Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift for a fan
Ordered this Lego style toy for a friend who is a Dr Who addict since a very long time.
Nice build, complete assembly manual, quality blocks, every fan should get this IMO.
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Sag

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs glue
My son got this as a Christmas gift. He was very disappointed to find that the base falls apart at the slightest touch. We will be giving it another go with a touch of glue to hold it together. Otherwise he loves the mini figures and the fact that it is a very good Tardis replica. He is an experienced Lego builder and I can't help but feel that if this set was of the same...
Published on 26 Dec 2011 by rose*tyler


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift for a fan, 2 Nov 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
Ordered this Lego style toy for a friend who is a Dr Who addict since a very long time.
Nice build, complete assembly manual, quality blocks, every fan should get this IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs glue, 26 Dec 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
My son got this as a Christmas gift. He was very disappointed to find that the base falls apart at the slightest touch. We will be giving it another go with a touch of glue to hold it together. Otherwise he loves the mini figures and the fact that it is a very good Tardis replica. He is an experienced Lego builder and I can't help but feel that if this set was of the same quality he would not have had any issues building it at all. Four stars for design but only one for durability as if he tries to play with it as it is it will be a pile of bricks in minutes and he is pretty gentle with this sort of thing. I'd think very carefully about buying it for a child who isn't prepared to be frustrated or doesn't want to glue it together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great construction set for little Doctor Who fans, 27 April 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
I decided to write this review after reading some negative reviews about the durability of this 'lego' type toy.
My 7 year old son, who has special needs which include co-ordination problems, received this for his birthday and we have spent many hours together constructing it.
I think that even with a child with excellent fine motor skills most would require some help with constructing this. However, I do not see that as a bad thing as it is a good opportunity to work together to follow instructions and construct it. The instructions are pretty simple once you get the hang of them - they do need careful consideration to ensure the pieces are in the correct position, hence needing adult support.
I am mystified at just why reviewers are complaining at the durability of this toy. In my experience lego-type toys have never been particularly durable. The whole point of them is that you can construct and re-construct them. The whole point is in the building - and then perhaps re-building and re-designing using, dare I suggest it, one's imagination.
If you are looking for a toy that your child can 'play' with in longer term role play games, then I suggest you purchase a playset Character Options Doctor Who Tardis Playset If your child enjoys building and construction toys then this does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating and poor quality., 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
My son, 16, is an avid Dr Who fan and long time experienced builder of complex Lego sets, as am I. We both found this set to be poor quality plastic and inadequately engineered. The bricks are flimsy and do not stick together firmly enough. Parts do not align well enough and so as one section is fixed, another will fall off. I can't imagine a younger child doing this without tears and a lot of adult help. There is no pleasure to be had in the building of it, because it is so frustrating. The instructions are not clear at all, making it hard to backtrack and check if you have done it correctly. It took a hot glue gun to finally get this set to stay together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for my son, 26 Dec 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
This toy made my son happy. I have a few things though, although it is essentially a variation on the Lego theme, when putting the sides on, they do not quite fit together properly, even when you take it to pieces and start again being slow and methodical, the base also does not want to stay together either. If you have the room, i would advise that you use some glue when you build it and leave it assembled, some of the pieces will start falling off once the kids are playing the games with it. If Lego did Dr Who, i would go for that every time, i know it would fit together properly and stay assembled when done, but having said all this, it was fun to build and he had a great time playing with it regardless. On the plus side, despite what is said in a Youtube video of someone assembling it, it took around 2 hours once the pieces were laid out and the instructions are actually a bit better than you get with Lego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars falls to pieces, 16 Mar 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
This toy is so overpriced and bad quality. Fall to pieces all the time. The bricks do not fit together properly, instead of clicking into place you feel like you are forcing them. Badly designed. Don't waste your money !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont bother, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
My son was very disapointed because there was Lots of pieces missing. Spoilt the whole thing. We couldn't build it as it was tge main pieces that was missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all bad., 11 Aug 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
Firstly i'd like to start by saying that I agree with the other reviewers who say that this product is flimsy when finished. You construct three seperate walls which have no real support and the main platform balanced on a little column, destined to fail. So why do I say not all bad?
At the time of writing Amazon are selling this item heavily discounted. You get a blue TARDIS set, the shows current four main characters and over 600 lego compatible bricks including a TARDIS console. Build it once for the experiance then throw away the instructions and do it better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought!, 5 Jan 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
Having read some of the reviews about the bricks being loose and how poor it was I was a little concerned about buying this as a Christmas present for my 8 year old Son. I was however pleasantly surprise as to how well it went together. Again as with the Dalek Factory it took some building and again an 8 year old would really struggle building this but I think some of the comments about it being flimsy and not very well put together are unfounded, they obviously didn't build it right. I think this set is far more durable than the Dalek Factory although more difficult to build. It seems pretty solid to me and a very impressive looking structure when it's finished too, my Son plays with this far more than the Dalek Factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best quality., 3 Jun 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset (Toy)
After watching my daughter carefully make this it was heartbreaking when it kept failing apart when the larger pieces were put together. You don't need a degree in structural engineering to see that this toy is not going to support itself! Resulted to superglue after many attempts. It's not the quality of Lego. But none the less my daughter loves it so I'd still recommend it but have tithe glue handy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset
Doctor Who Ultimate Tardis Playset by Character Building Doctor Who
Used & New from: 39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews