Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
I've read Band of Brothers, and watched the DVD (on numerous occasions). Reading this book continued my interest! It comes across loud and clear that although proud of his achievements during the war, he is very humble, and was just doing what he expected everyone else to be doing.

His views on leadership are very interesting, and anyone who looks after...
Published on 25 Aug 2006 by E. Hughes

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I enjoyed this book and if you are a fan of the DVD series, Band of Brothers, or military history in general you will enjoy this book. The author is clearly not a writer but he tells it as it was and speaks from the heart on death, destruction and war. Major Dick Winters is loved by all the members of Easy Company and it's clear from this book why. He was a leader and...
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by P. Bucknall


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 25 Aug 2006
By 
E. Hughes (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read Band of Brothers, and watched the DVD (on numerous occasions). Reading this book continued my interest! It comes across loud and clear that although proud of his achievements during the war, he is very humble, and was just doing what he expected everyone else to be doing.

His views on leadership are very interesting, and anyone who looks after anyone, whether in business, sport or military should read it. Lead from the front and set the standards you expect, both at work, and in your personal time.

He is a quiet, personal and religious man, who has reflected very well on his past.

Good read, totally recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A leader of the common man, in his own words, 28 Aug 2007
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
You may recall the book by Stephen Ambrose, BAND OF BROTHERS, a unit history of E Company, 2nd Battalion, 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment from its inception in July 1942 to occupation duty in Austria after the Nazi surrender. Much of the story focused on Richard "Dick" Winters, who rose from Easy Company's 2nd Platoon leader to 2nd Battalion commander over the course of the war. Winter's character was played by Damian Lewis in the BAND OF BROTHERS TV miniseries produced by Tom Hanks and Steven Spielberg for HBO, arguably the best small screen miniseries ever created.

BEYOND BAND OF BROTHERS (BBB) is the war memoirs of Dick Winters, written with a certain Colonel Cole Kingseed, the nature of whose contribution to the whole goes unexplained in the narrative. But, no matter, really.

BBB essentially follows, and ostensibly embellishes with insider knowledge, the history of Easy Company as outlined in the original book: training at Toccoa, GA and in southern England, the D-Day parachute drop into France, the slog through Holland, the Battle of the Bulge, the discovery of the Buchloe concentration camp, the capture of Berchtesgaden, and the post-surrender occupation duty in Kaprun, Austria.

Even with Kingseed's help, Winters is no Stephen Ambrose. His narrative, aided by a reasonably illustrative photographic section, is business-like and competent but not inspired. A glaring omission is the lack of battlefield maps, which would have been especially helpful for the D-Day, Holland, and Bastogne campaigns. And Winter's makes repeated reference to a mysterious "friend" back in the States, DeEtta Almon, with whom he carries on a sporadic and sometimes awkward correspondence. Is this the "Ethel" he married after returning home? Did I miss something?

BBB is obviously the author's farewell tribute to his comrades-in-arms. As such, he can be forgiven the last couple of chapters which drip with nostalgia. If not now, when? And Winters and his men certainly deserve the written memory.

I served in the Navy for nearly eleven years. I can recall only one superior whom I would've followed to hell and back. (Mike P. at Florida's Blood Center, are you taking note?) Such a leader is rare in military and civilian life. Dick Winters comes across as such. Because of that, I'm awarding BEYOND BAND OF BROTHERS 4 stars and a salute to its author. Honor is due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 30 Aug 2009
By 
P. Bucknall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book and if you are a fan of the DVD series, Band of Brothers, or military history in general you will enjoy this book. The author is clearly not a writer but he tells it as it was and speaks from the heart on death, destruction and war. Major Dick Winters is loved by all the members of Easy Company and it's clear from this book why. He was a leader and led from the front. Of particular interest is Winters thoughts on leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book....., 8 July 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you liked the Band Of Brothers TV series and want to know more about the influencial officer Richard "Dick" Winters, then this book will be of great interest to you.

I should say that the book refers to a lot of military references and phrases and if you are unfamiliar with some of the technical aspects of warfare etc, then you might find the book hard going....in that respect you might be better reading Stephen E. Ambrose's "Band Of Brothers" book first.

As a reader you are taken through the life of Winters in the army, from training as an officer and then paratrooper training through his experiences in England, D-Day and through to the end of the war and being part of the army of occupation. Along the way the reader is given a good idea of what was going through Winters' mind in various situations and what it actually took to be a good leader in stressful circumstances, and he talks about his ideas on leadership and how he thought he shaped up to his own high standards.

At times the book becomes a little repetitive and is not always fluent, which is more down to the editing and structure given by the overwriter..and for that this book doesn't get 5 stars; you're left feeling it could have been presented much better. What is very clear once you finish reading this book though, is what a truly amazing man Richard Winters was, and given an insight on how a slightly shy and unassuming ordinary guy could take on the mantle he did with such dignity and authority, in turn earning the respect of every soldier that came into contact with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond a band of brothers - Major Dick Winters, 30 Mar 2009
is an excellent read, Was glued to it, Couldn't put it down, The word hero is much overused nowadays, This man is a real hero ,, although he now avoids the 'limelight' He is - in my opinion a living legend and deserves a Congretional Medal of honour. There were (of course) other men & women that contributed to the War effort.. A great number losing their lives .. but those that survived need HUGE recognition. This book details just some of the real stories that we wouldn't normally get to know about...

Fantastic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Band of Brothers, 4 Mar 2009
By 
C. Taylor "GT" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book gives an insight into the relentless rigours of the training
the " rookies " underwent. It also brings home the utter futility of
war. It was an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but Ambrose got there first, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Big Doug (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Dick Winters tells the story of Easy Company his way. Much has, however, been already told by Stephen Ambrose in his "Band of Brothers". The book adds little to that story other than Winters giving his own account of the pressures of leadership, a little on his formative years, a few more photographs, and an update on more members of the company who have sadly passed on in the past three or four years. The book is slightly let down by what appears to be sloppy editing which give rise to a few inconsistencies. However, nothing can prevent you from having great admiration for Winters and his comrades. There must be many more stories like this waiting to be told by many other wartime servicemen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Man!, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Beyond Band of Brothers: The War Memoirs of Major Dick Winters (Kindle Edition)
I previously read Ambrose's original book after I had watched the box set for the second time. I visited the Normandy area last year with a group of friends from my church. We visited Brecourt Manor and saw the statue of Major Winters which again re-kindled my interest in the whole B.O.B. story. I stumbled across Major Winters' book whilst surfing for my next read on the Kindle. The book is a fantastic auto biography of the Easy company story. Major winters was a man of his time, a leader of extra-ordinary courage and skill; yet with a humility and God fearing respect that makes his whole personality more appealing and endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ, 29 Mar 2009
By 
L. McGuire - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anybody who's read Band of Brothers or watched the mini series, you will recognise many of the people and incidents mentioned in this book. It gives a real insight into the thoughts and feelings of a proven and successful leader. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Band of Brothers, 27 Dec 2013
By 
d j pullin (epsom, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who has seen the miniseries needs to read this. Dick Winters writes well and it is interesting to see the man behind the Major. To be reminded by him of the debt we owe in the free world to him and his comrades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews