Customer Reviews
Oil


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introduction for those needing a fast "in" to the industry
Very factual, succinct, and a great introduction to the industry. Recommended for those coming from outside the industry, or for those who are already there but need a broader outlook. If I was a manager I would make my staff read this book.
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by D. Blackman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars o.k.
Covers the history of oil, producers etc but I wouldn't class this as good for a beginners guide - it contains a lot of scientific words relating to geology etc so if you don't know them well it can quickly become dull.
Published 1 month ago by J. Norman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introduction for those needing a fast "in" to the industry, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very factual, succinct, and a great introduction to the industry. Recommended for those coming from outside the industry, or for those who are already there but need a broader outlook. If I was a manager I would make my staff read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice reading, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please read this book if you interested in oil business.Highly recommended...good book . One of the best book to read when going into oil business or studies to improve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction for someone who is not from the industry, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this on my holiday. It is a "beginners guide" but pitched at the right level for someone with little prior knowledge of the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a beginners guide, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Short and good guide to oil (hydrocarbons). Answers the questions; where it is found, how it's extracted, where and how much it's used, some history of oil and lots of nummbers about it(statistics). Book doesn't say lots about politics behind the oil decisions, so i will be loking for aditional book on this subject. All in all good, fact packed beginners guide.
m.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 24 Jan 2013
By 
J. E. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very compact and supplies all the basic information I needed to understand better the risks and rewards of possible oil inudstry investments. As others have commented, text style is sometimes cumbersome, but the subject matter is well put together and also entertains the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 11 Aug 2012
This book gives a good all-round introduction, and are easily read and understood.The author does not make it more complicated than it is, but still covers the essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars o.k., 19 July 2014
By 
J. Norman (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Covers the history of oil, producers etc but I wouldn't class this as good for a beginners guide - it contains a lot of scientific words relating to geology etc so if you don't know them well it can quickly become dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 April 2009
By 
DMJ MIAH (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is an informative guide to the oil industry, providing useful information for the novice to have a better understanding of the world of oil.
An Englishman in Riyadh
Beyond Oil: The View from Hubbert's Peak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Requires an Advanced guide to Grammar!, 11 Oct 2011
This book is packed to the rafters with detail and information. However I would say it almost too detailed! Considering it is a 'beginner's' guide I would expect a comprehensive yet succinct level of information. Instead Smil litters every sentence with trivialities and caveats that interrupt the flow and only add confusion.
Furthermore, Smil's style of writing is by no means easy to digest. The standard of grammar and vocabulary is of a level way above that of the intended demographic. I am an engineer; I am not a poet laureate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well lubricated, 10 Oct 2009
By 
S. Flint (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just read "Oil" by Vaclav Smil and can recommend it. Very factual and very objective. My only criticism was one failure of objectivity (on p 81) when he refers to "pleasant surprise" of discovery of more giant fields than anticipated. To me a potential disaster. We are using oil maybe a million times faster than it was formed or could ever be renewed. Already we are on the brink of disaster, having no means of controlling the carbon dioxide entering the atmospahere. Our only hope is to give up our addiction to oil. I do not welcome discovery of new fields. Think again, Vaclav!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oil
Oil by Vaclav Smil
6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews