Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read
If you like ski FY and battle ship fights in space it's another good book that I had trouble putting it down.
Published 24 months ago by Neville

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ePulp fiction
Takes me back to the old days-space battles with aliens, read compulsively one after the other.

Pulp fiction has returned-as efiction! (This one was free with Prime, but I'm having to pay for the others in the series because I can't put them down).

Similar to Van Vogt and, particularly, EE Doc Smith with a modern, larger scale. No more "9,000 ships...
Published on 13 April 2013 by IAN CAMERON-MOWAT

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars great idea, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's Tale (Annihilation series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This story has some real escapism. Without spoiling the story it is a nice change for us from planet earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's Tale (Annihilation series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
If you like ski FY and battle ship fights in space it's another good book that I had trouble putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ePulp fiction, 13 April 2013
By 
IAN CAMERON-MOWAT (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy's Tale (Annihilation series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Takes me back to the old days-space battles with aliens, read compulsively one after the other.

Pulp fiction has returned-as efiction! (This one was free with Prime, but I'm having to pay for the others in the series because I can't put them down).

Similar to Van Vogt and, particularly, EE Doc Smith with a modern, larger scale. No more "9,000 ships in sector nine", now it is "attack by 11 million ships". Weirdly exponential-first beat the alien Kangaroos in the next solar system with 200 foot ships, then the alien bats and frogs in the rest of the galaxy, then the alien plants in the next-door galaxy with 2 mile long ships, then the alien killer bees from a far-off galaxy with 2000-mile ships. Next we are promised the alien spiders from another universe with ships the size of planets.

Saxon holds it all together by showing the warm emotional feelings of the main, psychic, protagonist family-he obviously has a big heart, and in the right place.

Also a 21st century aspect that if we could just talk to each other, we could work something out. Perhaps this reflects the times-might work with Putin now, but in the thirties they had real baddies; would Stalin, Churchill and Hitler have bonded over a cup of tea??

Great stuff, but on the downside it is not well written and there are numerous typos. He doesn't know the difference between "compliment" as in say something nice and "complement" as in goes well with. You may feel compelled to read, but possibly not twice. On the other hand, who can remember the plots of the "Harry Potter" books?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally unputdownable!, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Butler "tanj666" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy's Tale (Annihilation series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is the fourth book in this series.

That's four days of my life I've sat entranced while my heart soared, my pulse raced and imagination exploded with visions. One day per book.

If, like me, you like wonderful old space opera like EE Doc Smith, then these more modern space opera books are for you. All the action, all the drama, all the gigantic space ships and space-curdling weaponry, just none of the outright sexism.

Every book, every story, every battle sees advancement of cultures, of races, of people.

Ok, it's all very nice in a star-trekian type way, there are no baddies, just cultures. No greed, no crime etc. It's getting to be a utopian future but with practically constant warfare. But it's believable despite this. The society on Earth as pictured in these books is like ours but better. More technology sure, but actually better, well for most people anyway. Some negative aspects are covered in the first book to be sure.

This particular book is about the son of the original hero, TAG, from the earlier books. His name is Tommy, named after Dad you see. How does galactic royalty get a properly grounded education so that he might understand his people? And what does he do afterwards when faced with millions of adoring subjects? This is Tommy's tale and it's every bit as good as the three stories before it.

I got this book for free through the Kindle lending library just so's you know. Now I'll have to buy it to keep a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars similar storyline to other books in series, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's Tale (Annihilation series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This book makes good use of the characters built up in the previous books in the series. It does seem to repeat the storyline a bit though and doesn't bring anything new to the action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure space opera at it's best, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's Tale (Annihilation series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book , brilliant series can't recommend it enough. Takes you always one step beyond read,read,read. I am immediately moving on to book 5,can't wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
A Rose Grows in Weeds (Annihilation series Book 3)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5)   
Buy new£3.83
Available for download now

The Power of a Queen (Annihilation series Book 2)
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10)   
Buy new£3.83
Available for download now

Searcher (Annihilation series Book 5)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)   
Buy new£3.84
Available for download now