68)

This product

Only search this product's reviews