Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eddie Cochran Memorial Album: Eddie Cochran - Closer to Heaven than he realised
Being a teen idol rockabilly artist in the late fifties seems to have been a dangerous profession, as many of the best known names died young (Buddy Holly, Gene Vincent and of course Cochran). Luckily they all left plenty of recorded material behind them.

Cochran's work was pretty classic, and many of his songs have really stood the test of time. Summertime...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by Victor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cherished memories
Always wanted this CD , now I have it although it doesn't have the original iconic sleeve cover on my copy , so feel cheated
Published 19 months ago by Malcolm Holley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eddie Cochran Memorial Album: Eddie Cochran - Closer to Heaven than he realised, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Being a teen idol rockabilly artist in the late fifties seems to have been a dangerous profession, as many of the best known names died young (Buddy Holly, Gene Vincent and of course Cochran). Luckily they all left plenty of recorded material behind them.

Cochran's work was pretty classic, and many of his songs have really stood the test of time. Summertime Blues, which struck such a chord with the angst of the teenage market of the late fifties, has dated a little, but tracks such as `Three Steps to Heaven', `C'mmon Everybody' and `20 flight rock' still work well today, 50 years after they were recorded.

Cochran's music is deceptive, it sounds simple to today's ears, but was groundbreaking at the time. As well as developing the relatively new rockabilly and rock'n'roll styles, he was an innovator in recording technique, pioneering the art of multilayered tracks and studio tricks that would so influence people like the Beatles. The genius of it is that you don't notice the use of fancy technique, it all sounds perfectly natural. The end result is track after track of truly classic rock'n'roll, an essential addition to any music collection.

This collection was originally a collection of 12 tracks released as '12 of his biggest hits' just before Cochran's death. Following his demise it was repackaged and rereleased as `The Memorial Album'. As such it contains his smash hit singles of the time and is an interesting single disc collection of his best work. However, a single disc cannot do the man justice, and I would recommend The Best Of Eddie Cochran or The Eddie Cochran Story as more comprehensive and better value compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cherished memories, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always wanted this CD , now I have it although it doesn't have the original iconic sleeve cover on my copy , so feel cheated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SOUNDS FROM THE PAST, 6 Dec 2012
By 
B. R. Davies "Bob" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I REMEMBER PLAYING THIS RECORDING IN THE SIXTY'S GREAT SOUNDS BRINGS BACK MEMORY'S OF MY YOUNGER DAY GOOD QUALITY SOUND ON THIS DISC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie's still there!, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An old LP from the past and [still] available on digital: he still sounds the same. It takes you back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its Eddie at his best, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My brother had this in vinyl (LP) and this is an exact copy. Its pure Eddie and its proof of just how great the music was in that era, Man we were so lucky to be young then listening to this classic stuff. Miss you Eddie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Would have been 5 stars but......, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. D. Long (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have had a copy of this album in every format since it was first released and this was to replace my mislaid CD copy so I new what to expect. I was very pleased to receive it so quickly and at a very reasonable price but was very disappointed to find that the album artwork had been substituted for an ordinary photograph with the opposite profile (not as illustrated). This is an iconic album cover and it is almost sacrilege to change it for this inferior shot. Sorry if I'm being picky but Eddie deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... before I was born but his music is still cool today. Funnily enough in my era it was ..., 17 Aug 2014
By 
J. Seye (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He died before I was born but his music is still cool today. Funnily enough in my era it was Sid Vicious singing 'something else' and 'C'mon everybody'!! Glad I discovered the originals. Every track on this album is a gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gift so don't know how it will be received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All his best songs in one CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skip69, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection of nostalagia with Eddy at his best Quick delivery from providers would recommend this title for those who like rock and roll era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews