Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected
Watched this today, and as others have said - Is this a new Dawn of Enlightement for Pegasus? (Well actually no one said that, but you know what I mean.) This print is perfectly acceptable, much the best colour film I've seen from them. So, picture and sound very good, shame the film is not one of Audie's best, but it's good in a very typical "Indian vs Cavalry" way. I...
Published on 19 July 2011 by A. W. Wilson

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just ordered this dvd,
just ordered this dvd, i had the jeff chandler movie, away all boats last week which is a pegasus release aswell, now that dvd is a clean print so hopefully, fingers crossed, will let you know. dave flattop........... great copy of this movie,, no bad dropouts or jumps, buy it for the audie collection.
Published on 8 July 2011 by D. W. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 19 July 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this today, and as others have said - Is this a new Dawn of Enlightement for Pegasus? (Well actually no one said that, but you know what I mean.) This print is perfectly acceptable, much the best colour film I've seen from them. So, picture and sound very good, shame the film is not one of Audie's best, but it's good in a very typical "Indian vs Cavalry" way. I like it, and it has a good western cast. I have also seen "Away All Boats" and that's good quality too. I am now just waiting fo "Pillars of the sky" - Will it be Scope?? I'll let you know, as indeed, so will (many) others, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No quality worries, 15 July 2011
By 
William Taylor "20CFOX fan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Just to add to the comments of two previous reviewers, I've just had my copy of this DVD and picture and sound quality seem ok, no nasty digital "enhancements"(!) just a good OK print, of the standard Channel 5 regularly broadcast!! For a sixty year old movie it looks pretty good still.

As for the movie, if you enjoy Audie's westerns, (and if you're reading this I'm sure you do!) - there's no reason not to add this one to your collection - get it whilst it's available.

Hope that re-assures everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just ordered this dvd,, 8 July 2011
By 
D. W. Phillips "john.T.chance," (croyden,london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
just ordered this dvd, i had the jeff chandler movie, away all boats last week which is a pegasus release aswell, now that dvd is a clean print so hopefully, fingers crossed, will let you know. dave flattop........... great copy of this movie,, no bad dropouts or jumps, buy it for the audie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fort Union, Territory of New Mexico. January 1861., 11 Sept. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Column South is directed by Frederick de Cordova and written by William Sackheim. It stars Audie Murphy, Joan Evans, Robert Sterling, Dennis Weaver and Ray Collins. Music is scored by Joseph Gershenson and photography by Charles P. Boyle

The Breach Between The North And South Was Rapidly Widening. A Grim Spectre Of Civil War Hovered Over The Land. It Was A Time of Crisis. . .A Time For Choosing Sides.

Story essentially involves Jed Sayre (Murphy), a friend to the local Navajo Indians, relinquishing his command of Fort Union to Captain Lee Whitlock (Sterling), who after arriving with his sister Marcy (Evans), demands changes to how the Fort is run and expects Jed to end his friendship with the Navajo. When a prospector is discovered murdered it is presumed the Navajo are the guilty party, so setting the wheels in motion for Jed to try and quell the impending war with the Indians and thus having to fight his friend Menguito (Weaver) In the mixer is the impending Civil War, with deserters, traitors and political shenanigans at HQ also taking a hand in proceedings. While Jed and Marcy dance around the inevitable with their love/hate relationship.

In spite of dangling some interesting narrative threads, Column South sadly doesn't rise above being a routine Cavalry Vs Indians Western. But it's never dull and Murphy fans get the usual committed performance. What is of most interest here is the location for the shoot, shot in Apple Valley, California, it's an appealing Oater location with its surrounding hills and craggy rocks that are formed down in the valley. To my knowledge, Apple Valley was only used in one other Western film, Richard Carlson's Four Guns to the Border in 1954, which is a shame because as I say, it's both a looker and carries a harsh edge that some of the great Western movie photographers really could have done great work with.

As it is, Column South is better than average, and certainly an easy film to while away the time with. But the running time doesn't allow the interesting factors in the story to get expanded, thus leaving the film with unfulfilled potential. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable movie!, 1 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
'Column South' follows Lt. Jed Sayre (Audie Murphy) in the buildup to the Civil War as he tries to keep the peace between the Navajo and the US Army. Along the way he is hindered by crooked prospectors, a racist commanding officer, and a traitorious general...
I thought this movie was very well done. There is plenty of plot and action, good character development, a realistically intelligent lead character, and a fascinating period of history as a setting. Although it was made early in Audie Murphy's career he acts with an ease that I have no doubt was the envy of his contemporaries, supported by a good crew (he apparently went on to work with many of them in other movies, which I look forward to seeing). A little general knowledge of Civil War history makes Column South mean so much more, but it isn't essential as I watched it with some friends who know almost nothing about history and they still enjoyed it. One final thing that grabbed me-the costumes are brilliant. The uniforms are good and the leading lady's dresses and hairdos are beautifully time-period.
Bottom line-I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good Western, movies based on historical events, Audie Murphy, or all of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable western, good disc, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Audie Murphy stars in a tale of intrigue around the time of the Civil War. I'd never seen Column South before and enjoyed the film a great deal. The print used for the disc is a decent 4:3 with good strong colours. Another good western disc from Pegasus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "If it Moves and Don't Call Your Name, Shoot it", 31 Aug. 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Pegasus may be at the bottom end of the bare bones DVD market, where quality can be an issue on occasions, but this one originally filmed in glorious technicolor just about passes muster in that department. The only extra is a short theatrical trailer. Just where they dredge up some of these old forgotten B westerns is a mystery to me, but I do appreciate these small offerings which give you a chance to watch films that seldom managed to get a UK TV airing. This early Audie Murphy starring vehicle was made way back in Coronation year 1953, when Murphy's acting was still pretty wooden. He did manage to improve as time went by, and for a bona fide war hero he actually made a passable actor in time. This film does not even manage to make it into Phil Hardy's detailed "The Encyclopedia of Western Movies"

The film is set at a cavalry fort in New Mexico circa 1861, although the trailer gives it as 1860. No matter though! Murphy plays Lt Jed Sayre who has to keep the peace between his arrogant indian hating new fort commander and the local Navajo indians. In between he also has to contend with a Confederate conspiracy sub plot and a feisty young woman, who seems to have it in for him. "The course of true love never did run smooth" as the bard himself wisely said! All this gives the excuse for some formulaic western action. One or two suprises are sprung, none more so than the strange site of the Cavalry attacking a fort defended by the Navajo. There are also a couple of good lines. On one occasion a trooper sagely remarks "If it moves and don't call your name, shoot it". There is also some surprising attention to detail where we see the traditional hogan dwellings used by the Navajo. The film has a few western regulars in veteran Bob Steele, a young James Best, and most strangely of all, old McLeod himself Dennis Weaver as the Navajo chief. I do recall him in a later western "Duel at Diablo", where he came to a sticky end. These few highlights aside it is all fairly dull stuff in the main. Frederick de Cordova was an uninspiring director, unless you count "Bedtime For Bonzo" as a classic, who went on to make a decent living out of TV. This film falls emphatically under the routine plodder category, but as it is a western three stars. I have seen a lot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Audies weaker films., 6 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
no problem with the picture quality that has plagued a number of Pegasus western releases in the past .but this isn't one of Audies best offerings it gets a little bit slowed down in politics for me ,however there are some action packed scenes involving the Indians and Fort ,that just about get this film 3 stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Courage of the U.S. Cavalry!....., 5 May 2015
By 
MAC (Consett, Co. Durham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Distributed by Stratx Digital Media. From Universal Pictures comes COLUMN SOUTH 1953, 80 min. 4:3 screen format.starring Audie Murphy, Joan Evans, Robert Sterling, Ray Collins and Dennis Weaver as Navajo Chief Menguito.
Second in charge of a New Mexico post is Lieut. Sayre (Audie Murphy) a childhood friend of Menguito and has maintained peaceful relations.... until now. Duped by warmongering Confederate sympathisers, Lieut. Sayer now finds himself fighting his once close friend......Directed by Frederick de Cordova.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars westerns, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Column South [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this old style western! Typical Audie Murphie fare - loads of action and no real surprises - great rainy Sunday afternoon viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Column South [DVD]
Column South [DVD] by Frederick De Cordova (DVD - 2007)
£7.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews