Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatness on record.
This offering is incredible on so many levels. Firstly the bizarrely overlooked Jamal is in scorching form throughout all twelve tracks. Secondly, the re-mastered sound is of the highest quality, every note clear and sharp. Thirdly, should I need to point out, an incredibly low price! If you love jazz piano, or simply any music of genius, do not hesitate. Buy!
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by M. A. Coverson

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ahmad Jamal
This one was was not as good as the rest i bought it has not stayed the test of time
Published 21 months ago by David F. Polley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatness on record., 28 Jun 2012
By 
M. A. Coverson "coversonmac" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
This offering is incredible on so many levels. Firstly the bizarrely overlooked Jamal is in scorching form throughout all twelve tracks. Secondly, the re-mastered sound is of the highest quality, every note clear and sharp. Thirdly, should I need to point out, an incredibly low price! If you love jazz piano, or simply any music of genius, do not hesitate. Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art Blakey - how can you go wrong?, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this album! It's Blakey, all right -- unmistakable style and sound -- and it's good that these old LPs are being remastered onto modern CD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some wonderful piano playing, 29 Dec 2011
I've been waiting a while for the release on CD of Poinciana Revisited, if only for the heartbreakingly lovely Valley of the Dolls theme. There are many other good items here, and the live numbers include a good version of the often-played Poinciana. You need to hear at least one of the versions of Poinciana - Jamal's big hit - if only for the groundbreaking drum riff. Lovely stuff and very stylish and original. A welcome contrast to some of the charmless navel gazing of the modern clutch of "abstract" pianists out of the ECM mould.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously overlooked, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
I fully concur with preceding reviewers. Ahmad Jamal (previously known as Frederick R. Jones) is seriously overlooked and his innovation is simply awe inspiring. Regardless of the quality or compilation of material chosen by the record label for this album which some reviewers have chosen to criticise, this album is excellent value and I have had more than my money’s worth since downloading it three days ago. I have a long list of favourite Jazz pianists and I refuse to compare artists but if I ever were to be banished to a desert island, I would just have to take Ahmad Jamal’s music with me.
Highly recommended to anybody who loves Jazz. Take a listen to Blue Moon.
Enjoy and Happy Listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pianist ahead his time, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, Ahmad Jamal is the best (sorry Oscar, I like you too),he is the artist well ahead his time! For those about the jazz, I recommend this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes., 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Pick it up while you can- very good price, digital booklet and all. If you love jazz piano you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight ,Ahmad Jamal, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Excellent value for the money ,its for the jazz enthusiats .and if you are just starting in to Jazz well worth the listen .Ken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ahmad Jamal, 27 Dec 2012
By 
David F. Polley (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poinciana Revisited / Freeflight [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
This one was was not as good as the rest i bought it has not stayed the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews