Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Always leave yourself outs"
I have watched this movie several times in the last few years, and have been playing Texas Hold'em for a similar amount of time. When this special edition came out, I knew I had to check it out; and I was not disappointed, since besides the great movie, it includes a nice collection of extras.
Mike (Damon) is a grinder that plays poker as if it was a job. He has used...
Published on 2 Jun 2005 by Sebastian Fernandez

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Leyt they-at main hef hiyis muney"
I have just rewatched Rounders after a giving it a break of a few years. Having learned a bit about poker since my last viewing, I wanted to see if I could get any kind of different perspective on the film, which I had previously already enjoyed.

The film is most praise-worthy for daring to include so much technical detail from a specialist field, rather than...
Published on 12 Aug 2009 by pacopicopiedra


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this movie. The theme is timeless as there is no substitute for live poker; all the nuances of play are explored shamelessly, with a backdrop of a thrilling plot. I have watched it twice since I received it last week, and will no doubt watch again in the future. I consider my DVD purchase to have been worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not real poker, 14 Oct 2011
By 
The strange thing about Rounders is is that if you play poker and you watch this you want to then play poker if you don't play poker after this you will want to learn however if you've played poker a long time the holes in this film become bigger and bigger. If I had never played poker this film would easily be 5 stars what i'm basically saying is is enjoy it for what it is a good film but don't expect a joyride into the real world of poker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic poker film, 31 May 2011
By 
Michael Charles (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you've ever followed poker, you'll alredy be familiar with this film. A lot of the culture of the game can be seen here. Just don't expect to learn any tips here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD features, 23 Oct 2007
By 
Colleen P. Stacey "Coltrev" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My version is the widescreen 2.35:1 editon but, unfortunately is without English subtitles. The movie is a real surprise packet and great entertainment. Does anyone know what ratio this Special edition is presented in? Is it 2.35:1? Does this edition come with English subtitles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive poker movie - still at the top, 3 Feb 2009
By 
William K (UK & Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie before I played poker, even better since I learned how to play. Still the definitive poker movie of our generation. Obviously the poker world has changed a lot since the time this movie was made but it is still a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and I dont even like poker., 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Rounders [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Norton must be one of the most undervalued actors in hollywood! Can anyone recall a recent film that he has done badly? Didnt think so.
This movie is excellent despite the typical American Happy ending. Watching this film I never got bored, not once, because this movie has everything that a timeless classic needs. Romance, violence (Brilliant Bar Scene), wit and great acting all make this a brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop slagging off Rounders!, 26 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rounders [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
An absolute must see for any poker player. Stylish, funny and Ed Norton is awesome as per usual. A poker players dream film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 9 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Rounders [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
fantastic film with an all star cast ! Dvd also arrived promtly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the collection, 1 Dec 2005
By A Customer
After much debate i gave this film four stars on the merit that it shows that contrary to belife, Matt Damon CAN act!!! Edward Norton gives another solid performance in a slightly lack luster role.
The plot is generally good, giving the vewier time to attatch to the charachters and follow them with ease, John Malcovich is great, shame he dosent get more screen time!
In all its a film that will sit on the shelf as a good solid well thought out film, but will never reach the dizzy heights of the all time great films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rounders [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Excellent product and speedy delivery item as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rounders [DVD]
Rounders [DVD] by Matt Damon (DVD - 2011)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews