Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful! Comic Genius!
This is typical Sharpe. That's to say it's absolutely hilarious. I'm a younger reader and I'm not too keen on or interested in politics, but the way he makes it all seem so stupid is great! He has the ability to show that a character thinks his plans are masterful and infallible when everyone else knows the ideas are doomed to failure. The stereotypical characters will...
Published on 19 May 2003 by M Farrar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Had me smiling, not laughing.
A fairly over the top novel and one that has aged poorly, but still had many smiles in its pages. Not as funny as the other Blott book.
Published 12 months ago by Energise Records


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful! Comic Genius!, 19 May 2003
By 
M Farrar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blott On The Landscape (Paperback)
This is typical Sharpe. That's to say it's absolutely hilarious. I'm a younger reader and I'm not too keen on or interested in politics, but the way he makes it all seem so stupid is great! He has the ability to show that a character thinks his plans are masterful and infallible when everyone else knows the ideas are doomed to failure. The stereotypical characters will really get you worked up, whether you love or hate them. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unlikely hero, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape (Paperback)
When you consider who could have been the hero of this tale; a rich and powerful business-minded peer, his rich and in many ways more powerful wife, a government troubleshooter or even several Zebras, Lions and Rhinos, you would be surprised that the hero was in fact a quiet Italian gardener with a love for all things English. This, along with the ability to create rib-tickling chaos like it were going out of fashion, is Sharpe all over and is why any book of his is worth a couple of afternoons any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Tom Sharpe classic - Brilliant!, 7 Dec 1999
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape (Paperback)
I actually saw the televised adaption of the book MANY years before I actually read the book itself, but the book still outshone the TV version no end. Tom Sharpe has to be one of the best comedy writers ever - the proof is in the reading of Blott On The Landscape. Incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Battle of Handyman Hall, 27 July 2014
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blott On The Landscape (Kindle Edition)
First published in 1975 probably most people are aware of this due to the TV series that was made, rather than having read the novel before. Sir Giles Lynchwood would love to get rid of the house he is living in, Handyman Hall; the building is already falling to bits and costs a lot of money to maintain, and also he would rather like to get rid of his wife, Lady Maud, the descendent of the family who owned the Hall. The latter is a big task and if his affair is found out could mean a divorce and his losing all the assets of his wife. The former problem though looks like it can be resolved. Looking for an idea Sir Giles stumbles across a plan to build a motorway straight through the grounds of his home. A nice fat cheque from the Government in compensation and the old hall can be done away with. Of course, perhaps things won’t be so easy and there may be a few problems on the way, but Sir Giles feels confident on a good result.

As Sir Giles starts his machinations things start to go awry as the whole motorway proposal starts to unravel. With blackmail, murder, mayhem and kinky sex it seems that the whole thing will blow up in someone’s face, especially when a civil servant is sent down from London to assist in any problems. And lest we forget there is always Blott somewhere on the scene, an orphan German, but thought of as Italian, who is more British that most native born Englishmen.

With some satire, a lot of humour, which is mainly farce, read what happens when Sir Giles puts into place plans for something that even he has lost control of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANK GOD FOR TOM SHARPE, 16 Feb 2001
By 
jts.author@euphony.net (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape (Paperback)
Sharpe makes me laugh on depressing Winter days (which last for nine months of the year in the West Midlands). As British television is so mediocre, this is good. "Blott on the Landscape", as with everything else Sharpe has penned, is my guaranteed fix on keeping my sanity - i.e. laughter is the best medicine. As a writer of fiction for the last 20 odd years, I have long given up reading fiction as my analytical mind invariably works out the denoument in about the first 20 pages. Sharpe is different, he keeps me smiling in a world that has forgotten how to smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 29 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape (Paperback)
Blott on the Landscape is a witty, imaginative and highly enjoyable book that I found very hard to put down. The characters are vividly described and Blott himself is wonderful. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blott on the Landscape, 29 May 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Ewing (Perth, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blott On The Landscape (Paperback)
This was bought for my Dad. Years ago I was in hospital & my Dad brought this book in for me & it was one of those books that you laugh out loud to! As the years passed, many people had a chance to read the book & as often happens, never was returned, so as my Dad has not been feeling so well of late, decided to get him a good old chuckle. Brilliant easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but if you are new to Sharpe read Porterhouse Blue first, 7 Sep 2008
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blott on the Landscape (Paperback)
As usual Sharpe pokes fun at the British with his usual wit and sense of irony, but for me this time he does not have the same well perceived characters as in Porterhouse Blue. There is very much the same divide across the classes that non-British will find an amusing anachronism but with the University background it felt so much more natural in South Worfordshire it seems more contrived.

It is still a fun book with wonderfully absurd characters but for me I enjoyed Porterhouse much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Blott On The Landscape (Paperback)
Readers of other Sharpe books will know exactly what to expect from this - an excellently written, funny book with quite a few farcical moments.

Tom Sharpe is an excellent author whose older books I have been reading recently. Although this book was originally published 20 years ago, this kind of story can still be appreciated today.

This book is also a standalone one, unlike some others that Sharpe has written. This means you can read it, safe in the knowledge it's not a sequel or in a sequence of books.

Overall an excellent book that is well worth reading, whether you are new to Sharpe or already a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blott on the Landscape - pity about the shouting!, 2 July 2013
By 
J. Floyd "floss" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blott On The Landscape (Paperback)
This is an archetypal Sharpe book concerning the 'good' people battling the 'evil' people's scheme to build a motorway through a gorge of outstanding natural beauty and containing a ghastly sounding castle with a ferocious female owner and her sly husband, the scheming Sir Giles, but above all the wonderful creation, Blott. Just one thing troubles me about Sharpe and that is his 'idee fixe' that human beings switch from talking to screaming, yelling or snarling at the drop of a penny. The incessant use of this literary device is precisely what spoils the Wilt books which would otherwise have hugely funny plots. In 'Blott' his usage of this gimmick is limited and fails to ruin my enjoyment of what is, indubitably, a funny book.

I remember well the TV version from years ago with great happiness, not least because Blott was played by Hercule Suchet before we became accustomed to seeing him as Poirot. I would hate to have Blott as my enemy in any circumstances but here, where he is given free rein to cause havoc, he is the most worrying enemy one could have. Poor Sir Giles - but he deserved all he got. But if this is your introduction to Sharpe do not waste your time and money on the Wilt books - stick to Porterhouse Blue for similar hilarity to Blott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blott On The Landscape
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews