Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars romance
Really good read,page turner. Strong storyline. If you like medieval romance you will like this . Historical aspect good .
Published 8 months ago by caroline g jones

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waist energy pressing buy on your kindles.
The English queen for some reason that is not revealed, makes one of her maids marry a Scots man, already confused?

The man she was meant to marry has a long standing quarrel with his brother, I believe over a horse! still interested then read on.

The brother kidnaps the unseen maid and intends to marry her in the hope that she will be frail but give...
Published 11 months ago by Mithrandir


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waist energy pressing buy on your kindles., 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
The English queen for some reason that is not revealed, makes one of her maids marry a Scots man, already confused?

The man she was meant to marry has a long standing quarrel with his brother, I believe over a horse! still interested then read on.

The brother kidnaps the unseen maid and intends to marry her in the hope that she will be frail but give him a son and then die - how romantic. The kidnap is successful however the maid becomes ill (it's only a cold really) and the brother's aunt looks after the maid. Here's where it gets interesting guys, the aunt is then kidnapped, the maid tries to rescue her even though she has no knowledge of the land. The brother tries to save the maid and aunt and they get kidnapped.

This book has no real story, the smallest amount of romance possible to squish in a book - Not worth the 1.91 paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars let down by style, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
A good story, badly written and worse spelled. Don't they have editors any more, to pick up all the errors?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PERFECTLY GOOD READ., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Good book and enjoyable romp, humour,loyalty and feuds, what more do you need for a great yarn.
Our alpha male hero meets a strong heroine who he grows to respect and love.
The other characters involved are well written too, they grow as the plot develops and really enhance the story. Independent firebrand Ella.....she needs her story.
Prose a bit repetitive, especially when describing making love to each other but that is the only criticism I have.
Would recommend to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
What a wonderful change - the 'heroine' is actually a plain Jane, & of robust build also. Connor loves her for herself. Really loved this book just for that fact alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Traded by Elizabeth 1st with the intent of stopping the border wars, Gabriel is sent to marry Colin Douglas but is kidnapped by his twin. A story of fighting conflict and love. Good author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book that I have read of Rebecca Sinclair. I really love historical reads and this didnt disappoint. Sexy bits were hot hot hot. Would definitely read another of Rebecca's books but have noticed she hasn't written much. Come on Rebecca we need more!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wasn't feeling it, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
The characters didn't connect very well, there was not much of an interesting story and it was about a century old argument about a horse and a chef. So i was not quite impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't encouraged by the other reviews for this book but went ahead and bought it any way as it was heavily discounted at the time. I found it to be engaging, humorous and passionate, and all that you could ask for in a historical romance! The supporting characters are well sketched and the insecurities and hidden strengths of the female protagonist are nicely drawn out.

The hero of the novel is strong, attractive and honourable, and demonstrates the required shift from indifferent laird to loving and appreciative partner, and you can see every incident that chips away at his mindset and transforms his feelings.

The language used is a constant reminder of the Scottish setting but I didn't find it obstructive at all.

Some people reviewing the book have commented on the flimsy storyline but honestly, I enjoyed the light-hearted nature of it. Raids that didn't end in death and tragedy were accompanied by banter and it's easy to see that Rebecca Sinclair has a well-developed sense of the ridiculous, which I personally enjoy. I thought the story galloped along at a good pace to a happy ending which actually left me hankering for more stories set in that world.

I've only just finished reading the book and have come straight back on here to leave a review and find other books by Rebecca Sinclair. I'd definitely recommend it to people looking for a bit of escapism in a fun historical romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great use of language, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
I love it when you get immersed in a story because the language feels authentic and is maintained throughout. It might be judged by others as too much but I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Passable, 22 Nov 2013
By 
St (Rochester, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance) (Kindle Edition)
A bit bland. The sex took up almost as many pages as the adventures reducing the story to mere bones. When uninvolved the story was good, it just did not reach its potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Strangers (A Historical Romance)
1.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews