Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars More than the sum of its parts
My second Faricy book and I detect a pattern forming. Mike's really big on sleaze. He does it with accomplished authority. His style is tongue-in-cheek black humour and his characterisation so good that you feel like washing your hands every time certain characters ooze into the story.
I'm a distant relative of Raymond Chandler and accordingly have read all the...
Published on 2 April 2012 by I bite

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars We were not amused
I wanted to like the book, but couldn't quite manage it. The private investigator Dev is an alcoholic womanizer and though he's nice in some ways, he's not really very bright. I guess it's supposed to be humorous, but it wasn't Carl Hiassen, and it failed to amuse. The dire situations Dev got himself into just became tiresome. I did read it all - it was undemanding...
Published 1 month ago by West London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars More than the sum of its parts, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
My second Faricy book and I detect a pattern forming. Mike's really big on sleaze. He does it with accomplished authority. His style is tongue-in-cheek black humour and his characterisation so good that you feel like washing your hands every time certain characters ooze into the story.
I'm a distant relative of Raymond Chandler and accordingly have read all the master's books. It was Chandler who set the mould for the down-at-heel private eye which set the standard for everyone to follow. Mike's hapless PI, Devlin Haskell, gives Marlow a run for his money.
The story is centred around ice cream (hence the title) where Haskell is engaged by obnoxious ice cream boss, Mr. Softee, (great part for Danny de Vito) to discover who was trying to kill him. The plot weaves this way and that faster than a cone would melt on the equator. It's a terrific page-turner of a yarn that has a very satisfying ending.
I do have one or two technical gripes. Devlin is a wow with the women who all want to jump into bed with him at the drop of a thong but we never get a clear description. My old English professor always made a point of making a point that you should describe your MC early on to fix him in the reader's eye. There are some spelling errors; it took me a while to figure out why Dev was mopping around before realising he should have been moping. I shouldn't carp too much as spelling and punctuation errors were few and far between. The only other thing that struck me was that Mike did rather telegraph the main perp early on which took some of the surprise out of the mystery.
All in all though, a great read if you like your heroes with feet of clay, your femme fatales fatal and your good guys out on top. Nice one, Mike. I think I'm hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars We were not amused, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to like the book, but couldn't quite manage it. The private investigator Dev is an alcoholic womanizer and though he's nice in some ways, he's not really very bright. I guess it's supposed to be humorous, but it wasn't Carl Hiassen, and it failed to amuse. The dire situations Dev got himself into just became tiresome. I did read it all - it was undemanding reading on the bus. It was pretty clear why didn't have any clients, less clear why so many women ended up in bed with him, or seemed to wish to be. The villains were viciously villainous, much more interesting than the detective. So good to see them dealt with.

There were a lot of elements that I felt I would like, yet it just didn't come together for me. If there were a free offer on another of the books in the series, I think I'd give it a try. But on the basis of Mr Swirlee, I wouldn't actually buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Mr. Softee (Paperback)
"Mr. Softee" is the second book by Mike Faricy that I have read and also the second that involved PI Devlin Haskill.
Devlin Haskill is a hilarious and very well written main character with his string of ex-wives, his love for drink and bars and he seems more accidentally successful than skilled. It was a pleasure to follow Haskill tell us about the case as it develops.
In this case a mean businessman, Ice Cream Van mogul Mr. Softee hires Haskill after he narrowly escaped death by a run away driver. The investigation leads Haskill into more bars and contact with suspects. Then a potential witness is murdered and the plot takes off from there. Haskill becomes a suspect himself and with the help of a former client, nick named dog, he tries to crack the case.
The narrative is easy and hugely enjoyable to follow, there are great comic scenes and despite the more humorous character of the book the mystery is not as obvious as you would have expected from detective series of this kind. I was genuinely surprised many times as the story unfolded.
There is action, suspense and great writing, making this author one to watch and the series one to recommend to anyone who likes crime fiction that isn't all too serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Swirlee ( Dev Haskell - Private Investigator) by Mike Faricy, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Mr. Swirlee is book 2 in the series of 6. This was least favourite, to begin with, as the topic was, I thought a bit silly, but as I got into it, found it to be anything but........ although Mr. Swirlee made me cringe at his description... yuck..... I read the series in order, and grew to really love the character of Dev Haskell, and his best friend Aron a Lt. in the Police force.. however, Aron didn't show up much after book one, which was a shame, as the argumentative banter that went on between the two was priceless.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They all get their just desserts in the end!, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a real roller coaster of a book, as our generally hapless detective lurches from one situation to the next, each one worse and more life-threatening than the one before. There's a lot of violence, and some rather coyly understated sex, but on the whole it's a really enjoyable page turner, and in the end, everyone gets their just desserts (swirlee - ice-cream -desserts : geddit?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It has no pretensions of being great literature but is good escapist fayre, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
D. Bull "Bully." (West Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a proper guilty pleasure read. It has no pretensions of being great literature but is good escapist fayre. The hero is all too human in his frailties and all the more likeable for that. A lovely light read that should please all lovers of this type of fiction, a little of the Raymond Chandler in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder and mayhem throughout plus many laughs along the way!, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
Ann Stanmore (Ann in Windsor) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the Dev Haskell series and equally enjoyable. I love the humour and brilliant characters (not least our hero Dev!) that Mike Faricy creates. Murder and mayhem throughout plus many laughs along the way! Can't wait to read book three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all scream for ice cream (and Dev Haskell), 28 Nov. 2013
By 
mountainmama "Shirley Hicks" (Charleston, West Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Here's another adventure in the life of Dev Haskell - a wise-cracking detective who manages to get himself into more trouble than a barrel of monkeys. This time he's hired by a businessman whose ice cream trucks dispense more than just fudgesicles. As Dev stumbles into a hornet's nest, murder and mayhem ensue.

Mr. Faricy's books are always entertaining - pure farce that moves at breakneck speed as hard-drinking, skirt-chasing Dev leaps from frying pan to fire. Never one to follow rules, he teams up with some pretty sketchy friends with hilarious results, and often breaks as many laws as the `bad' guys.

Although these books are part of a series, they do not have to be read in order. For a fun romp, check them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the first Dev Haskell book, and absolutely loved this second helping, although Dev is a bit of a bad boy, there are plenty of redeeming features about his personality. Five stars. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars really needs to change his attitude it gets boring after a while hes going to end up catching ..., 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Swirlee (Dev Haskell - Private Investigator, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
started out quite liking dev haskell, but after a few reads, really needs to change his attitude it gets boring after a while hes going to end up catching something and it wont be the criminal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews