Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing release
I love the fact that so many of my favourite films are being upgraded to Blu Ray compared to when it was first introduced and only your standard blockbuster was released.

I pre-ordered Maniac cop a few months ago when it was first announced and at the time I watched my synergy DVD release. A few months later my blu ray copy arrived and the difference in picture...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by I love New York

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What A Great Title For A Film
Firstly I really enjoyed Maniac Cop. Although the dvd version still resembles a worn out VHS copy I felt it added a touch of grainey authenticity to the proceedings.Whilst there are few surprises the night time locations and the number of B movie veterans make for some icey chills. The story although far fetched is quite original. The film reminded me of a polished video...
Published on 11 Mar 2009 by G. R. Donaldson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing release, 4 Nov 2011
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love the fact that so many of my favourite films are being upgraded to Blu Ray compared to when it was first introduced and only your standard blockbuster was released.

I pre-ordered Maniac cop a few months ago when it was first announced and at the time I watched my synergy DVD release. A few months later my blu ray copy arrived and the difference in picture quality is outstanding. The DVD release was old and dirty and was just about passable. Arrow have really cleaned this release up and it looks great.

When you add all the extras including the mini poster, booklet, reversible sleeve (it's the little things some times) and extras you feel like you're getting good value for your money.

The plot, well I'll leave that for anyone who hasn't watched this film before to find out for themselves and no need to remind fans of the film what happens.

5 Stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Have The Right To Remain Silent...Forever!, 12 Oct 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Maniac Cop (Blu-ray)

Blu-ray Info.
Region B/2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: Arrow Video
Running Time: 81 minutes

Special Features.
Brand new 2k restoration of the Original Theatrical Cut
Exclusive UK introduction to the film from star Tom Atkins.
Doomed Detective: Tom Atkins on Maniac Cop.
Lady of the Night: Laurene Landon remembers Maniac Cop.
Scripting a new Slasher Super-Villain: Larry Cohen on Matt Cordell.
Trailers.
Reversible sleeve with original and newly commissioned artwork by Rick Melton.
Collector s booklet featuring brand new writing on the film by author Troy Howarth & The Original Maniac: An interview with William Lustig, adapted from Calum Waddell's book Taboo Breakers.

Cast.
Tom Atkins as Detective Lieutenant Frank McCrae
Bruce Campbell as Officer Jack W. Forrest, Jr.
Laurene Landon as Officer Theresa Mallory
Richard Roundtree as Commissioner Pike
William Smith as Captain Ripley
Robert Z'Dar as Officer Matthew Cordell
Nina Arvesen as Regina Sheperd
Sheree North as Officer Sally Noland
Victoria Catlin as Ellen Forrest

Trivia.
1)The actors that play both the protagonist (Bruce Campbell) and the antagonist (Robert Z'Dar) have had the nickname 'The Chin'.
2)Although the film is set in New York City, it was only shot there for three days.
3)Jill Gatsby is Larry Cohen's daughter and is killed in every one of his movies that she's in.
4)Bodycount: 19
5)Sam Raimi: makes a brief cameo as the parade reporter.
6)Jake LaMotta: makes a brief cameo as a detective.
7)Richard Roundtree: (Shaft) makes a brief cameo as Commissioner Pike.
8)Director William Lustig: makes a brief cameo as a motel-manager.

What's The Story.
A former police officer & one time good cop Matt Cordell believed dead who was set up for a crime he didn't commit is now committing gore drenched bloody murder on the city streets of New York & another police officer Jack Forrest stands accused of the murders.

Now, with few friends, powerful enemies & a psychopathic slayer still at large, it s up to Jack to prove he s not guilty & stop Cordell's vengeance from beyond the grave.

Timelord Thoughts.
Maniac Cop was a low budget 80's horror thriller that has since garnered two sequels & become a cult classic horror movie, this Blu-ray release by Arrow is of the highest quality & features a crisp sharp print with just a small amount of grain while the audio is in 2.0 stereo & sounds amazingly clear.

The extras are well worth a watch & should benefit more enjoyment for fan's of horror movies as theres plenty of behind the scenes trivia discussed about the making of the movie, plus theres a reversible Blu-ray sleeve that features the original movie artwork.

The acting is good, Jack Forrest is played by the legend that is Bruce Campbell who gives a far more serious performance here than his 'Ash' character from 'The Evil Dead' movies & is excellent throughout while Tom Atkins is perfectly cast as Lieutenant Frank McCrae & gives a believable performance, Richard Roundtree who is better known as the 70's 'Shaft' is good in a small role as commissioner Pike & Robert Z'Dar who is a huge juggernaut of a man casts a terrifying presence over the movie as the supernatural cop killer Matt Cordell.

Director William Lustig gives the movie a great scope & makes the movie look a far bigger budget picture the it's $1.1 million dollar budget & injects a fast pace to the story, includes some gory kills.

Larry Cohen has written a surprisingly good storyline & backstory for a B'movie horror film & at just 81 minutes long the movie never outstays it's welcome.

Overall, Maniac Cop is a impressive Blu-ray from Arrow who have obviously put a lot of hard work & care into making this 80's B'movie look & sound better than ever & is well worth the upgrade from DVD for fans of the franchise.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lustig, Atkins and Campbell at their finest!, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Arrow does it again! The day I decided to start collecting their limited edition blu-rays was a monumental day for me; Arrow has managed to open my eyes to a whole class of films with which I was wholly unfamiliar until I stumbled across this release at a local book/movie/music store (in Lexington, Kentucky, no less! Amazing where treasures can end up.)

Let me preface this by saying that Maniac Cop is clearly not an award-winning film, but damned if it isn't entertaining! This slick UK version is the definitive edition, as it comes with over-the-top packaging and extras. Featuring an ultra-cool slipbox with a clear pastic window on the front, and reversible artwork so you can pick one of four covers (or rotate them like I do to keep it fresh)! Also includes a fold out, double-sided poster and a plethora of bonus content: trailers, TV spots, several fantastic interviews (including a dynamite one with Tom Atkins), and a booklet with all new essays on the film. There's also a great little into to the film by Tom Atkins, which I found to be a nice surprise. The blu-ray comes housed in a quality, heavy-duty amaray case that just seems fitting for such a release. Try finding all of these amazing extras anywhere else!

The picture quality knocks this release out of the park. 1080p, original aspect ratio, no excess sharpening, and the film's original grain and gritty look are still present. This is exactly the way I want to watch a movie like this. Although the audio quality is presented in a 2.0 LPCM. The U.S. version has a DTS-HD audio track, but I think Arrow did a heck of a job with the audio in this release. I found no issues with balance, fade, and the score is blended expertly. I cannot being to count the number of releases where I am constantly having to adjust the volume (up during conversation scenes, down during action scenes). This, happily, is NOT one of those releases. The audio knob stayed in one spot through the entire viewing (which took place late at night with minimal lighting - how I'd personally recommend it). All in all I was extremely pleased with the PQ/AQ on this release. The bonus features put it over the moon.

One final note about this release is that it is Region A, B, C compatible, including the 1080p bonus features - meaning that fellow U.S. viewers won't need a region-free player to play this release (although I would definitely recommend looking into getting one, as it is worth it just to have access to Arrow's entire catalog - made my decision easy!) This is definitely the version to get! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! And check out the rest of Arrow's great catalog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He was one of a kind...., 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Innocent people are being brutally murdered on the streets of New York by a uniformed police officer.

As the death toll rises and City Hall attempts a cover-up, Frank McCrae heads the investigation.

A young cop, Jack Forrest, finds himself under arrest as the chief suspect, having been the victim of a set-up by the real killer and a mysterious woman phone-caller.

Forrest, his girlfriend Theresa, and McCrae set out to solve the puzzle before the Maniac Cop can strike again....

One of those movies from the eighties you come across once in a while and you just have to watch it for the sheer stupidness of it all.

From the cops deciding it's another cop more or less straight the way, you really have to take a movie like this with a huge pinch of salt.

If you can overlook the plot holes, you are treated to a lovely piece of work by Lustig, the days before CGI was imperative to this sort of movie, and when stunts were done without the use of green screen.

It's also one of the last films Campbell was in before he became self aware and mocked his own career. Atkins is great in this and Z'dar, the man with the chin, has his signature role here.

It's flawed, certainly, but it's fun, and the sequels are just as good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maniac Cop - Cult 80's flick gets the Arrow treatment, 7 April 2014
By 
Mr. N. M. Hornby "nhornby" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I picked this bad boy up about two years ago and have recently began writing reviews so I thought I'd chip in my two cents.

The packaging; As usual Arrow defy the adage "it's on the inside that counts" with it's tasty presentation of Maniac Cop. This edition comes with a four-sided reversible sleeve, a 15 page collectors booklet and a double sided poster with the original theatrical poster artwork on one side and an all new artwork on the other side. 8/10

Video quality; This is by far the best Maniac Cop has looked to date. The picture looks crisp with a small amount of grain, there is plenty of detail, some white flecks appear from time to time but this is in no way an issue. 8.5/10

Audio quality: This release features a very promising stereo soundtrack. Dialogue is clear and balanced whilst the musical score sounds great. The only niggle with this is that during the action scenes the lack of bass leaves the audio a little flat. 7.5/10

The film itself; I first came across this movie when I saw the trailer for it on my VHS copy of retribution. Maniac Cop is an entertaining film which delivers the goods. Written by Larry Cohen(The Stuff and Phonebooth) and directed by William Lustig(Maniac) the film features great performances by Bruce Campbell and the ever reliable Tom Atkins with Robert Z'Dar giving a convincing performance as the titular protagonist. Maniac Cop is an enjoyable amalgam of the action, horror and mystery genres with great set pieces and a interesting plot. 7/10

Special features; plenty to extra's for your amusement here including interviews with Cohen and Lustig, as well as retrospectives and three original trailers. There is also an exclusive introduction to the film by B-movie legend Tom Atkins.

All in all Maniac Cop is an enjoyable, fun flick which delivers great performances on a modest budget. My only minor qualm with this release is that it is missing the alternate ending(to which I had become accustomed too on my DVD copy). I recommend this film and highly recommend the sequel, which ups the ante, and in my opinion is the better of the two.

Overall I give this Arrow release a solid 8/10

If you enjoyed this then be sure to check out my other reviews :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underated Slasher Flick, 6 April 2009
By 
P. oconnell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I saw this straight to video,as the term was known then,when i was a kid.
The storyline,no matter how corny it looks on paper,is for horror standards original enough to engage you're imagination.The sight of figure of authority going around slaughtering people like a Charles Bronson in reverse (he kills the good,not the bad) is intriguing.

I would recommend this if you're a Bruce Campbell fan,or of low budget horror.However one reason i am marking it down is for the silly continuity errors.A dead cop ,after being stabbed by The Maniac Cop,miraculously manages to roll out of the way of Laurie Landon's character as she throws a chair out of the window!???
It's funny too watch but makes the film lapse into self-parody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What A Great Title For A Film, 11 Mar 2009
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Firstly I really enjoyed Maniac Cop. Although the dvd version still resembles a worn out VHS copy I felt it added a touch of grainey authenticity to the proceedings.Whilst there are few surprises the night time locations and the number of B movie veterans make for some icey chills. The story although far fetched is quite original. The film reminded me of a polished video nasty.
Also the guy that plays the mayor is excellent. That is if you see all beaurocrats as snivelling wretches which I must do. So thumbs up to Maniac Cop. It wont hold pride of place in many collections but its worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A maniac, maniac that's for sure., 25 Dec 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Up until the early 90s New York City was a very different place when compared to the vibrant cosmopolitan/metropolitan of culture and coffee shops with free Wi-Fi of today. It was a very dirty city filled with porno theatres, pawn shops, and crack houses where you couldn't walk ten feet without getting mugged.

In the absence of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, morally sound/suspicious cop Matt Cordell makes it his duty to lay waste to the criminal scum infesting the city, but soon he goes too far and his maniacal ways catch up with him.

Grizzled Detective McCrae and rookie beat cop Forrest (that would be Tom Atkins and Bruce Campbell himself) team up to track down Cordell, who has been dubbed the 'Maniac Cop' by the New York media, who have stirred the city into a frenzy by implying ALL cops are to be considered suspicious.

There's more plot than is necessary for what is, in essence, a disposable 80s slasher flick, but it's nice to have those satirical layers, which are even more relevant now in an America with a rising police state in which even small, local forces are being heavily militarized with so-called 'rights' going out the window. In 2005 the Supreme Court ruled that police do not have duty to protect and serve anymore, only to enforce laws. Contemporary America is a breeding ground for many Maniac Cops, which lends the movie and ironic and prophetic edge, and makes it ripe for a remake.

Writer Larry Cohen (who also gave us The Stuff, Phone Booth, and Cellular) and director William Lustig have no illusion that they are delivering a trashy exploitation flick and everything in the movie is a testament to that from the harsh, sleazy cinematography to the mostly unattractive locations. Lustig even casts a woman with a disgusting cold sore in a bit part with many facial close-ups. Gross! But for a film set in New York it is so very, very obviously film in Los Angeles with anonymous flyovers of New York pasted onto it. Not really a big problem, but extremely noticeable. The only real gripe I have with Maniac Cop is that it sets up a lot potential that is never properly realized. The sequels were bigger and glossier, and aesthetically very different, making this first entry a bit of a weaker false start, but it is entertaining and Matt Cordell, despite being the antagonist, is a sort of tragic anti-hero in the mold of Jason Voorhees which is a mark of a superior slasher flick.

The Blu-ray features the movie in all of it's grainy, grindhouse glory. There's not a significant amount of damage to the print but the stress lines and dirt are quite obvious, if not intrusive. The 1.85:1 1080p picture is an accurate representation of what the movie would have looked like in cinemas back in 1988 and I am happy with that. The LCPM 2.0 sound good, but the source audio was never going to be great, though Jay Chattaway's engaging score comes through clear as a bell. There are a decent amount of extras including some interesting interviews. The BD itself comes in a slipcase with a clear 'window' and a reversible cover featuring FOUR different poster arts. A booklet containing notes on the movie is found within as well as a folded, double-sided poster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Cop, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Maniac Cop. I love Bruce Campbell and this movie has been at the heart of my cinematic world since I was eight years old. Probably shouldn't have watched it then but still...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maniac Cop (Arrow Blu-ray), 9 Aug 2012
By 
Paul WJM (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A few years after making one of the greatest exploitation films ever (Maniac), Bill Lustig returned to his forte of the killer-on-the-loose study, but this time focusing on someone who would, at a glance, be trusted by his potential victims. Nice idea and one that is pulled off well enough thanks to some fitting performances by the likes of Tom Atkins (made for police detective roles; see, for example, Night of the Creeps) as McCrae, Bruce Campbell as The Wrong Man blamed for the spate of violent crimes in the city, and Richard Roundtree as the perpetually angry commissioner. Sam Raimi even turns up in a cameo appearance as a reporter. Initially the viewer thinks this may be comfortably erring towards moral expectation, with the killer cop knocking off villains and other people who deserve death, but it comes as a surprise when he actually brutalises innocent people. His own history is explained at a certain point in the film and this retrospective passage itself provides the story with its most horrific moment, though the nature of occurrences removes any positive moral standing that could have been taken with the film itself (though there are the questionable morals of a couple of characters to take into consideration). Of course, a positive moral standing is not an obligation for any film. Rounding out the final act is a pretty exciting car/lorry chase that edges this movie into the uncommon action-horror genre, providing a reasonably satisfying way (without sophisticated expectations) to spend eighty minutes courtesy of exploitation specialists, Bill Lustig and Larry Cohen (Q The Winged Serpent).

The Arrow Blu-ray Disc, now uncut in the UK following censorship to early VHS releases, features a stellar full HD image at 24fps and 1.85:1 ratio (though the opening credits appear to be 1.78:1); grainy during nocturnal and some indoor shots, but really dazzling during diurnal shots, especially impressive for aerial photography. Audio (LPCM stereo) is limited by its eighties source and was never going to amaze. There are also three featurettes (edited as usual with a pointless excess of footage from the film itself as well as overlong title sequences), some trailers, and a lovely package consisting of the traditional slipcase holding a Blu-ray case with four cover options, plus inside there's a poster, Arrow catalogue, and booklet for the film (which contains an interesting interview). Overall, a fine package from Arrow.

Technically a slasher film I suppose, this isn't up there with the nasty Maniac but, script and narrative anomalies aside, Maniac Cop has a moderate amount of entertainment value, and Blu-ray is really the way to go. Maniac Cop 2 would be a good addition to Arrow's roster, but I suppose that depends how this one has sold.

Paul (The Grim Cellar at Blogspot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maniac Cop [Blu-ray]
Maniac Cop [Blu-ray] by William W. Lustig (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews