Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compaq Desktop Computer
So far I have found this desktop computer to be an excellent performing machine which operates with great speed and no fuss even although I am new to the bundled Windows 7 operating system. It is an extremely high Spec for the cost of the computer. It does come with a mouse and keyboard but does not include a monitor so not suitable if a complete package is required...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Mr. R. Temple

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed
Ordered, delivered next day and all looks good.
Try to set up and no good! Call to Computer doctor who comes out 4 days later. Diagnosis: Faulty component.
Arrange return and then Amazon tells me I must wait until AFTER Christmas for replacement.
[...]
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by Trishjusttrish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compaq Desktop Computer, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. Temple - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Compaq CQ1040UK Desktop PC (AMD E-350 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Windows 7) (Personal Computers)
So far I have found this desktop computer to be an excellent performing machine which operates with great speed and no fuss even although I am new to the bundled Windows 7 operating system. It is an extremely high Spec for the cost of the computer. It does come with a mouse and keyboard but does not include a monitor so not suitable if a complete package is required.
My only quibble would be that there are no written instructions or copy of the operating system disk included. It is therefore necessary to print the guide/manual yourselve from the computer if you need instructions and burn recovery DVD disks in case of any future problems. This is all preloaded in the computer. It is therefore not recommended for a computer beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HP Desktop PC, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Compaq CQ1040UK Desktop PC (AMD E-350 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Windows 7) (Personal Computers)
Nice piece of kit, which I would have hoped would come with a bit more software installed i.e. full word processing for a start.
Works quite quickly on setup etc but there seems to be an odd noise from the drive on some occasions and I don't know why .I am not very technical about these things. I hate the keyboard and must swap to my cable free one asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, low-cost desk PC, 11 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Compaq CQ1040UK Desktop PC (AMD E-350 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Windows 7) (Personal Computers)
Good, rapid delivery from Amazon UK to an overseas address where we are currently based was much appreciated.

As a low-cost, general purpose, family PC this is a very good machine. It is nice and small in frontal area so looks very neat. It is nearly as deep as a standard tower however, so not quite small enough to sit comfortably on top of the desk, and is demoted to underneath like a normally sized tower. It worked straight out of the box and the Windows 7 Home operating system is a great relief after struggling with the slowness of Vista on our previous (now deceased) medium-spec machine. A 1TB hard drive and 3GB RAM are impressive at this price. There is no monitor included, but as a replacement machine that is not a problem and in fact helps keep the price down.

Criticisms are minor but here they are: It is not an ultra-compact machine so the external power supply is a surprise and slightly disappointing. The DVD drive is vertically mounted (because the machine is narrow) but is not a slimline clip-in type (as used in laptops). This makes me nervous when inserting a disk lest it falls out or worse jams the close mechanism - take care I suppose is the message. This drive is also quite noisy at the higher speeds, though quiet enough for playing a CD. The four rear and two front position USB ports don't seem quite so generous when two are needed for keyboard and mouse. Be aware there is no WiFi with this machine - another cost saving I suppose, and easily remedied.

Overall though well worthy of four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compaq Desktop PC, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Compaq CQ1040UK Desktop PC (AMD E-350 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Windows 7) (Personal Computers)
What a great Pc this is, its compact...fast......has huge memory,
Best buy i have ever made . . .. . highly recommend this PC . . .
great value for money . ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hp compaq desktop., 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Compaq CQ1040UK Desktop PC (AMD E-350 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Windows 7) (Personal Computers)
It is still a little early to give a definitive review but so far this desktop is neat and efficient and is doing exactly what it was bought for. As I am not too technically minded it would have helped to have some more non technical information on what it can do and how much memory etc. it can hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Compaq CQ1040UK Desktop PC (AMD E-350 1.6 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, Windows 7) (Personal Computers)
Ordered, delivered next day and all looks good.
Try to set up and no good! Call to Computer doctor who comes out 4 days later. Diagnosis: Faulty component.
Arrange return and then Amazon tells me I must wait until AFTER Christmas for replacement.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews