Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not humor but a manual for survival
Ever since first seeing the TV series in the early 1980's, and having bought the two books as soon as they were published, Yes Minister has become my favourite management textbook on the political games played in large organisations.
It's worth noting that these books and videos have been around for 20 years and have not dated at all.
A "must read" for...
Published on 6 Oct. 2000 by The curious musician

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection
Superb collection of Yes Minister for the Kindle (I wish they would release Yes Prime Minister on Kindle at the time of writing it isn't available and if you want to carry on the series you don't have a Kindle option at the moment).

The one thing letting it down is the size/quality of the printed reproductions of letters/memos throughout the book, they are in...
Published on 1 Jan. 2013 by Mr. Neal D. Plews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Never mind 5 stars - should be 10!, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Complete Yes Minister (Kindle Edition)
5 stars just aren't enough for this brilliant, and brilliantly funny, duo of books. They are probably the two funniest books ever written, apart from Wodehouse's Blandings Castle books. The absurdities of government are shown in all their (lack of) glory here, and while readers will laugh out loud - frequently - at Sir Humphrey's thinking, while admiring his jargonese, they should know that it is all so, so true, because that is exactly how the civil service is. Those who loved the TV series will be amazed to find that the books are even better - much better - and given how brilliant those programmes were, that is the highest praise I can give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing!, 4 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Fantastic book! Very entertaining, stands on its own as a book without the TV series. Well written, with snippets from "files" and BBC new "scripts" chucked in here and there for good measure. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply Sublime., 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yes Minister (Kindle Edition)
The inner machinations of government laid bare in informed and well researched prose. Like many books of his ilk, the truth is stranger than fiction. Anyone, for example, who has worked at a holiday camp will know how near the truth Hi de Hii is. I suspect that safest place to hide government secrets about the way things really work is out in the open in a book such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the book., 1 Jun. 2013
By 
R. F. Day "Rondayvous" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have enjoyed the television programs as I have then buy the book and read at leisure. Those wonderful speeches that have you "rolling in the aisles" are so much better read. Only then can you completely enjoy and savour the very clever and witty remarks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, having adored the series on TV, ..., 1 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Complete Yes Minister (Kindle Edition)
Timeless classic, having adored the series on TV, thought I would read and I was taken back in time to how civil servants run the country and I doubt it has changed, 5* without a hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes prime mimister, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it. Bought back lots of memories and would recommend to any one who wants to understand how our members of Parliment really run (or dont run) our country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yes Minister (Kindle Edition)
Superb use of language and how politicians are all malleable and useless in their roles as our leaders. Wonderfully truthful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never grows old. The same issues are still being ..., 9 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never grows old. The same issues are still being discussed today - not sure how depressing that should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a god entertaining read, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yes Minister (Kindle Edition)
The book is as entertaining as the TV series, and begs the question as to how true to reality is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 April 2015
By 
rod instrall (Chesham, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Yes Minister (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant. I am now impatiently waiting for the Kindle version of Yes Prime Minister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Yes Minister
The Complete Yes Minister by Nigel Hawthorne
£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews