Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sky's the Limit - A Sky fans review
As a Team Sky fan, Richard Moore's latest publication was eagerly anticipated. An esteemed writer and cycling blogger, Moore's previous offerings, the excellent `In Search of Robert Millar' and `Heroes, Villains and Velodromes' have set the bar high. 'Sky's the Limit' does not disappoint.

Although Moore appears to have been granted unprecedented access from day...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by teamskyfans.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, bit dull, one for the cyclists
It's a rather dry recap of the last few years. No new insights. Makes Sky sound very robotic, no emotion, still can't get excited about this team. Brilliant results for the Brits though of course, simply fantastic. But oh so dull. This book passed a bit of time, if you're not into pro cycling though you will fall asleep. It seems that Sky's success was simply due to much...
Published 18 months ago by Sydneysider


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sky's the Limit - A Sky fans review, 11 Jun 2011
As a Team Sky fan, Richard Moore's latest publication was eagerly anticipated. An esteemed writer and cycling blogger, Moore's previous offerings, the excellent `In Search of Robert Millar' and `Heroes, Villains and Velodromes' have set the bar high. 'Sky's the Limit' does not disappoint.

Although Moore appears to have been granted unprecedented access from day one, perhaps surprisingly the book is neither authorised or official. This is good as it has allowed Moore to document the evolution of Team Sky and it's debut season warts and all.

The book is a journey with Team Sky the central character. But, as the sub-title suggests 'British Cycling's Quest to Conquer the Tour de France' it's clear that the Team Sky project was a culmination of the total domination by the British Track Team and the hugely successful British Cycling Academy that was producing world class talent in the shape of Geraint Thomas and Mark Cavendish etc. The natural progression was to take the principles of the track and the World Class Performance programme onto the road.

Moore eloquently guides the reader through the early day's, confirming that Cavendish was originally first choice to lead the team before an apparent fall-out led to him signing a contract extension with Columbia High-Road just day`s before the official launch of Team Sky. Without a dominant British star for the all new British team the book chronicles the ensuing prising of Bradley Wiggins from Garmin, and to a lesser degree Ben Swift from Katusha, this and the apparent `new kids on the block' muscling in with their Jaguars, state of the art bus, and unprecedented philosophy resulted in a subsequent knock-on effect from the other teams that ultimately led to a ganging-up at the Tour of Oman.

Moore is able to witness first-hand and document the training camps, rider selection, the `marginal gain' attention to detail and the new coaching methods that Team Sky introduced, although such was not always well received by the traditionalists and in the early day's led to several staff members parting company, in particular `Senior' Sports Director, Scott Sunderland. A fascinating insight into the behind-the-scenes activities and innovations that haven't really been seen before on the road.

But it's the Tour de France that takes centre stage. After the fight to obtain a Tour contender and the stated aim of providing a clean British winner within five years all eye's were on Bradley. Moore was there, at the hotel's, riding in the team car, interacting with staff and riders - his account provides a fascinating testimony of the race and the disappointment by all when it started to fall apart. Knowing that Moore's book was in the pipeline, fair play to Team Sky for allowing him to stick around when it all started to go wrong.

The book culminates in the ill-fated Veulta a Espana, where half the team suffered from illness and tragically soigneur Txema Gonzalev contracted a bacterial infection and subsequently died aged just 43, forcing the team to withdraw from the race, and finally the Tour of Britain where according to Moore an apparent lack of confidence and insecurity contributed to the Team's failure to secure a win on home soil.

Moore quite rightly states that Team Sky should not be judged after just one season. The Team did enjoy considerable success in 2010 - The Tour Down Under, Het Nieuwsblad, Russ Downing's excellent Criterium International... Unfortunately a major classic victory, or overall success in a stage race eluded them but as Dave Brailsford said to a fan at the Tour of Britain "We'll be back, we've learnt a lot, it hasn't been easy but we've learnt a lot".

'`Sky's the Limit' is an excellent read, well written, superbly researched and apparently impartial. The story of Team Sky's debut season but without the spin. I thoroughly recommend it and eagerly look forward to the sequel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much on the pies, not enough on the steak, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Maneblusser 7 (Mechelen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started to read this book just prior to the start of the 2012 Tour de France, and finished it almost at the same time that Bradley Wiggings saluted the crowd from the numer 1 spot of the podium at Paris' most famous Avenue. The book indeed met my expectations. It is a frank, honest and revealing report of what I should describe as "The Brailsford Method". Being a fanatic cyclist myself, and living in Flanders, I did have my reservations about this approach when Sky stormed into the cycling world, clearly intending to get rid of the so called old fashioned methods. However, it became rapidly clear that it required more than a scientific approach, highly sophisticated tools, a state of the art teamcoach and expensive, flashy cars, to pull down what can be described as the century old (continental) cycling culture in all its aspects. Brailsford's determination to reduce the "variables" that can influence a road race, to a low 1 or 2% quickly turned out to be an unrealistic ambition. As David Millar rightly pointed out, the strength of Sky was also its weakness, and Sky had to accept that these variables could not get any lower than 20 to 25%. The team management also realized quite quickly that one needed to invest in the effort to get accepted by the peleton, rather than to tell these people what they should do and how they should do it. The book describes this proces very well and the behind-the-scenes developments, the anger, the frustrations, the joy and misery make for an absorbing read. And, yes, in the meantime it seems that Brailsford's great ambition, to win the Tour de France within 5 years of starting the Sky project, was not an elusive dream. The big challenge will be however to confirm this in the next season, to keep the team happy and go for a repeat performance. I just wonder what will happen should another full blooded British professional cycling team enter the peleton. Would Brailsford still be able to combine his Sky job with that of British Cycling supremo??? While I strongly recommend this fascinating book to everyone interested in the business side of professional cycling, there is an unfortunate sloppy (and to me, Fleming) rather annoying mistake: in one of the final chapters, when doping is (again) discussed, the name of the famous Festina "soigneur" Willy Voet is wrongly spelled (Voight). I hope this will be put right in the next editions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky's the Limit: Wiggins and Cavendish: The Quest to Conquer the Tour de France (Kindle Edition)
a good read for any sky fans cant wait for the next one about sky and the riders :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 7 Jun 2013
This review is from: Sky's the Limit: Wiggins and Cavendish: The Quest to Conquer the Tour de France (Kindle Edition)
A well written book that really does get inside the world of team racing. Richard Moore is able to give a well balanced non biased insight that will appeal to both enthusiasts and 'first timers' alike. Some candid accounts from the Sky team makes for a really enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into the world of GB cycling, 27 Sep 2011
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sky's the Limit is written around the third stage, road racing, of an ongoing plan to establish the GB cycling brand as a World name. The plan includes forming a GB team for the Tour de France with a sponsorship deal from SKY. Highly detailed cycling background, well researched and written in a way that should be interesting for all but, obviously, aimed at those with a serious interest in cycling. I hadn't realised that there was anything like a GB academy, set up for elite cyclists, and that Mark Cavendish came through that academy on his way to becoming a World star (though not yet a member of the GB team). Thoroughly enjoyed this unique insight into GB cycling and how it's being transformed into a major player on the World Stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Domestique Incident, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Team Sky entered into the world of the peleton with the sort of brashness that we associate with our American cousins and with a belief in order and technology that is almost French. This is a good account of the hows and whys of the process that took us to the let downs of the Tour of Britain and the 2010 Tour de France. Since then Team Sky have lifted their game with the 2011 Dauphiné and two podiums in the 2011 Vuelta. Treading the line between carping criticism and star-struck admiration is no easy task, but I think the author timed his sprint to perfection. You sense an unfinished tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every bit!!, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Ms. Danielle K. Smith - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've followed the tour on TV for as long as I can remember, only wishing I could go and watch it in person or get behind the scenes. I've read books by Lance Armstrong and other cyclists... This book is a good read for anyone interested in cycling but especially the tour. It was great to read a book that was so relevant and recent to today and about an event which I watched from my sofa.

The book does allow you access to the good the bad and the ugly along the journey. You really to get an understanding of every nut and bolt that goes into building a team for such a prestigious event.

This is only the start for this team... they may not have achieved what they set up to do yet, but I know I'll eagerly look forward to watching them grow in future events and then the return of another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible insight into the first British Pro Tour Team, 12 Sep 2011
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an avid cycling fan, I was keen to read this as soon as it came available.

I was wary though, as it wasn't an 'official' or 'authorised' insight, and was worried it might be 300 pages of nonsense and made up random nonsense to sell copies.

However, I needn't have worried. The book is simply excellent. Eloquently written, in a manner that aids and encourages continuous reading, I found it a fascinating insight into the creation and development of Team Sky in their first year.

As Richard Moore states at the end of the book, it isn't authorised or official as he wanted to be able to write what was true and accurate, and not controlled by a PR machine. This said, Team Sky seem to have been incredibly cooperative and given some real insights into the structure.

I thought I knew a lot about cycling, and the processes and unwritten etiquette etc, but the book sheds light on some additional areas I was not aware of.

As a Team Sky and British Cycling fan I was disappointed with Team Skys performance in the 2010 Tour de France, and their insistence to push Brad Wiggins, when he clearly wasn't at the top of his game, and others were. Its interesting to hear Dave Brailsford's (and Richard Moore's for that matter) views on the situation and how they could have done things differently.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and would highly recommend it to any British Cycling or Team Sky fan - or any cycling fan for that matter. A great insight into a new protour team hitting the circuit - and learning on their feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part 1, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A must of any road cycling fan, this is an insight into the development of the Sky cycling team from the initial idea onto the 2010 Tour de France. Cycling fans will of course already know what happened there and that there was much more to come from the team in 2011 and more is expected in 2012. In some ways the book feels a little premature and that the real story is still waiting to be told. However, there is much of interest in this book and the development of the team is worth reading in its own right.

The hard work that is put in behind the scenes is where this book focused and it's well worth reading. Recommended for cycling fans and I'm looking forward to reading the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sky's Climb, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky's the Limit: Wiggins and Cavendish: The Quest to Conquer the Tour de France (Kindle Edition)
An insight of How Sky was put together and operated over 3 years they won the Tour De France twice with 2 different Riders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews