Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stark Drama That Shook A Nation
In 1966 The Wednesday Play brought us one of the most significant pieces of work that has ever been transmitted on British television. Written by Jeremy Sandford and directed by Ken Loach, this single drama had such a profound effect on its showing, that Britain would never be the same again. The play was called Cathy Come Home.
Never before or since has one single...
Published on 31 Oct. 2004 by Laurence Marcus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This was a present for my nan and she loved it. This is a very old film so ...
This was a present for my nan and she loved it . This is a very old film so the picture quality is not great .
Published 3 days ago by Dude girl


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stark Drama That Shook A Nation, 31 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
In 1966 The Wednesday Play brought us one of the most significant pieces of work that has ever been transmitted on British television. Written by Jeremy Sandford and directed by Ken Loach, this single drama had such a profound effect on its showing, that Britain would never be the same again. The play was called Cathy Come Home.
Never before or since has one single piece of drama had such an effect on an entire nation. The stark realism of Cathy Come Home led to changes in social attitudes and the issues addressed were discussed in Parliament.
Stark, unremittingly grim and charged with a palpable tragic power which haunts the minds of those who saw it to this very day, Cathy Come Home remains as a truly ground-breaking piece of dramatic documentary fiction. Although director Loach has constantly refused to take credit for the impact that "Cathy" had on social attitudes, stating that the drama had a minimal effect, and reminding us that the homeless problem is far worse today than it ever was in the 1960's, rarely has a programme so clearly illustrated the true power of television. Even more rarely has television succeeded in touching the conscience of an entire nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is a must for anyone interested in social history., 23 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
This was so radical at the time of its original screening that it was a significant driver the subsequent changes in social welfare reform. I remember it being shown on TV as a kid and it so impacted me that I have never forgotten it. I'm sure it shaped some of my views as to how people should be considered.

I am so glad that it has been released at an affordable price. It has been on release in the past, but due of its value in education it has always commanded a higher price.Cathy Come Home [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The greyness of the sixties., 10 Mar. 2013
By 
D. Stevenson (Nairn Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
My wife and I started our married life and family in the sixties and when we look back now the realism of the time really catches up with you, life as we knew it, was changing at a tremendous pace and you really lived from week to week. Cathy Come Home is a stark visualisation of what life was really like for thousands of people, poor sanitation, heartless authorities, low expectations, God knows how they survived, the film should be given credit for exposing the harshness of life in the 60's Britain.

Dave Stevenson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathy Come Home, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
J. M. Cumberlidge "Rover P4" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Not seen it since original showing! Well worth buying and brilliant performances by all not fair to place one above the other.The documentary included is an eye opener unbelievable conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground-breaking Socio-political Film-making, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Originally produced as part of The Wednesday Play series of TV plays, this 1966 piece of cutting-edge drama, produced by Tony Garnett and directed by Ken Loach (who co-wrote the screenplay with Jeremy Sandford, based on Sandford’s original story) highlighted the increasingly desperate plight of Britain’s homeless families and served to (at least partially) dispel the image of a prosperous and 'swinging’ 1960s Great Britain. And although Cathy Come Home does come across, with its intimate, black-and-white depiction of Carol White’s crisis-ridden Cathy (and family), as a drama most suited to the small screen, its quasi-documentary shooting style (courtesy of Tony Imi’s handheld camerawork), voiceover narration and naturalistic acting were (for its time) highly innovative – the latter (in particular) going on to influence much of Loach’s later film-making.

Of course, Loach is here at his most 'political’, albeit Cathy Come Home was produced 'under’ a Wilson Labour government and it is 'the system’ (of social welfare), rather than anything party political per se, that is really under scrutiny here. It is also notable that as Cathy, her husband Ray Brooks’ Reg, and family are passed from pillar to post seeking accommodation, with an increasing sense of confusion, helplessness and humiliation, those 'in power’ (whether they be from the council housing authority, housing association or even Cathy’s anti-natal classes) are invariably of educated, well-spoken backgrounds. On the other hand, Loach’s portrayal of the 'working class masses’ is (largely) affectionate as kids play in the streets and women gossip across hanging washing-lines, Coronation Street-style. Loach also sets up his tragic tale nicely, as Cathy and Reg initially embark on their new life together full of ambition and optimism (to the music of Ben E King and Peter, Paul and Mary), only to find that circumstances (work accident, 'trusting’ landlady dying) conspire against them, leaving them trapped in a downward spiral of increasing poverty and family breakdown.

Acting-wise, after rather a stilted start, both White (in particular) and Brooks turn in increasingly convincing performances and there is a great turn by Winifred Dennis as Reg’s officious and resentful mother. In addition, there are cameo appearances by Only Fools And Horses’ granddad, Lennard Pearce (as a 'ratepayer’, protesting against 'scroungers and layabouts’ who have been consigned to living in caravans) and Geoffrey Palmer as a property agent.

As well as raising the obvious issues of the quality and availability of 'social housing’, Cathy Come Home also touches on the issues of (the impact of) immigration, social responsibility and family fragmentation – the latter, in the form of the then requirement for husbands and wives to be split up before being taken into ‘emergency housing’ i.e. hostels, and the ability of the authorities to 'take possession’ of children. And, although one would like to think that we have moved on somewhat from the circumstances of Loach’s film, many of these issues are, of course, still with us.

Nearly half a century on, Cathy Come Home remains a dispassionate, uncompromising, powerful and relevant piece of socio-political film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all ages, 21 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
The night we had planned to watch this film, we unexpectedly had 4 children staying overnight (ranging from 7 to 15), but decided to watch it anyway as we had to send it back. They were not at all thrilled to see that it was in black and white, but it was interresting to see how quickly it held and caught their attention right through to the end. But what was even more enlightening was the discussion between them which followed. An eye opener for all of us, and a reminder of how things were, and still are, for many people. Also to count our many blessings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cathy DVD, 2 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
This is an excellent documentary film of the difficult times facing families after the second world war. It demonstrates an uncaring stance taken by government departments who deemed it ok to split families and take children away from young mothers who had tried their utmost to care for their children in deplorable conditions. Not a good way to reward the working classes after the efforts they had put in to the war.

It demonstrated a clear class distinction and an almost Victorian disregard for the impact of middle class decision making by people who would be unlikely to ever have to face such conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST CATHY HAS COME HOME TO MY HOME, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
BACK IN THE SIXTIES I WAS LIVING IN LONDON AND GOT TO KNOW AND LOVE THE ENGLISH WAY OF LIFE AND STARTED TO SEE ALL THE GREAT ENGLISH FILMS. CATHY COME HOME WAS THE SORT OF FIRST ACTED DOCO IT WAS SO REAL AND VERY SAD. I LOVED IT THEN AND I AM SO GLAD NOW TO HAVE IT IN MY HOME OF GREAT ENGLISH FILMS. THANK YOU ALL THE WAY FROM AUSTRALIA. HOW I MISS THOSE GREAT ENGLISH FILMS.

LIZA DELLA REESE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathy Come Home., 19 Sept. 2010
The DVD has been made for the French market but the language is in English so its OK. There are subtitles in French and the film is in B/W.Its so well acted that the film seems to be more like a real life documentary.Very powerful stuff,superb part played by the beautiful Carol White.Excellent period photography illustrating the living conditions of some less fortunate than others and how the unhappy circumstances have been arrived at.Its a classic for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think it can't happen to you??, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Lee Bratley "Fleaberto" (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cathy Come Home (DVD)
The impact of this film can't be understated. However, the shameful thing is that this is still completely applicable to society today.
Council houses sold off, no new investment, extortionate rents, ridiculous house prices.....all very much prescient to this day.
At first, 'Cathy' seems to be some sort of quaint, historical documentary about how bad things were in days of yore......then as the families situation takes a turn for the worse, the frustrations around the lack of help/empathy come to the fore in a very shocking way - you actually find yourself wanting to do something yourself.......An incredible film that makes you reappraise your own situation, which is likely to be more precarious than you think. After all, Cathy & Reg were employed, earning good money and it only took one incident to see a spiral form.......Hauntingly brilliant and disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966]
Cathy Come Home [DVD] [1966] by Ken Loach (DVD - 2011)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews