Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Licence to Thrill
This effort from Ian Fleming's successor as the `official' James Bond novelist is arguably his best - the novel is a rollercoaster ride that stays true to Fleming's creation whilst having a fresh feel and original flavour that lifts it above many of Gardner's other 007 stories.

The best scene sees our intrepid hero in a nail-biting car race with the hideously...
Published on 23 Aug 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing & Caution Spoilers Below!
The appearance of Felix Leiter’s daughter, Cedar, in this book jarred with me and I kept wondering ‘just how old is Bond exactly?’ a question all fans really should avoid like a shark infested swimming pool. The return of a Blofeld character referred to always as ‘Blofeld’ and not ‘he’ or ‘she’ made the supposed twist...
Published 1 day ago by M. O. HAYNES


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Licence to Thrill, 23 Aug 2009
This effort from Ian Fleming's successor as the `official' James Bond novelist is arguably his best - the novel is a rollercoaster ride that stays true to Fleming's creation whilst having a fresh feel and original flavour that lifts it above many of Gardner's other 007 stories.

The best scene sees our intrepid hero in a nail-biting car race with the hideously disfigured `death's head' Walter Luxor - who may or may not be the successor to Ernst Stavro Blofeld as the head of SPECTRE, who are once again at work, and involved in hijacking aeroplanes. Bond is sent to investigate the sinister Count Bismaquer in Texas, and along with the daughter of his old CIA buddy Felix Leiter, Cedar Leiter, now attached to the agency herself, he poses as an art specialist in order to uncover SPECTRE's evil machinations and continue his personal vendetta against the family of the man who killed his wife.

All the old favourites appear throughout the story - even Felix himself puts in an appearance at the end, and this is ultimately an accomplished and thoroughly entertaining slice of James Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardners best novel!!!!, 25 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This book is filled with action, romance and suspence. I couldn't put it down. The action sequences were very well done and so was the characterization of Bond himself!!!!!! This is a classic James Bond novel it takes you from England to Amirillo, Texas, and to the bayous of Louisianna. Blofeld is back and out for blood... James Bond's blood!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium Bond, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: For Special Services (Hardcover)
Gardner's 2nd Bond book was the first of his that I read and I've always been tempted to suggest that others do the same. His 1st Licence Renewed was a solid start but it's here that he really gets going. In fact, he even seems to overtly tackle some criticism of that book whilst raising his game.

Score: 9/10. The strong plot sees Bond on the trail of a reborn SPECTRE, this time intent on destroying 007 and hijacking weapons satelites. The latter gambit would find its way into the films- as would the hotel lift business, where there's admittedly a lull for a while (Bond in disguise never works). Moreover, Gardner introduces narrative devices of his own: taking two Fleming bad guy moulds (rich megalomaniac and disfigured psycho) then making us guess at the new Blofeld's identity. The uncertainty of the Colorado battle is truly tense.

Straight away the book begins with an action packed, filmic, "pre-credits" sequence: in comparison to the previous book's low key start, here we find a well drawn 007 on a mission, tense amid the hijacking of a luxury airliner. Plus the excellent Saab 900 remains, but the dull Browning pistol is binned in favour of a Heckler & Koch VP70 and a Sykes-Fairbairn dagger (toys for the boys having always been part of the fictional Bond's world). Bond and Q'ute are now friends with benefits; there's a brief update/revery of past Bond girls; his cigarettes are now made by Simmons and it's great to see 007 enjoying a vodka martini again, too!

Above all, though, it's the energy and Fleming-y touches that shine through: the return of SPECTRE; exotic deaths; the Grand Prix set piece; the hot international settings that always appear to suit 007 better than UK bound adventures; the nods to both Felix Leiter, and (the real life!) Fleming's hand in creating the CIA. The strong female characters of Nena and Cedar have lives of their own, both driving the story along. Though making Cedar Felix's daughter is a little squirm inducing at first, having her pursue Bond rather than vice versa is a fun touch. All in all, one of Gardner's best and a great addition to the Bond canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bond, 23 April 2012
By 
Mr. A. Devitt "AFD" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given a mix of 20 Bond books to review, made up of part Fleming and part Gardner it is quite likely that without author credits you would pick John Gardner as the originator of the series and not Fleming. That is how good a writer Mr Gardner was. Undoubtedly the king of the Bond revivalists and certainly never bettered. More detailed in his descriptive writing the Gardner series require more of the reader. More attention, more retention and, to be honest, a larger vocabulary. I suppose the skill of Fleming was to be so engaging and descriptive in so few words, but Bond really does benefit from Gardner's style. The more recent movies do too.

The first in the series Licensed Renewed is a great romp through the Scottish Highlands and over into France in a story not unlike Goldfinger. This is different and sees the return of the Blofeld Dynasty. Need I say more. The ultimate Bond baddie was always Blofeld. I am rather hoping that they will find a way of 'unkilling him off' for future Bond features with Daniel Craig !!!! For the moment this dynastic revival will have to do. Another great Gardner Bond book. You will enjoy it.

It's a joy to see the re-issue of these books as a newly bound series with new artwork. I shall enjoy collecting them a placing them alongside those wonderful Fleming originals, where the truly deserve a place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing & Caution Spoilers Below!, 23 July 2014
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The appearance of Felix Leiter’s daughter, Cedar, in this book jarred with me and I kept wondering ‘just how old is Bond exactly?’ a question all fans really should avoid like a shark infested swimming pool. The return of a Blofeld character referred to always as ‘Blofeld’ and not ‘he’ or ‘she’ made the supposed twist at the end about as surprising as the fact that Bond once again taps the wife of the supposed bag guy. There really are no prizes for guessing who the new Blofeld is, and there really should have been more an effort at a mystery.

The whole book seems to follow a pattern established in the original books and Broccoli’s films and already plundered to great effect in "Licence Renewed" and it felt really unoriginal this time around.

On the plus side Gardner does well on the trapeze balancing his characters’ hidden agendas and play-acting despite the quickly predicted twist and lack-lustre red-herrings, and his writing style is once again satisfying Flemingesque.

Bond once more unrealistically has every female he wafts his pheromones in a swoon and falling into his arms. He is certainly old enough to be Cedar’s father (if not grandfather) and reality seemed to be stretched by this objectification of women beyond breaking point. Some of the ‘romantic’ moments verged on farce.

Still, for all that, it was another entertaining page-turner, and not the sort of book to over-analyse. If you liked the SPECTRE based films and the idea of doped ice-cream, killer ants, giant man-eating swamp snakes and killer satellites, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, Mr Bond... I've been expecting you!, 18 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: For Special Services (Hardcover)
I agree with other reviewers that this is (probably) Gardner's finest Bond novel. I use the qualifier 'probably' because I am currently re-reading the Gardner novels, having originally read them in the early 90's (I suppose, in a way, to fill the 'gap years' of the cinema Bond), and, as I read the others, I might change my mind!

This book impressed me more on this second reading than on the first. The writing, the plot and the characters are all rather Fleming-esque. I can't think of a better compliment than to compare Gardner's writing here to that of Bond's creator; even Sebastian Faulks, writing AS Ian Fleming (Devil May Care (James Bond)) never got this close, in my opinion.

For example, I sometimes find that scenes involving car chases or punch-ups, while exciting in film or on TV, are tiresome to read in books. Here, Gardner - like Fleming before him - describes such action in a vivid and exciting manner.

It is also important to note that this book dates from the last years of the under-rated Roger Moore era (one year before Octopussy [DVD]) and therefore predates Sat Nav, mobile phones and PC's. In that respect, there is a pleasant aura of nostalgia about the book, enhanced by the current reprint's use of the original cover artwork.

In short, this is good, solid, exciting escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific new edition of John Gardner's second Bond novel, 23 Aug 2011
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Special Services (Hardcover)
John Gardner's second James Bond book is a much stronger novel. Whereas Licence Renewed was slow to start but then rocketed towards the climax this book gets right into it from the off with Bond foiling a hijack of a plane and the dying words of one terrorist "SPECTRE" sets up the story with Bond coming up against the revitalised "Special Executive for Counterintelligence, Terrorism, Revenge and Extortion" originally founded by his nemesis Ernst Stavro Blofeld, the man who murdered Bond's wife Tracy, the man who Bond brutally strangled to death in Japan many years ago. With a deep desire to destroy anything and everything to do with SPECTRE Bond is aided and abetted by Cedar Leiter, his old friend Felix's headstrong daughter as he tracks down what the new SPECTRE are up to and who the new 'Blofeld' is. A terrifically paced thriller that doesn't give you a chance to breathe as it races from one great Bond moment to the next. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd chronologically - 1st in rank, 15 Mar 2003
This review is from: For Special Services (Hardcover)
When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be a tough read. The book itself is 6 years older then myself and I don't usually read books from that time span. However, I picked it up and read it, and couldn't put it down.
Firstly the plot is twisting and will keep you thinking, you can just imagine the majority of it, although most of it is probably made up (I should hope so, otherwise this author has access to some classified information!). The characters are yet another set of equals to Bond physically, however not mentally. Hense 007 will find his way out of such a situation.
The main villian is not revealed till the last couple of chapters and you'll be surprised really. Gardner puts across a different message concerning the "baddie", since a few people fit the bill. The setting in which Bond hunts for Blofeld is vast and, I thought, quite funny. A large area in Texas has been bought and has been enclosed to hold a billionaire's dreams. You could easily say it was a state in itself.
Now to our hero's kit. This time 007 has a custom made Saab, which hasn't been designed by Q Branch, Q himself doesn't know hardly anything about the car, and has often been found looking for them in Bond's absence. He carries his typical pistol and has a couple of things supplied by his friend Major Boothroyd. He is accompanied by an old friend daughter, who is instantly a major part in the book, right through till the finish.
On the whole, this is a fantastic book, as I said, I couldn't put it down, even if I was needed elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANDREWS VIEW, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Andrew C. Fraser (KENT ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Special Services (Kindle Edition)
A GOOD STORY THAT I AM SURE MOST PEOPLE WILL ENJOY,I HAVE NO PROBLEM IN RECOMENDING TO ANYONE WHO ENJOYS A GOOD READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle, 7 Mar 2013
By 
Bw Empson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Special Services (Kindle Edition)
Great read. Sent to kindle with no problem. east transaction, and with a registered account, a simple payment. many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Special Services
For Special Services by John Gardner
5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews