Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully evocative...
Set against the back drop of Restoration England , this book brings to life the sights and smells of a teeming city. It describes beautifully the way of life in London in 1665, when the plague was rife and red crosses appeared on doorways with alarming regularity. The descriptions are so evocative you can almost hear the dead carts rumbling through the cobbled streets,...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by jaffareadstoo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good on everyday detail of the period
Very good on background description of the period and of everyday life. I felt it lacked emotional depth and the romance between the two main characters was predictable.
Published 11 months ago by Brian Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully evocative..., 23 Mar 2012
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Set against the back drop of Restoration England , this book brings to life the sights and smells of a teeming city. It describes beautifully the way of life in London in 1665, when the plague was rife and red crosses appeared on doorways with alarming regularity. The descriptions are so evocative you can almost hear the dead carts rumbling through the cobbled streets, and watch with horror as bodies are tumbled into lime filled pits.
Susannah Leyton is the apothecary's daughter who has helped to run her father's apothecary shop since she was a young girl. When her place in her father's affection is taken by a new and avaricious step mother, Susannah must learn to make her own way. A disastrous marriage follows which engulfs Susannah in a whole new range of problems but brings to life a cast of unforgettable characters.
I know you shouldn't judge a book by its cover but this one is glorious - you really feel like you have your nose pressed to the window, and are peering at the array of lotions and potions on offer inside. This rich tapestry is so wonderfully evocative of plague ridden London, you feel as if you walk the same streets and smell the same malodorous smells. I stayed up long and late to finish as I simply couldn't put it down.

I look forward to reading more historical novels from this talented story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plagued with passion, 8 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh lovely - what a satisfying read throughout!

I have spent the last few days living alongside Susannah the apothecary's daughter in plague ridden, pestilent, malodorous 15th century London. despite the foul backdrop I had a wonderful time there.

This is above all a romance but the authors canny research and ability to convey perfectly what it would feel like to witness unspeakable events unfolding, lift it from the mundane to the delightful. As well as the unfolding romance we are introduced to plague and pestilence, the development of medicine, slavery, the fire of London and the inequality of women all very well written and researched and conveyed in a way which isn't "preachy or teachy"

Susannah has had a good upbringing and is happy and settled helping her father run his apothecary shop despite the tragic loss of her mother in recent childbirth which she was witness to. But her life is turned upside down when her father announces his plans to remarry and Susannahs comfortable position is usurped by the calculating new wife. Dogged by misfortune we see Susannah struggle to regain a place in society while all around her London falls to rack and ruin taken over by plague whilst her own life mirrors this collapse and things go from bad to worse for the unfortunate Susannah.

The story is written cleanly and simply, with little of the unneccessary flowery language which often makes restoration period novels lengthy and hard to read, yet the dialogue and narrative flow beautifully and the descriptions are vivid and believable.

Many of the scenes conveyed are truly horrific, the transporting of bodies to the plague pits to name just one yet above the darkness is a story which is a delight to read and a book I wholeheartedly recommend if you like atmospheric historical romances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting social history novel, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much and would recommend it to anybody that likes novels with social history. Kept me reading and interested all the way through.Even included the great fire of London with descriptions of conditions during that time that made me hold my breath with anticipation of what was going to happen next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good on everyday detail of the period, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Very good on background description of the period and of everyday life. I felt it lacked emotional depth and the romance between the two main characters was predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gak! Saccharine and irritating, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really didn't enjoy this book and was glad to finish it. I found the 'heroine' really irritating, she was ridiculously naive, pretty stupid and frankly sappy. Sure i get that women in 17th Century England were not exactly given a great deal of opportunities or credit for their intellect, but this sexist tripe just made me cringe - more reinforcement of dumb, pretty and helpless, just waiting for a man to make it all better - and guess what? That is pretty much the plot covered. The characters were all pretty two dimensional and the only thing i really liked were the historical references and some of the imagery (hence 2 stars and not 1)- but i am sure there are better books out there that give all of this without the sugar-coated irritating and predictable story-telling. Ick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical fiction., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Historically accurate, this book was full of passion, emotions and feelings that could only be born from one who lived during the great plague, during the great Fire of London, and more. And yet the author could not have done so. What an amazing author!. A fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical Novel, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Margaret M. Hall (Powys,Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Set in the time of the Great Plague of 1665, a nicely composed story telling us about the uses of herbs in medicine, with a human story to pad it out. I was just waiting for the Great Fire - hindsight is everything! -and it happened with great descriptive writing.
An author to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
I loved everything about this book! The story is set during the plague, the characters were very interesting and the story had me hooked! In currently reading her next novel- The Painter's Apprentice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Apothecary's Daughter, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Easy read ideal for holiday book, able to put down and pick up again without losing the plot. Has a nice ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read - hooked after the first page, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apothecary's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Amazing read - hooked after the first page a definite page turner.
I cannot wait to read the second book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51150a8)

This product

The Apothecary's Daughter
The Apothecary's Daughter by Charlotte Betts
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews