Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing release
I love the fact that so many of my favourite films are being upgraded to Blu Ray compared to when it was first introduced and only your standard blockbuster was released.

I pre-ordered Maniac cop a few months ago when it was first announced and at the time I watched my synergy DVD release. A few months later my blu ray copy arrived and the difference in picture...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by I love New York

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A maniac, maniac that's for sure.
Up until the early 90s New York City was a very different place when compared to the vibrant cosmopolitan/metropolitan of culture and coffee shops with free Wi-Fi of today. It was a very dirty city filled with porno theatres, pawn shops, and crack houses where you couldn't walk ten feet without getting mugged.

In the absence of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles,...
Published 3 months ago by Inspector Gadget


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A Waste of Good Talent, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maniac Cop is a passable action/horror movie, but the whole film feels like it's a big missed opportunity. I'm not sure if this is solely down to the mad genius that is Larry Cohen who was heavily involved in this film and wrote the screenplay.

Look at what we have on the table:

William Lustig director of Maniac ( not to get too confused) returns here as director.

Bruce Campbell (Evil Dead movies and all round cool guy)

Tom Atkins (80's horror icon and has an uncanny ability to make grown men feel that 'man love'

Not to mention there is a cameo by Sam Raimi. So what is wrong with the film?

Well Lustig does a pretty good job, however you do feel that he was unable to get the very best out
of Campbell and Atkins.
The movie is very good in places, but I expected more, it just does not feel like a solid enough movie, and judging by the hype when it was first released well I didn't get it then and I don't get it now.

Don't get me wrong, Maniac Cop is certaintly worth your time but don't go into the movie with too much expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maniac, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie, typical 80's. I want to buy this cop some beers!! I would have liked to have seen the mayor getting his neck snapped at the end of the movie instead of just hearing the snap and the usual high pitched movie scream!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars is there some subtitles????, 31 Dec 2011
By 
Marc Bouhana (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
hello does someone can tell if there are some subtitles please because everytime we don t know about subtitles
so are there some english subtitles????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LET'S HAVE THE MANIAC COP TRILOGY, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When I first watched Maniac Cop on ZoneHorror, I thought this was a great movie and I didn't know Bruce Campell would be in it. Then I watched Maniac Cop 2 on YouTube and I consider it a HUGE improvement of the last film, great script, great acting, great storyline, great editing and great music. I even loved the ending where Matt Cordell finally gets payback on the criminals who cut his face up...and his chin. Then I watched Maniac Cop 3: Badge of Silence on Youtube and I thought it was another improvement of the first film. I heard that William Lustig (the director of the Maniac Cop films) hated this one but I thought it could have went to cinemas rather than straight to VHS. So I'm glad Maniac Cop is on Blu-Ray but like you people, I wished Maniac Cop 2 and 3 were on Blu-ray right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 25 Jun 2007
A decent low budget action/horror/thriller from writer Larry Cohen and director William Lustig that benefits from great New York locations, a good score from Jay Chattaway and personable performances from genre vets Tom Atkins and Bruce Campbell, it's not going to change the world, but it's a more than reasonable way to pass ninety odd minutes. This new synapse release has a good widescreen transfer great sound mix and some decent extras including footage done for the japanese release and an interview with the Maniac Cop himself, Robert Z'Dar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Masterpiece, 27 Aug 2001
A dead cop comes back to life hellbent on murdering the innocent... That is the plot for this first class exciting film from the director of "Maniac". Lurking in the streets of New York, killer Matt Cordell administers impressive death scenes to all and sundry from start to finish until it finally ends leaving you, the viewer, sitting at home with a stunned "wow" expression on your face. This is an underated horror action classic that deserves wider recognition plus full credit where credit's due to director William Lustig, writer Larry Cohen and star Bruce Campbell. Evil Dead actor Bruce Campbell is great in this film; I would also like to add his face and particularly his wonderfully chisselled chin are very handsome in a rugged kind of way. But aside from having the perfect physiogamy to play an action hero, Campbell also has the acting skills to make his performance compelling throughout. If you like well made horror violence then this is a film that will satisfy you over and over for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 7 Jan 2009
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I bought this in HMV because I love slasher movies and it was very cheap so I thought, why not?

I wasn't expexting much from it (due to the low price and lackluster amazon reviews) but actually really enjoyed it.

The film starts with a handfull of innocent people on the streets on New York being murdered by a policeman (who's face we don't see). A policeman ends up as a suspect when his girlfriend is killed and the rest of the movie is set on him and a female police officer who he was having an affair with (the movie isnt as "Desperate Housewives" as it sounds..) trying to find the real killer, while the killer himself starts killing off everybody around him.

We actually find out who the killer is halfway through the movie, but rather than being a spoiler, this is actually a good thing because we see the mystery behind the killings unravel as well as the usual stalk-and-slash.

Quite a decent ending, too, which sets up for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any horror buffs!, 19 Feb 2003
I first saw this movie when I was about 10 or 11 and it has stuck with me ever since as being one of two of the best horror movies ever made! (the other is John Carpenter's 'The Thing').
The sequels are just as good too, with Maniac Cop 2 and Maniac Cop 3: Badge of Silence ... you're in for a rollercoaster of murder, mayhem and action as officer Matt Cordell strikes down those that get in his way.
The story is basically this... Officer Matt Cordell was one of those shoot first and ask questions later kind of cops, but he got framed and sent to prison where everyone hated him for putting them away. He ended up murdered in the shower, and lying on the cold, steel autopsy table the coroner realized he was still alive. His wife takes him away and whatever she does, he comes back unstoppable with a thirst for killing the innocents... Sounds corny, but believe me, it's great...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That was quick, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I got my package in lightening speed. It was undamaged and a perfect gift to my sister, she loved it! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Blu-Ray Job, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a good horror movie but Cult Labs did a poor job with the Blu-Ray version. There's many scenes where you see tiny fine dots all over the screen and the movie wasn't even digitally remastered for the Blu-Ray. I prefer to watch MANIAC COP on DVD. The DVD version is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2a973b4)

This product

Maniac Cop [DVD]
Maniac Cop [DVD] by William W. Lustig (DVD - 2012)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews