Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stark Drama That Shook A Nation
In 1966 The Wednesday Play brought us one of the most significant pieces of work that has ever been transmitted on British television. Written by Jeremy Sandford and directed by Ken Loach, this single drama had such a profound effect on its showing, that Britain would never be the same again. The play was called Cathy Come Home.
Never before or since has one single...
Published on 31 Oct 2004 by Laurence Marcus

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cathy Come Home
We where very disappointed with the DVD. We thought we had bought a DVD if the film that included a short documentary re its making.The write up did not make it clear that it was not the full film. I have re read the discription and it does not specifically state it is not the full film.
Published 21 months ago by Doughnut


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stark Drama That Shook A Nation, 31 Oct 2004
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
In 1966 The Wednesday Play brought us one of the most significant pieces of work that has ever been transmitted on British television. Written by Jeremy Sandford and directed by Ken Loach, this single drama had such a profound effect on its showing, that Britain would never be the same again. The play was called Cathy Come Home.
Never before or since has one single piece of drama had such an effect on an entire nation. The stark realism of Cathy Come Home led to changes in social attitudes and the issues addressed were discussed in Parliament.
Stark, unremittingly grim and charged with a palpable tragic power which haunts the minds of those who saw it to this very day, Cathy Come Home remains as a truly ground-breaking piece of dramatic documentary fiction. Although director Loach has constantly refused to take credit for the impact that "Cathy" had on social attitudes, stating that the drama had a minimal effect, and reminding us that the homeless problem is far worse today than it ever was in the 1960's, rarely has a programme so clearly illustrated the true power of television. Even more rarely has television succeeded in touching the conscience of an entire nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is a must for anyone interested in social history., 23 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
This was so radical at the time of its original screening that it was a significant driver the subsequent changes in social welfare reform. I remember it being shown on TV as a kid and it so impacted me that I have never forgotten it. I'm sure it shaped some of my views as to how people should be considered.

I am so glad that it has been released at an affordable price. It has been on release in the past, but due of its value in education it has always commanded a higher price.Cathy Come Home [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cathy DVD, 2 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
This is an excellent documentary film of the difficult times facing families after the second world war. It demonstrates an uncaring stance taken by government departments who deemed it ok to split families and take children away from young mothers who had tried their utmost to care for their children in deplorable conditions. Not a good way to reward the working classes after the efforts they had put in to the war.

It demonstrated a clear class distinction and an almost Victorian disregard for the impact of middle class decision making by people who would be unlikely to ever have to face such conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathy Come Home, 3 Jan 2012
By 
J. M. Cumberlidge "Rover P4" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Not seen it since original showing! Well worth buying and brilliant performances by all not fair to place one above the other.The documentary included is an eye opener unbelievable conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The greyness of the sixties., 10 Mar 2013
By 
D. Stevenson (Nairn Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
My wife and I started our married life and family in the sixties and when we look back now the realism of the time really catches up with you, life as we knew it, was changing at a tremendous pace and you really lived from week to week. Cathy Come Home is a stark visualisation of what life was really like for thousands of people, poor sanitation, heartless authorities, low expectations, God knows how they survived, the film should be given credit for exposing the harshness of life in the 60's Britain.

Dave Stevenson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all ages, 21 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
The night we had planned to watch this film, we unexpectedly had 4 children staying overnight (ranging from 7 to 15), but decided to watch it anyway as we had to send it back. They were not at all thrilled to see that it was in black and white, but it was interresting to see how quickly it held and caught their attention right through to the end. But what was even more enlightening was the discussion between them which followed. An eye opener for all of us, and a reminder of how things were, and still are, for many people. Also to count our many blessings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathy Come Home., 19 Sep 2010
The DVD has been made for the French market but the language is in English so its OK. There are subtitles in French and the film is in B/W.Its so well acted that the film seems to be more like a real life documentary.Very powerful stuff,superb part played by the beautiful Carol White.Excellent period photography illustrating the living conditions of some less fortunate than others and how the unhappy circumstances have been arrived at.Its a classic for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How sad, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
I remember seeing this documentary when it was originally shown and thought, at the time, how sad it was. The main characters play a good part, portraying the lives of how a lot of couples in the sixties suffered. Yet, have things really changed that much today? Hmmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and powerful....., 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
I watched Cathy Come Home on dvd just last night and simply had to give it a 5 star Amazon rating.
I can't even begin to say how much this affected me, the importance of this television drama even today cannot be understated and it will stay with you long after. It has to be one of the most heartbreaking british films ever made. Beautifully acted by all, you just hope all the way through that everything for Cathy and her children will be allright. I came to this as a person not even alive when this was made, and watched it not really knowing the story that well.
I think this film is essential viewing for all, and those who didn't get to see it the first time should undoubtedly make the effort to see it.
I'm generally speaking not one for watching extras on DVDs but the short
10 min or so documentary that accompanies this DVD is also interesting viewing (though perhaps smacks a little of government propaganda), the biographies of the writer and director are interesting reading too.
You can't help but feel that (without giving anything away) if this were American everything would have turned our alright and that Cathy and her family would have not been so tragically let down. The stark realism depicted is as relevant today as it was back in 1966. Buy it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still very moving, 6 July 2012
By 
Y. De Roode "the Addicted Reader" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
I remember i saw this movie when i was about 15 or so, and i couldn`t remember every detail, but it made a great impression om me.
Yesterday i watched it again and i was still very moved by it. It`s so heartbreaking.
This kind of movie stays with you forever. Very good acting too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966]
Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] by Ken Loach (DVD - 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews