Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rig - Predictably likable ...
Okay, admittedly the special effects aren't great, okay admittedly the plot points are slightly predictable but ... So What!?!

If you are going to watch a film called 'The Rig' - what do you expect? This is predictably a film where people get stranded on (guess what ...) an oil rig, unable to get off and go home, in the middle of nowhere and lo and below -...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Gary

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What? Sorry, what did you say? Pardon? Excuse me? Eh?
Wow! THE RIG. Just look at the cover and the story writes itself. Brilliant, I thought; I love this sort of crap, was this film made especially for me.

Some oil-riggers who think they're the ones in ARMAGEDDON get trapped on a [surprise!] oil rig. Drilling for [surprise!] oil, they disturb a nasty creature-feature. Someone goes missing, the creature starts...
Published on 5 July 2012 by Quetzalcoatl78


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What? Sorry, what did you say? Pardon? Excuse me? Eh?, 5 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! THE RIG. Just look at the cover and the story writes itself. Brilliant, I thought; I love this sort of crap, was this film made especially for me.

Some oil-riggers who think they're the ones in ARMAGEDDON get trapped on a [surprise!] oil rig. Drilling for [surprise!] oil, they disturb a nasty creature-feature. Someone goes missing, the creature starts [surprise!] killing them off. There's lots of mumbling then it's finished!

Surprise! I hated it.

I didn't hate it for its predictable plot, or its slow start. I don't hate it for its ripping-off of many previous monster flicks, or for its dodgy acting by the extended family of the director. I didn't hate it because the DVD cover indicates a huge sea-monster type beast, and all we get is an underfed-bloke in a CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON-type costume jumping up and pirouetting across the screen in the dark. I didn't hate it for its poorly-concieved multi-tiered ending. I hated it because any enjoyment I may have got from an under-par B-movie [which I love], was sucked away like a whirlpool by the fact that half the time I couldn't hear what the hell was bloody going on.

Acting means acting; why do they mumble their lines? Why bother having any character development at all when all the dialogue might as well be delivered by the flowerpot men. Often, films have subtitles for the hard of hearing. Here we required Subtitles for the Hard Of Speaking! I watch and enjoy loads of micro-budget horror and sf [and really applaud low-budget film-making] but I always believe there are two cardinal rules for film-makers; Don't make it boring, and don't make it sound like its been filmed underwater.

If you have super Spiderman hearing skills, perhaps add another star if you like this sort of thing. Otherwise read "NICOR!", a trashy 80's so-so horror novel by Peter Tremayne that is eerily similar to this. It's equally not amazing, but at least you can hear all the dialogue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the review by "Gary". This film doesn't at all try to hide what it is, and what it will contain. The plot is thin because this sub-genre of films (monster movies) very rarely try to be cerebral. These are monster movies where a bunch of people - strangely confined - are knocked off one by one.

As such, The Rig delivers. It's not profound, it's not deep, and there are times when you wish they'd done things better. Just like 90% of all horror movies out there.

Why three stars? Well - it's not a five-star movie, for sure. Let's not go over the top. It doesn't do anything to raise itself above other films of this type. Some of the acting was weak, the music is extremely forgettable. But don't read my three-stars as in any way panning the film, because I'm not. I'm simply acknowledging the film for what it is. It's good - nothing more, nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter garbage!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
First of i just wanna say that i have a weakness for these kind of movies. A group of people stranded in an isolated area and who are being killed of one by one. I love Carpenters The Thing and the remake/ prequal was suprisingly good to.

Now this movie after i had watched the trailer, i thought this could be good. No it wasn't. This was utter garbage. Bad acting, bad special effects, bad script, actually horrible script.

I'm gonna keep it short and just say: check out Proteus with Craig Fairbrass instead. Not a great movie but still pretty good (a masterpiece compared to this crap).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why ?!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
This film is just awful. I was sucked in by the DVD cover art work of a huge monster below an oil rig; but in fact the actual monster in the film is a man in a rubbish monster suit, so beware.
Why did the film makers behind this film even bother, oh I know why to take money off of idiots like me lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rig - Predictably likable ..., 5 July 2011
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, admittedly the special effects aren't great, okay admittedly the plot points are slightly predictable but ... So What!?!

If you are going to watch a film called 'The Rig' - what do you expect? This is predictably a film where people get stranded on (guess what ...) an oil rig, unable to get off and go home, in the middle of nowhere and lo and below - something bad happens and they are trapped!!

For anyone who is going to criticise this film for its predictability ... don't watch it! This 'jeopardy'/situation or whatever it is called is as old as film - if Agatha Christie can get away with it for 200 odd books then surely the whole 'if it 'aint broke don't fix it' argument comes in??

The Rig is good, old school, low budget horror. You may know the outcome but you don't know the path the characters have to take to get there.

Definitely worth a watch if you are not expecting the next big thing. Harmless and enjoyable with a touch of 'don't go in there' fright ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Monster Film., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
Never saw this advertised at the cinema or on TV. Came across it by chance and glad I did, good, entertaining monster movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A few scares and a few laughs, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
The Rig has some scares and does what it says on the box, it's Alien on an oil-rig. It's made unintentionally amusing by cheesy flashbacks and has a couple of characters chewing the scenery in any given frame. Favourites: the prissy ex-army guy, and the opening overacted 'I'm leaving the rig!' scene. The suspense for you the viewer in the second half is not where the monster is, but if the film is ever going to end at all. Fun - but don't spend much on it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 May 2012
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
This one of the best B movies there this, what more do you need in a film.The Rig [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 28 Aug 2014
By 
Giles "Gilesh" (Portesham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
Just a very poor film on every level. Do not be fooled by the good reviews, this not a "decent B movie" it's just a bad movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs more stupid., 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rig [DVD] (DVD)
Workers on an oil rig find themselves being attacked by amphibious humanoid monsters.

The film should be more entertaining than it is. Frankly, I was disappointed.

And lest you think that I'm not the "right audience" for this film, let me quickly set you straight: I love trashy monster flicks (Leviathan, The Alien Within, Hybrid...) I'm not usually left cold by these sorts of films, but this one was different... I think that what sets this film apart from the superior genre entries is that in this one the makers were really reluctant to show the monsters, and the death scenes are over so quickly that they're almost subliminal.

One gets the impression that the makers of this film were ashamed to make a tacky alien rip-off. There's none of the in-your-face madness of many other movies of this kind. Granted they do throw in the obligatory breast shot, but that won't be nearly enough to keep most viewers from nodding off.

To give an idea of how underwhelming this film can be, consider the following example: At one point a character is dying from what we're told is an "allergic reaction". This is immediately after he has been attacked by one of the monsters. At this point genre buffs will sit up in anticipation of what's to come - surely there's a chest-bursting scene a'comin'! Or maybe he'll start to melt like in Creepozoids... or maybe he'll actually turn into a monster himself, or... Actually, no. He really was just having an allergic reaction. Oh.

The film isn't terrible, but I wish it was. I would recommend that you save your money for a film with less dignity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rig [DVD]
The Rig [DVD] by Peter Atencio (DVD - 2011)
£2.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews