Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Reading
L.L.P. has done it again. Brill plot another book you cannot put down 'till the macarbe ending Yes! Anna Travis is back doing the solving under the watchful eye of J.Langdon with the welcome addition of two new characters to her team a gay and homophobic cop plus the regulars are back once more.Will make good viewing when it goes to the small screen.
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by Berthablue

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blood line??
Normally I enthuse over Lynda La Plante novels however this one was like "The Curates Egg" it stared as a simple "mispers" investigation about a missing person, Alan Rawlins ,who appeares to be the archetypal boring person ,leading a very ordinary life as a mechanic living in a flat with his fiancee. His father reports him missing because he cannot understand why his...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blood line??, 15 Jun 2012
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood Line (Paperback)
Normally I enthuse over Lynda La Plante novels however this one was like "The Curates Egg" it stared as a simple "mispers" investigation about a missing person, Alan Rawlins ,who appeares to be the archetypal boring person ,leading a very ordinary life as a mechanic living in a flat with his fiancee. His father reports him missing because he cannot understand why his calls and visits have stopped so abruptly. His fiancee ,Tina, (a hairdresser) is a brash coarse sort of person quite unlike the sort that Alan would be involved with. But Alan is not what he appears to be and is leading a double life involving shady dealings with even shadier people. The novel gets more interesting towards the end but I was left a little disappointed with the ending. Not her best work I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Reading, 27 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodline (Hardcover)
L.L.P. has done it again. Brill plot another book you cannot put down 'till the macarbe ending Yes! Anna Travis is back doing the solving under the watchful eye of J.Langdon with the welcome addition of two new characters to her team a gay and homophobic cop plus the regulars are back once more.Will make good viewing when it goes to the small screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough read, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Line (Anna Travis series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I've previously read a number of books by this author and usually enjoyed them, so pre-ordered this latest book.

A very brief basis to the story:
Ed Rawlings reported his son Alan as a missing person. Alan appears to have been a very decent, hard-working, studious man. Kind and thoughtful but shy; he kept himself to himself and didn't drink or use drugs.
Detective Chief Inspector Anna Travis heads up investigating his apparent disappearance - under the watchful eye of Detective Chief Superintendent Langton, who treats Anna as his protégée.
The investigation starts in Hounslow but extends to the surfing beaches of Newquay and other areas in Cornwall.

It took me a long time to get drawn into this story as I found it rather plodded along and was fairly long winded and drawn out. It didn't strike me as following the author's usual captive style of storytelling. However, if you stick with it until around 80% of the way through, it picks up and feels more like the author's previous works.

This is the seventh in the series featuring Anna Travis. Earlier books in order are:
Above Suspicion (2004)
The Red Dahlia (2006)
Clean Cut (2007)
Deadly Intent (2008)
Silent Scream (2009)
Blind Fury (2010)

Overall a decent enough read - I was going to allocate three stars but changed my mind and upped it to four as it did appeal far more in the closing chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood line, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Line (Anna Travis series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent couldn't put it down Lynda never disappoints i have read cold heart cold shoulder cold blood these are all connected one character a great read make sure you buy all at the time in order you have to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodline, 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodline (Hardcover)
Saw this book on Amazon website, ordered it and was delighted with the speedy delivery. This is an excellent book - could not put it down, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and a little disappointing., 6 July 2011
By 
Stanwegian (Tyneside, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodline (Hardcover)
I have to confess that this was the first novel I have read from this author, though I have watched and generally enjoyed her TV crime series 'Trial and Retribution' and - especially - 'Prime Suspect'.

The lead character is a female DCI whose boyfriend was a murder victim shortly before the timeframe of the novel opens. She has refused compassionate leave. New to her rank, her DCS (a former lover, who was responsible for her promotion) is trying to ease her into her new responsibilities gently, starting with a straightforward, open-and-shut case, followed by the case which is the core subject of the novel - a missing person case which looks as though it may turn out to be rather nasty - and in due course it does exactly that. In these circumstances I'd expect to feel at least some degree of empathy with the character, but that didn't happen. I certainly don't see myself as misogynistic, or even sexist, but I found myself disliking her.

A central element of the plot is the emerging Jekyll-and-Hyde personality of the 'missing person' but - for me, at least - the initial character portrayal is so sympathetic that the emerging depravity fails to convince. It's very hard to believe that someone so universally well-liked for so long could turn into a seriously nasty Mr. Hyde unless he was in the grip of a severe personality disorder, and that's never even hinted at.

Overall, though, after a slowish start the plot chugs along quite acceptably, and some chapters could fairly be described as page-turners. Unfortunately, there's no grand finale; the narrtative just seems to wind down to a conclusion as the enquiry progresses. That no doubt happens often enough in the real world, but it's not what we expect in a crime novel!

The surprise referred to in the heading is the relatively poor quality of the writing. The sentences are very short, and there's little attempt to evoke atmosphere, which seems odd from an accomplished writer of screenplays. I'm no fan of the see-how-many-big-words-I-know school of writing, but this novel is at the other end of the scale, using only a fairly limited vocabulary.

In summary, it's an undemanding and at times quite enjoyable read, but it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood line, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Line (Anna Travis series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic. Can't wait to read the next.. lynda la plante never lets me down....hooked from the 1st page.
Well written and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another superb story, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Line (Anna Travis series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
What a great read! I couldn't put it down, it was very entertaining from start to finish. I can sometimes see where the story is going but not in this book. Well done yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Line, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Line (Anna Travis series Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Another Lynda La Plante mystery witht he same people as detevtives. we get to see how the two main people are getting along after their romance died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no body but a great story, 1 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Bloodline (Hardcover)
Anna Travis is approached by a man whose son has gone missing. Eventually DCS Langton tells her to start investigating it. When Anna questions the man's girlfriend she admits he has gone missing but says she thinks he has run off with another woman. Anna finds herself in a strange situation trying to work out what has happened. A pool of blood is discovered under the bed but there are very few personal belongings at the flat so obtaining DNA samples to compare to the blood is not possible. All the reports received about Alan Rawlins say that he is a hard working, polite, quiet man and there appears to be no reason for him to have disappeared or been killed. Travis finds herself getting very frustrated by the amount of interference by Langton and it is unclear for a while whether their shared past is going to jeopardise the case.

I really enjoyed this book. I found it really easy to read and was realy interested to find out what did happen to Alan Rawlins. There weren't too many characters in the book so it was easy to "get to know them". In this case Anna worsk with a new team of detectives so will be interesting to see if this team continues next time or whether Mike Lewis et al return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Line (Anna Travis series Book 7)
£3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews