Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and faithful memoir of Alta´r's life
I've been a fan of the Assassin's Creed franchise since playing the first game back in 2007 (coincidentally starring Alta´r, hero of this third book). I enjoyed all the games in the series but must admit to skipping Oliver Bowden's first two novelizations (covering Assassin's Creed 2, and its follow up Brotherhood) due to criticisms in the amount of creative license and...
Published on 22 July 2011 by Chris J

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but with some issues
Having written two commercially successful novelisations of Assassin's Creed titles, Oliver Bowden now brings us Assassin's Creed: The Secret Crusade; the life story of Alta´r, the iconic protagonist from the first of the Assassin's Creed games.
The book itself is split into four main parts. The first two concern themselves mostly with the events as featured in the...
Published on 20 July 2011 by David Kerr


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and faithful memoir of Alta´r's life, 22 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: The Secret Crusade: The Secret Crusade (Kindle Edition)
I've been a fan of the Assassin's Creed franchise since playing the first game back in 2007 (coincidentally starring Alta´r, hero of this third book). I enjoyed all the games in the series but must admit to skipping Oliver Bowden's first two novelizations (covering Assassin's Creed 2, and its follow up Brotherhood) due to criticisms in the amount of creative license and random changes he apparently made.

With the announcement of the newest Assassin's Creed game; Revelations, returning to its routes and re-introducing Alta´r as a central plot character I decided it was time to relive the characters quest. This is the third Assassin's Creed novel by Oliver Bowden but chronologically, timeline and game release wise, it comes first. Readers are not disadvantaged at all if they have not read the first two novels.

This novel is extremely faithful to the source material, it is clear Bowden worked closely with Ubisoft Montreal as most of the dialog is word perfect when compared to the game script, events and assassinations also play out almost exactly the same (albeit probably more skilled and professional than some of us gamers did it back in the day).

The story for those unfamiliar follows Alta´r ibn La-Ahad, an Assassin from Masyaf who is stripped of his `Master Assassin' rank very early in the story due to his arrogant attitude and lack of respect for the assassin way of life - the Assassin's Creed. He is offered a chance of redemption by his master, the assassin leader Al Mualim, the agreement: Alta´r's rank and status restored in return for the lives of nine corrupt men.

What starts as a righteous vengeance mission, quickly unfolds into a deeper, darker conspiracy that leads Alta´r to question his own way of life, his skills, and his beliefs. The story is quick paced and effectively told, the chapters are short but have the right structure; Alta´r will often track a target over one chapter, assassinate them in the next, and escape in the third.

For people who played the game, you will know it involved a lot of repetitive investigation missions consisting of eavesdropping, pick pocketing, interrogating etc. Alta´r uses all of these skills in the opening assassinations of the novel, and then in following chapters the book skims over them instead of repeating itself - I really appreciated this as it focuses of the unique-ness of each target, place, and assassination instead of elements that are the same, this keeps the story moving at a good pace.

As with the previous Assassin's Creed Novels by Bowden, it does add some extra details into the tale. Primarily it adds a sub story that covers Alta´r's childhood and upbringing, these additions are very welcome and really help to develop Alta´r and gain a better understanding of his character. More importantly, this novel also covers events after the "main story". Specifically, Alta´r's voyage to Cyprus that was the present in the Bloodlines PSP game, as well as his later family life that was touched upon within the Codex pieces of Assassin's Creed 2 - These additions make up the latter half of the book and detail the closing years of Alta´r's life subtly setting up the Revelations story arc.

Simply put, this novel is very faithful to the source material. It is the most complete and in depth account of the life of Alta´r. I would recommend this book to any fan of the franchise and it is certainly a great way to recap (and expand) upon the life and times of Alta´r ibn La-Ahad in preparation for Assassin's Creed Revelations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but with some issues, 20 July 2011
Having written two commercially successful novelisations of Assassin's Creed titles, Oliver Bowden now brings us Assassin's Creed: The Secret Crusade; the life story of Alta´r, the iconic protagonist from the first of the Assassin's Creed games.
The book itself is split into four main parts. The first two concern themselves mostly with the events as featured in the first game, part three with the story of Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines (a Playstation Portable title) and the final part focuses on the later life of Alta´r.
Bowden is effective at generating a sense of immersion, his use of language is lively, he is able to avoid repetitive use of language and his use of dialogue is well-balanced against more action-driven elements of the story. However, there is a fundamental issue that the author must have struggled with that we, the readers, might find problematic as well. This problem being that for the first two parts in particular, the book is a very rigid re-telling of the events of the first game. It feels stiff, often rushed and fails to engage the reader. Whilst clearly important in telling the tale of Alta´r and his quest for redemption in the eyes of the Brotherhood, these earlier sections will seem all too familiar to fans, with little periphery exploration to make them seem worthwhile. It also feels as though Bowden himself felt overly restricted by the structure and wanted this phase of the story told as quickly as possible, so he might begin to use his talent far more freely.
Thankfully, Part Three starts to show signs of improvement. Whilst it also follows the story of another game, with our hero doing battle against the Templars in Cyprus, the writing is more relaxed and confident, the character of Alta´r is more fleshed out and it does not seem as repetitive in structure as earlier sections. The pacing is far more energetic and fluid and you start to get more of a sense of a writer who's enjoying himself. This evident enthusiasm continues into the fourth part. This final section (excluding the epilogue) is undoubtedly the strongest of the entire novel. It has emotional gravity, peril, tragedy and even a small moment of joy. It is here that we are finally granted an insight into who Alta´r was, as we follow him in the later years of his extraordinary life. For followers of the games, this part makes the novel a worthwhile endeavour, for laymen it brings the tale to a fitting conclusion.
Whilst, initially, this is a book that retreads a lot of ground, the second half adequately compensates for this. Its easy and accessible style make it an effortless read that, eventually, begins to bear fruit and should suitably entertain both fan and casual reader alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed: The Secret Crusade, 27 Jun 2011
If you dont have the computer game, dont worry just read this and you will be hooked on the books for certain. this is a book that keeps you guessing all the way. I found it impossible to put down. If you have read any of the others you wont be dissappointed, its full of intrigue as well as blood and guts. Having read all of them I am really sad that this seems to be the last in the series, albeit this is the last but is in fact the first of a series. Brilliantly written a compulsive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a great book, but the author needs to be more dedicated, 6 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the book, mainly because I nearly leapt on the postman when it came after 2 months of waiting, sometimes you can make yourself love something, but anyway, I've got to admit, I think that Oliver Bowden doesn't really enjoy writing the storylines from a game, he just lacked passion in the first part. However, he really nailed the rest of it! Very gripping, he made our old friend Altaiir a more 3D character than he was on the game, which wasn't hard, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Altaiir's life after the 9 tasks. And then the last part, where his wife, Maria, is murdered by his long-time foe, Abbas, I nearly cried, I felt for this guy that is fictional (well, there's no proving it, but he's probably fictional!) And I'm not a massively emotional guy! He truly became a legend through this book! I cannot wait for the next installment! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same as for Assassins Creed : Revelations ...., 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... hubby absolutely loved the book.

Excellent reading.

Had his nose buried in the first book - his nose was equally buried in this one! I've never known him be so quiet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these books. Books arrived really quickly and with no damage to the covers at all - not bad as they are paperbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good fun read, 18 Aug 2011
Oliver Bowden, unfortunately, has little talent for writing engaging and interesting prose. This is not an issue though. The actual story lines are great and action packed, and he delivers it in an appropriate manner. If you love the idea behind the games, read the book. If you want an easy read for a holiday, get the book. If you're looking for a good novel, then maybe leave it be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC: The Secret Crusade, 17 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book to finish off Altair's story. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole series of books written by Oliver Bowen. I highly recommend this book to any Assassin's Creed fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!, 11 Aug 2011
By 
R. Kenyon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Even if you haven't played the games you will enjoy this book.

I will admit that if you have played the first AC the first 1/3 of the book is a little dull. The second section focuses on events in AC: Bloodline (the PSP game). This is a great opportunity for people who haven't got a PSP to catch up on Altair's story before the release of AC: Revelations this November.

The final section of the book is completely fresh and doesn't follow any AC game I've ever played, so I won't give anything away. However this part of the book is definitely the best part of the story.

Overall the book is very well written and engaging, especially the later two thirds.

I would recommend this book to anyone, especially if you are an AC fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intense and entertaining, 8 Aug 2011
as a videogame nut i knew the plot behind assassins creed but was surpprised to many extras packed in.

GOOD:
_ The plot of the Console Version is well fleshed out and does well in the characterisiation of Altair leadin to Al-Muallim's Betrayal

_ Learning more of Altiir and Maria's relationship and their children

_ the High point for me was the bonus tale of Altaiir's relationship with fellow assassin Abbas from their beginnings as friends and ending up as mortal enemies drastically affecting the people of Masayaf leading the aclimactic battle to decide the fate of the Order. it was nice to find something new and hamuanise altiir character from just a killing machine.

_ *SPOILER ALERT* Maria's death at the hands of Altaiir (easily the most touching moment of the book)

BAD:

_ the Cyprus Storyline: easily the weakest point in the book. plot was taken form the PSP version of Assassins Creed: Bloodline and it was here i felt the story began to feel repetetive and began to drag to the point of derailing the whole book. it's only saving graces were Altaiir and Maria's chemistry and the moment when Altaiir first uses the Apple of Eden

Overall, the book fared quite well and Bowden really shines as a writer when he tells the story of Abbas and Altaiir. You can almost tell that it is here the author himself is at ease as he does not need to follow Ubisoft's Canon but add something new to the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews