Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulling out of afghanistan and selling off all the kit cheap!
Has anyone told amazon I'm not a charity case. At £20 they may aswell be dropping it into a hat as a lay there on the street with a small dog. Airfix are charging £50 and you have to pay £20 on amazon for just the lynx alone. I often find that when you get group sets like this with the paint and such the overall quality drops. i originally wanted just the people and maybe...
Published 4 months ago by Stephen Baker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION!
No doubt that this is good value. I bought two. But for both of mine, the Landrover sprue is for a different model compared to the instructions. Probably why it was cheap. The sprue was for the Snatch Landrover, the instructions for the WMIK and there is quite a difference between the two. You'll need to build carefully and do some homwork.
Published 4 months ago by dubdee1000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulling out of afghanistan and selling off all the kit cheap!, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Stephen Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Has anyone told amazon I'm not a charity case. At £20 they may aswell be dropping it into a hat as a lay there on the street with a small dog. Airfix are charging £50 and you have to pay £20 on amazon for just the lynx alone. I often find that when you get group sets like this with the paint and such the overall quality drops. i originally wanted just the people and maybe a jeep but when i saw the £20 knockdown i bought the whole set. the figures are multipart. That just means attaching the gun on but its better than a blob with a face drawn on. the figure are all different and go very well the land rover. I might incorporate them into a diorama of some kind but for now they look fine. the helicopter is magnificent with options for swept back rotors or in flight.i found myself with extra pieces afterwards that hadn't even been mentioned in the instructions but i used these to ludicrously pimp out the land rover. overall the kit is greta and you actually get enough paint to do the set. great as a gift as is very easy. the lynx is sometimes fiddly but overall its a great kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have been a mistake!!!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
A great set and well worth the price at the knockdown £20 I bought it for. The Lynx is splendidly detailed and the Landrover is not far behind. The figures are also well detailed. Well done Airfix and well done Amazon for listing a seller who was virtually giving it away!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great package, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
So much in the pack. The lynx is superb. Only annoyance is there is only one scheme for the helicopter. The figures are all great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airfix model plane, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
My 12 year old son has enjoyed building and painting this model. In comparison to our local model shop the price was cheaper and all the necessary glue and paints were included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Great airfix - 11yr old nephew loves it. Great purchase which needs patience and childre who like attention to detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for the price (+£25 below RRP), but be prepared to buy extras., 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
This item is what you'd expect from Airfix, mouldings on the whole were good, with little flash, blurring or miscasting, (which you'd expect from a relatively new mould to the Airfix range).

This set is aimed at the more experienced modeller and presents a nice level of challenges during construction. As this was intended for a diorama to be placed in the mess room at work I also purchased the vehicle crew set and photetched parts, (Specifically intended to accompany the Op Herrick Range), which I can highly recommend if your looking for the next level of detail in this kit.

If your buying this kit because it comes with the paint, glue & brushes then prepare to be disappointed.

The amount of paint provided is nowhere near enough to fully paint all the parts properly (unless you want a patchy finished exterior or unpainted interiors which would be seen through the windows and doors etc!). I am used to this from Airfix and had bought the required paints beforehand (Revell paints, at a very good price here on Amazon), so was not an issue here, but be aware if your buying this with the expectation of not being required to purchase anything else to finish the kit. The amount of glue supplied is ample and the two Brushes supplied are good quality Humbrol brushes to no need to buy extras there.

The big disappointment here is that the Lynx comes with no pilots or aircrew, as this particular lynx was going to be placed flaring to land in my particular diorama a pilot-less, crew-less helicopter would have spoilt the final end results of the diorama, particularly after going to all the trouble of buying the vehicle crew kit for the vehicles, (I say vehicles as this was not my only Op Herrick purchase for the diorama I was building, you only get one WMIK landrover in this kit). Fortunately a number of 1/48 pilot and ground crew /air crew sets are available from Hasegawa, (also here on Amazon), so one was quickly ordered and with some minor mods the Lynx became fully crewed with pilots and door gunners as you'd expect to see on operations.

Everything aside the kit itself is very good, and at its current price (sub £25) very good value, the kit arrived within the specified time frame and was adequately packaged. In the scheme of things the paints, glue and brushes are an added extra (as a sales pitch most likely), so if your buying this kit below the RRP of £50+ don't be upset if your buying more paints, it certainly contains enough to paint all the figures and some parts of the Lynx & WIMIK (and you won't need extra brushes or glue). The paints are also Acrylics so no thinners etc needed for brush cleaning etc (as they're water based paints).

If your intending the kit for static display, a bit of fun, or you just aren't as picky about details as me, then no pilots or drivers etc will not be an issue, so don't let that detract from the kit itself as this is more a consideration for diorama modellers such as myself. And if you are, as you can see from my comments above, there are many extras and add ons you can buy to supplement this kit if you so wish.

Would recommend this kit to the more experienced modeller but as the headline says be prepared to buy extras to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION!, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
No doubt that this is good value. I bought two. But for both of mine, the Landrover sprue is for a different model compared to the instructions. Probably why it was cheap. The sprue was for the Snatch Landrover, the instructions for the WMIK and there is quite a difference between the two. You'll need to build carefully and do some homwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Cannot go wrong with this set, great price. But one let down, the silly little paint pots WHY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good purchase, 22 April 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Very good purchase. Good price and was delivered on time.

Purchased this item for my Air Cadets to build, 13yrs old plus. A little bit challenging for them. Would not recommend for under 13 year age group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50123 Operation Herrick British Forces - Patrol and Support Group 1:48 Scale Diorama Gift Set (Toy)
Couldn't beat it for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews