Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Historical Thriller
The Holy Grail, the Templars and the intrigue that they epitomise has been very much in vogue with novellists in recent years and I wondered if this would be more of the same.
I was pleasantly surprised to find this a well balanced novel which feels fresh and original.
Hodgkinson manages to share his enthusiasm for and knowledge of the period by delivering a...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by Bryan Ford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lions
Ok but I have enjoyed better

Would read another of his books. They might grow on me. Grammar not too good in places
Published 7 months ago by shona noble


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Historical Thriller, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Holy Grail, the Templars and the intrigue that they epitomise has been very much in vogue with novellists in recent years and I wondered if this would be more of the same.
I was pleasantly surprised to find this a well balanced novel which feels fresh and original.
Hodgkinson manages to share his enthusiasm for and knowledge of the period by delivering a good plot with memorable characters worthy of any decent thriller.
By the time you find yourself in Carrickfergus Castle with underdog hero Richard Savage, the story has its hooks in and it clips along at a good old page turning pace.
There is something here for anyone who likes an action packed adventure story with a decent helping of love, betrayal, murder and mayhem making it a good read regardless of the historical context.
Peppered throughout the story however, are little titbits of historical fact and imagery that help to both inform the reader and conjour up a notion of medieval life.
The story acknowledges many of the themes that have characterised the British, Irish and particularly Northern Irish psyche for centuries; a crises of identity and divided loyalties haunt virtually all of the main characters on some level.
I'm not an avid reader of this genre of fiction so comparisons don't come easily but I reckon that if you like the writing of Bernard Cornwell you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining education !, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Can't believe how much I learnt about traditional and local history whilst enjoying a riveting fun read ! Would love to see this made into a TV series or movie, great to have a lead character you root for, and a book that challenges you as well to take in all the eloquent and sometimes brutally graphic descriptions of life in Ireland in medieval times. As I said in the title, educational and entertaining !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lions of the Grail was a compelling read., 7 July 2011
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great first novel. This book was well researched and a story that keeps the reader wanting more. Impatiently waiting for the sequel!!!? A MUST READ!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lions, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Ok but I have enjoyed better

Would read another of his books. They might grow on me. Grammar not too good in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Lions of the Grail is a great read,I sincerely hope Savage returns to fight again ! Soon.Well done to the author Tim Hodkinson marvelous first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great read for historians., 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found the detail to be very interesting, the plot also moved along, but I did have reservations. A number of names were written in 'Irish' which put me off, don't get me wrong, this has nothing to do with religious backgrounds. When I read, I like to get to know the characters, and if their names are unpronouncable, it stops me from really 'getting into' the book, but good non-the-less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating book, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was great. Action packed and with lots of Ulster based history. I could not put it down and was excited to see how the Hero would regain his faith and the grail. This is a steal at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn but ..., 3 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The enjoyment of reading the ebook has, for me, been diminished by the author's use of incorrect words and poor syntax.

For example, the author does not know the difference between "lead" and "led" and uses the word "immanant" (a mathematical function or property of a matrix) instead of the word "imminent".

At one point, when men are searching for the hero of the tale, the author describes the hunters as stabbing their spears "randomly and methodically" into the undergrowth!!

After a few pages, Flemish crossbowmen become Genoese crossbowmen!

Still, it is a darned good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lions of the Grail by Tim Hodkinson, 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In Lions of the Grail I found myself transported to a time and place I am not too familiar with, the history of Northern Ireland and the invasion of it by The Bruce Brothers. It seems that most everyone in that region wanted to rule Ireland except maybe the Irish who were too busy clan fighting to resist the English under King John or the upstart Scottish King Robert the Bruce. It is in this chaotic period that we meet our protagonist Syr Richard Savage, formerly of Ulster but who joined The Knights Templar as a personal quest to find meaning in life. Unfortunately for Savage, the Templars are declared heretics and are condemned by The Pope so after being betrayed by a former Templar now turned Knight Hospitaller, he has been incarcerated for 5 years awaiting his fate. Fortunately for Savage, King John(the son of Longshanks) has a pressing need for a former Ulsterman to spy out what is happening in Ireland regarding the Scots and the rumors of invasion.

The author has given us a tale with an intriguing cast of characters from the effeminate King John, the duplicitous Templar turned Hospitaller, The Bruce brothers Robert and Edward, a host of Scots, Irish, and Norman descendants, loyal mercenaries and witchcraft accused mother and daughter. The story runs the gamut of human emotions, love, hatred, loyalty, loss and redemption, to name a few. It also has The Grail and how it came to be in possession of Robert the Bruce and how he uses it to gain allies. Given the many Grail stories and tales that are out there I found that the author gives a credible rendition though perhaps not as good a one as in the Monty Python movie. :-)

All in all, Lions of the Grail is a fast paced, intriguing story full of twists and turns, full of villainous treachery, full of valor and courage. A thoroughly enjoyable story. I rate it at 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, desperately needs an editor though!, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the story and found the novel entertaining and a real page turner. Would definately recommend it as a quick read. My only problem with it is that, like a lot of kindle books, it doesn't appear to have been edited. Was it self published and I missed it? Even if this is the case, had I been the author, I would have got several people to check it for me. There are spelling and grammatical mistakes fairly frequently and I must say this does reduce the enjoyment factor somewhat. You have to re-read the occasional sentence a couple of times just to try and get what is being said. If you can overlook this though, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lions of the Grail (Savage Book 1)
1.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews