Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts Behind the Film of the Same Name
I congratulate Ben Freeth on writing such a readable account of the experiences of his family in fighting for the rights of white farmers, black farmers and black farm workers to continue living on their land in Zimbabwe.
It is true that he concentrates on the minority of white farmers who bravely remain despite the threats on their lives and the theft of their...
Published on 25 Jun. 2011 by Bev

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
It's very hard to rate this book: it is a highly subjective account of the author's horrifying experience of violence but, as it doesn't pretend to be objective, that isn't necessarily a fault. As an atheist, I found it difficult to relate to the author and his religious fervour, but I know a lot of people in Zimbabwe, black or white, find their christian beliefs a source...
Published on 8 Aug. 2012 by D. Parsons


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts Behind the Film of the Same Name, 25 Jun. 2011
I congratulate Ben Freeth on writing such a readable account of the experiences of his family in fighting for the rights of white farmers, black farmers and black farm workers to continue living on their land in Zimbabwe.
It is true that he concentrates on the minority of white farmers who bravely remain despite the threats on their lives and the theft of their property but he is also fighting for the rights of the vast number of black people who are being denied quality of life by President Mugabe's regime.
I was afraid that I would find the book boring and full of mind numbing detail of court proceedings etc but I was wrong and I have found reading Mugabe and the White African thoroughly fascinating and informative. The account of Ben's face to face encounter with Peter Chimada in the documentary film leaves questions unanswered but Ben has included the conversation in full which I found most helpful.
The book is written from the perspective of someone whose belief in God is totally foundational to his life and his thought processes so someone of different beliefs may find this irritating but they may also find it enlightening.
It is a book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for anyone interested in Zimbabwe, 9 Nov. 2011
I was given this book and initially feared that it may be rather heavy, boring and/or traumatic. Instead I found it, as the BBC reviewer says "utterly compelling". I already had a reasonably strong awareness of the extent of human rights abuses in Zimbabwe. What this book achieves is to paint the inside story of some of those abuses and to give an understanding of what takes for individuals to stand up and fight back. Some previous reviewers have commented negatively on the extent to which Ben Freeth writes about his faith. But whether or not the reader is a Christian, it is clearly Ben and his family's faith that has given them the courage to fight a landmark court case. The book does not preach to the reader, it just shows how their faith enabled them to help raise international awareness of the abuse of law in Zimbabwe.

I have heard good people say that if whites had redistributed land in Zimbabwe before 1990 then the government's compulsory Land Acquisition Act would never had been brought in. Without trying to be an indepth historical analysis, this book helps to show how much more complex the situation really was. Although a personal story about white farmers and their workers, this book shows that farmers have really only been the cover for Mugabe's efforts to control all his people - hence the author's references to the 'Operation Gukuruhundi' massacre of 20,000 people in 1983-4 and the 2005 'Operation Murambatsvina', a campaign to forcibly clear "illegal" trading and housing across the country which affected some 2.4 million people, according to the UN. This book is not an analysis of the whole situation in Zimbabwe, it is a personal story. But it is a heroic one which is extremely well told.

I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a better understanding of the situation in Zimbabwe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this! from Julia Ogilvy, 24 Jun. 2011
By 
This is one of the most remarkable and well written books I have read in years and I could barely put it down. Ben tells the extraordinary story of one family's courageous battle against injustice and a ruthless Dictator. For those who have seen the documentary of the same name he gives far more context and detail in the book and the descriptions of the terror that so many have lived through is emotionally shattering. I cannot think of a better example of a family living out their faith in our difficult world. This book is a must-read for any Christian but also for anyone who cares about justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some brave people!!, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
R. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very interesting book for those who have an interest in southern Africa. Ben Freeth is a remarkable person who appears to have very strong principles and Christian beliefs. I some times felt he may have achieved more if he had been a bit more compromising. It describes how Mugabe is prepared to destroy this beautiful and fertile country for his hatred of white people. I believe that most black Zimbabweans have suffered more than the whites Mugabe is targeting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mugabe and White African, 27 Jun. 2011
This book is a big slap in the face reminding one how long the political violence in Zimbabwe has been going on and is now just taken for granted; and how everyone, black and white, worker and owner, is the loser when a political ideology of redistribution results in repression and violence and literally kills the personal freedom and individual responsibility that is required to create not just "wealth" but things as basic as food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courage of heroic proportions, 26 Jun. 2011
Mugabe and the White African

Mugabe and the White African by Ben Freeth is a wonderful book, which describes his and his family's fight against the tyranny of Robert Mugabe - a fight simply to keep the farm that they and Freeth's father-in-law own in Zimbabwe. Courage of heroic proportions is set against evil and is shown to be powerless against such an adversary as Mugabe and his thugs. While not explicitly a Christian book, Freeth is supported, even at the point where death seems inevitable, by his faith in God; and the book is worth buying if only for the forewords by Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa and Archbishop John Sentamu of York. While the ending of the book is immensely sad, the reader is left with a sense that it just might mark a new beginning for the people of Zimbabwe, both black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best story of bravery, courage and perseverance to come out of Zimbabwe, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Greer Noble (Africa (London based)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mugabe and the White African (Kindle Edition)
There have been many very good books written about the Rhodesian bush war but I believe Ben Freeth's shocking account of what happened to him and his family, their struggle, their courage, their suffering, the indignities they had to endure, the broken promises and their loss is so superbly documented, so heart-wrenchingly honest, it is as if one is standing right by his side. The only real losers are the perpetrators for they can only hang their heads in shame. The only criticism I might have had was that too much religion was bandied about but then I came to realise, all they had was God.. as the world looked the other way. And then I understood.
I strongly recommend this as a 'must read' for those who were there and more especially for those who were not.

Reviewed by the author of:
CHECKMATE and Veiled Madness and soon to be published: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ben Freeth's story, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mugabe and the White African (Kindle Edition)
Sad, tragic and the story of very courageous people. We were living in Zimbabwe at the start of the farm invasions and were not fully aware of what was going on in the rural areas. On the surface all seemed fine but the undercurrent was mean and violent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
A. E. Davidson (Half Moon Bay, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This is a book that everyone should read. Everyone who thinks that democracy is letting them down needs to see what else is on offer. It is an education in how wickedness can flourish and the conditions which allow for that. It also serves to remind those who need reminding that the US Constitution is a truly amazing document.
Ben Freeth and his family are engaged in a power struggle of good over evil. They and their dwindling white African compatriots face death and destruction everyday because they love their country and they want to see justice prevail.
No one needs to read Harry Potter to experience a battle of good and evil read Ben's book, the evil is palpable, the anguish heart rending, the suffering tragic, the destruction of bountiful farms full of happy, healthy people is gothic. The world stands by and raises an eyebrow at the loss. Read this book, it is real and it is happening now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely brilliant but brutal read., 15 Aug. 2011
A fantastic first hand account of the plight faced by white African farmers under the racist and brutal rule of 'Presidant' Robert Mugabe. A must read book for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mugabe and the White African
£8.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews