Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT A SINKING SHIP
The Airfix sink the Bismark waterline model kit is an extraordinary build also the price for the product is extremeley cheap for six ships however nothings perfect some of the the guns wouldn't fit in the holes so I had to get my pen nife to make tehm more circular but that was not a problem to me.
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Amigo

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane
I remembered these kits from the 1970s, and trying to eke out my pocket money to buy them one at a time. I bought the set for nostalgia's sake, and spent a few happy hours building the kits. Given the age of the moulds and the technology of the time, the kits are not quite up to current standards. Nevertheless, all of them are fair to good, but it takes a fair bit of work...
Published on 7 May 2012 by will1957


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT A SINKING SHIP, 30 Aug 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
The Airfix sink the Bismark waterline model kit is an extraordinary build also the price for the product is extremeley cheap for six ships however nothings perfect some of the the guns wouldn't fit in the holes so I had to get my pen nife to make tehm more circular but that was not a problem to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past!, 6 Aug 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
Having had these kits 'first time around' in the 1970s, I was delighted to see them re-issued. Even more so with the price which represents excellent value. They may need a bit of work to assemble but it's effort well spent. As an added bonus the set offers many conversion possibilities - for example Hood can be hacked about to become Glorious of Repulse and Suffolk to other 'County' class ships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane, 7 May 2012
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
I remembered these kits from the 1970s, and trying to eke out my pocket money to buy them one at a time. I bought the set for nostalgia's sake, and spent a few happy hours building the kits. Given the age of the moulds and the technology of the time, the kits are not quite up to current standards. Nevertheless, all of them are fair to good, but it takes a fair bit of work to assemble Hood. In my set, the main hull was badly warped and took some time to straighten to an acceptable shape.

Hence the three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
It was a great buy.
I bought this and it kept me occupied for hours. I had so much fun I'm going to order another one very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Dec 2012
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
Excellent, good value for the money, nicely packed. Very good. Excellent, good value for the money, nicely packed. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warships, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
Please to see these additional models in 1/1200 scale, complement to my collection of world war two ships, would like to see more destroyers and smaller ships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars was a good buy, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
description was accurate but abit smaller than i thought it would be but thats just my fault and everything was there with quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars like you would get with gift sets and starter sets, 22 Nov 2014
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
This is a 5 star set, if you buy it at the correct price. There are several online model stores still selling this set for £20 plus postage, so there is no need to be extorted simply because the line is currently discontinued. I understand that Airfix are in the process of relocating and retooling, so quite a few of their kits have been suspended. Some have already been improved.

Be aware that this set does not come with any paint, like you would get with gift sets and starter sets.

These are all the 1:1200 WW2 ships that Airfix have made, but other manufacturers have made a few more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every 1/1200 Ship that Airfix ever did..., 16 May 2014
By 
J. Palmer "The Big Bear" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
That's it in a sentence! Every single ship in this scale that Airfix ever made! I think the original moulds may date from the 1970's and that does show in the current version, with a little flash becoming evident on some of the parts. There's not too much, though, and a quick scrape with a modelling knife cleans it all up. The detail here isn't quite as good as with some far more expensive models, but at the price is more than adequate and allows rivet counters room to add their own "thing" to each model. There's a very good painting guide included, but you will need to buy your own paints and glue. Overall, fun to build and even on a basic level these look great on display. Don't expect them to be huge, though, because in this scale the largest vessel is only about 7 inches, or 18 Cm long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50120 Sink the Bismarck! 1:1200 Scale Waterline Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
An Airfix classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews