Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fogotten history
This is a well researched and fascinating series. The less palatable aspects of occupation were understandably swept under the carpet after WWII; it is very easy from a safe distance to pour scorn on those who, like Marshal Petain worked with the Nazis and is credited with the creation of "Collaboration" in the sense we understand it. His supporters say this was done...
Published on 24 Oct 2011 by Martin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi Collaborators
It is probably no fault of the editors or producers of this series, certainly there are no deceptive advertising or descriptions, but I was a bit put off by the frequent return to the Holocaust. I thought it would have concentrated more on the military efforts of the 'puppet' and client states, which is only briefly covered in each episode. Each episode deals with a...
Published 14 months ago by Extraordinary Gent.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fogotten history, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well researched and fascinating series. The less palatable aspects of occupation were understandably swept under the carpet after WWII; it is very easy from a safe distance to pour scorn on those who, like Marshal Petain worked with the Nazis and is credited with the creation of "Collaboration" in the sense we understand it. His supporters say this was done with the best interests of the French people at heart, but there are many who would violently disagree with this. I can well understand that this series will be uncomfortable viewing for many even today; there are some surprising fellow travellers within Hitlers Europe revealed here. Their actions still shape the world we live in, for example in the Balkans and the middle east.

There is much footage I've never seen before, presumably found in the film archives of the countries once overrun by Hitler's Germany. This was of course was unlikely to be given frequent showing due to the controversial and sometimes shameful content. The often harrowing interviews with survivors of the Nazi regime are riveting; in particular those with willing or unwilling collaborators make the cost of DVD set worthwhile alone. It comes as something of a shock to hear now very elderly men and women still speak with pride of their participation in Hitlers 1000 year Reich.

(I would like to give a mention here to Kevin Brownlow's remarkable film "It Happened Here", a fictional account of life in occupied Britain in 1945, now available on DVD It Happened Here [1964] [DVD. This film , amateur made in the 1960's but very convincing, explores the realities of living under foreign occupation from the viewpoint of a district nurse. If you are a film lover or have an interest in this period this is a "must see")

By its very nature "Nazi Collaborators" does not make for comfortable viewing; the many graphic images could be disturbing for young and sensitive viewers. Having said that it is a compelling story well told. For those with even a passing interest in history or current affairs this will be well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid series, 28 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
This is an informative and interesting look at various individuals or groups who collaborated with the Nazis during World War 2. Each episode is around 50 minutes in length and provides a mixture of archive footage with interviews with survivors and historians.

The series in particularly interesting as it discusses individuals whose stories well-known but perhaps less well covered in film and television - men such as Viktors Arajs and Dinko Sakic (the episode on Jasenovac is a very valuable insight into a camp where cruelty and brutality were on such a scale that even the SS observers expressed concern). It also features some unusual, lesser-known footage.

The only small critism I can make is that occasionally the same footage is used repeatedly - for example, pictures of the Leipaja massacres - while talking about other massacres and pogroms. However, on the most part the films are enlightening and definitely worth a look if you have an interest in this area of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Documentary Series, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
This needs to be seen very interesting and important, i was very surprised by some of the information here very disturbing what people will do to one another given the right/wrong circumstance. Each disc contains self contained episodes recorded a specific collaborator from the IRA to the Finns it just goes to show the Nazis didnt archeive their goals on their own spine tingling stuff, least we forget!!! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nazi quislings, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
This four disc set is incrediable and that goes without saying.Most of the program is excellent quality for sound and great picture presentation.I have seen almost everything that is available about the war and that and i can tell you most of it is new and very interesting.If you like this series check out Nazi Hunters as it is just as good and exciting information.Find out who the quislings are on this great 4 disc dvd set, Nazi Collaborators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nazi Collaborators DVD, 2 Sep 2012
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this fantastic DVD a birthday present.
I never knew how many collaborators there were,and no adverts to disturb my viewing experience.
If you are a fan of this period then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi Collaborators, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
It is probably no fault of the editors or producers of this series, certainly there are no deceptive advertising or descriptions, but I was a bit put off by the frequent return to the Holocaust. I thought it would have concentrated more on the military efforts of the 'puppet' and client states, which is only briefly covered in each episode. Each episode deals with a different country allied to the German cause.
However all that being said it is quite a good series for anyone interested in this aspect of the German war effort during the years 1939-45.
I especially found the episode on Leon Degrelle, the Belgian SS commander, who it seems was an incredibly brave and dedicated officer fighting on The Eastern Front and who rose from the (albeit artificial) rank of private to Standartenfuhrer during his service, quite interesting and illuminating.
(Degrelle was promoted beyond this rank by Himmler but as the latter had already been stripped of his high rank these promotions are not recognised.)
Another interesting episode is that dealing with the somewhat comical efforts of the Irish Republican Army to assist an invasion of England.
The suffering of Greece, which was continually stripped of its food supplies to feed both Germany and the Wehrmacht, causing the deaths of perhaps 500,000 people, was also quite illuminating for me at least.
All in all quite an intersting set of DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 9 Oct 2013
By 
D. Cashman "SMA" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
I found it very interesting and quite balanced.. It is limited to the major collaborators in the different countries where the Nazi ruled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great War stories, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
Being an avid world war 2 fan ,I found the DVD fascinating. It just goes to show the depth people will go to save their own lives at the expense of others. Great DVD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting for those interested in 22nd WW history, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
There is a lot of content & information on these videos, which is quite surprising. I found this collection very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IRA Nazi collaborators, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nazi Collaborators [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD shows the vast number of nations and traitors who would have sided with Hitler during the 2nd world .war especially our closest neighbours the Republic Of Ireland together with the terrorists IRA.It makes things very clear what the British people in Northern Ireland has to put up with right to the present day.The only critisism would be that the Irish section should have been placed as no 1 instead of 26.Anyone who watches this DVD will now realise how important the Loyal people of Northern Ireland was and still is to the British Nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nazi Collaborators [DVD]
Nazi Collaborators [DVD] by Jean-François Delassus (DVD - 2011)
£13.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews