Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars59
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2007
A decent low budget action/horror/thriller from writer Larry Cohen and director William Lustig that benefits from great New York locations, a good score from Jay Chattaway and personable performances from genre vets Tom Atkins and Bruce Campbell, it's not going to change the world, but it's a more than reasonable way to pass ninety odd minutes. This new synapse release has a good widescreen transfer great sound mix and some decent extras including footage done for the japanese release and an interview with the Maniac Cop himself, Robert Z'Dar
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
the bad news:
the film is presented in 4:3, the original aspect ratio being 1.85:1.
the good news:
good transfer and this is not the orginal (?) feature length of 85 ms (81 ms pal), but the longer 91-ms-version (strange enough the same running time as the ntsc-version).
none of the special features which are available on other discs.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Classic film brilliant transfer Cult Labs Rule.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
Firstly a warning to Samsung Blu-ray player owners. I have a Samsung BD-E8500A Blu-ray drive (Australian Purchased Region B, Latest Firmware as of 14/10/2012), when I load the disc it spins for a while then rejects it due to "This disc does not meet the specifications". I have one other Blu-ray disc from Arrow and I get the same thing so must be something specific in their mastering that causes this compatibility issue. I can't speak for other Samsung Drives. My PlayStation 3 (2nd generation) (Region B) has no issues with the disc.

Now for the movie itself it is a fairly average horror affair, does not feel particularly suspenseful as per other reviewers comments, but the acting is decent and it doesn't feel low budget. Despite the 18 rating it isn't that gory which is fine by me. So scenes with blood tend to be quickly cut, there is violence but this seemed to fit the story and really won't shock. I was surprised actually by the 18 rating but as I'm Australian I guess we probably would be giving it MA15+ in our ratings system. As a note to the guys despite the nicely done cover art, there isn't any nudity in this film (This isn't a 70's Slasher film), nor really did it need it.

The transfer is pretty good for an 80's film of this kind, there were a couple of scenes in darker building settings in the film that were a bit grainy which I'd attribute to the film original stock, for most however you don't notice the grain and the transfer looks pretty good. There is also a nice booklet and the whole package feels like some love has been put into this.

This is not a great story, decently acted by some of the main characters and doesn't feel low budget, but unlikely to leave much of an impression after viewing. But if you are into horror or Bruce Campbell and want another for your collection, you could do a lot worse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Very fast delivery great bargain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
This blu ray dvd is fine thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Old classic loved it on blu ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
This movie is a good 80 movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2009
I bought this in HMV because I love slasher movies and it was very cheap so I thought, why not?

I wasn't expexting much from it (due to the low price and lackluster amazon reviews) but actually really enjoyed it.

The film starts with a handfull of innocent people on the streets on New York being murdered by a policeman (who's face we don't see). A policeman ends up as a suspect when his girlfriend is killed and the rest of the movie is set on him and a female police officer who he was having an affair with (the movie isnt as "Desperate Housewives" as it sounds..) trying to find the real killer, while the killer himself starts killing off everybody around him.

We actually find out who the killer is halfway through the movie, but rather than being a spoiler, this is actually a good thing because we see the mystery behind the killings unravel as well as the usual stalk-and-slash.

Quite a decent ending, too, which sets up for the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
It's ok but nothing special
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)