Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisty turny !
This is a book for the reader who likes their stories convoluted. There is a twist every other page which makes it extremely hard to put down. I enjoyed it no end but it's hard to find a good spot to put it down at bed time !
The writing is fast and furious without sacrificing detail and the characters believable and realistic.
Published on 9 May 2012 by Super III

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
Good book, kept me up half the night trying to finish it! Enjoy and make sure you have the time to read it lol
Published 13 months ago by Sylvia


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisty turny !, 9 May 2012
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
This is a book for the reader who likes their stories convoluted. There is a twist every other page which makes it extremely hard to put down. I enjoyed it no end but it's hard to find a good spot to put it down at bed time !
The writing is fast and furious without sacrificing detail and the characters believable and realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book I read on my kindle and I literally couldn't put it down! As the other review said, it twists and turns the whole way through, keeping you hooked and wanting to read more, just when you think you've got it Ellis slides in another twist. Not one for the feint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC READ, 17 July 2012
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
If you like mystery and suspense in a thriller this book has it all even to the very last. Just could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner.
I liked Teddy the main character especially as he was seen to be a kid by several of his contemporaries including the slime ball Andrews, but he showed that he was well able to use his brain and worked it out ! Very clever in places and a sexy scene between Teddy and the ADA too
The twist at the end, whilst I knew something was coming I didn't guess it.
Hope for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tale with a twist, 5 Sep 2012
By 
Paul (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
Lots of twists & turns in this fast paced legal thriller.

I found this story enjoyable with very believable well written characters and the kind of twist ending which you would never guess in a million years.

Will look out for more of this author's work in the near future.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
Ellis' novel "The Dead Room" follows the story of Teddy Mack, an attorney who is dragged into the case the horrific murder of a beautiful young woman, by her odd mailman, seen running away from the scene of the crime, covered in her blood. Mack is a man with a tortured history (haunted by the wrongful killing of his father) but he reluctantly visits the woman's accused murderer in jail but doubts arise. Nothing is simple for Teddy and he gets caught up in a web of lies, politics and double crossing.

At the heart of "The Dead Room" is a thrilling plot which twists and turns and the drama is kept up at a steady pace. For what could have been an unbelievable central storyline, Teddy Mack is realistically slowly enveloped by the sequence of events that threatens his life and the lives of others.

Teddy Mack is a well rounded character and you find yourself sympathising with his efforts to reveal the truth about the murder. The other protagonists are introduced deftly and they feel three dimensional, however loathsome many of them are!

The prose paces itself well; there is a good mixture of description without over use and the dialogue is punchy and realistic. At many times, Ellis creates a tense, dramatic atmosphere which weighs heavily on the reader - you are aware that there is so much to be discovered yet the truth is tied by lies and deception.

The sub-plot of the conviction of Mack's father and his subsequent tragic killing adds a poignant perspective on events and adds another layer to the primary plotline.

For a reasonably lengthy novel, it is not long and does not suffer from "over writing". All the scenes and chapters feel necessary and it is incredibly easy to read - not so easy to put it down!

I was lucky enough to download this when it was free and I would certainly say its worth the price to purchase this. It is a thrilling, morally ambigious and drama-filled novel that should be ready by anyone who enjoys immersing themself in a serial killer mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
WOW!! Could not put this one down. The best book I've read in a long time. A very long time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning!, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of crime novels, I have something of a morbid fascination for this kind of thing, no idea why but anyway, I've read many from the average to the terrible to the brilliant, and this definitely ranks among the brilliant.

Yet again, I have been introduced to another author I had previously not read thanks to amazon's kindle deals. I got this book for free but would happily have paid, I was gripped by the storyline and loved the characters particularly Teddy and Nash.

If you like your books full of suspense and twists, this is highly recommended and I will definitely read more Robert Ellis books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
This book as many twists and turns right up to the end,definitely would recommend to anyone who likes a good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner!, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Room (Kindle Edition)
Not too many twists and turns - once the story was established Id say it was more like an excellent mystery in the main. Major twists coming thick and fast towards the end....Teddy's personal tragedy kept me intrigued as it unfolded slowly alongside the main event. Then exploded right at the end. But please tell me I'm not alone in wondering just what the end means?!! Most profound discovery but cant work out what Teddy does/did/didnt do next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead Room
The Dead Room by Robert Ellis
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews