Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful.
I really don't think the last couple of reviewers knew what they wanted, when they bought this book.

I've just completed the first SAP course "SAPTEC", and found this a great reference.

It gives you info on most of the basic transaction codes that were covered in SAPTEC, and even gives steps on how to install the trial version of Netweaver...
Published on 14 July 2011 by Mr. C. J. MacKenzie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real mixed bag
I am new to SAP but have worked in the IT industry for 12 years. I wanted a book that explained what SAP did functionally as well as how it worked technically at a high level. There are some chapters in this book that are quite good; however, too many are over verbose and after the chapter leave the reader wondering if they have really learned anything. Indeed the...
Published 19 months ago by HallMark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real mixed bag, 17 May 2013
I am new to SAP but have worked in the IT industry for 12 years. I wanted a book that explained what SAP did functionally as well as how it worked technically at a high level. There are some chapters in this book that are quite good; however, too many are over verbose and after the chapter leave the reader wondering if they have really learned anything. Indeed the sections describing each module do not really explain how they work functionally they just seem to be marketing blurb about how amazing they are. I would also say this book suffers from inconsistent use of terminology. SAP themselves refer to applications and components; however, this book uses the term components to describe applications (SAP ERP) and modules to describe the building blocks within (FI, CO etc. To compound the issue the book then seem to interchange the use of these terms throughout the book. It also has a nasty habbit of introducing new terms and acronyms without ever explaining what they are. I would say the book should be condensed, the language standardised and simplified and more focus placed on explaining how each key aspects actually works rather than its benefits. I would also recommend the use of more diagrams - I diagram can say a thousand words and is certainly more memorable than pages of solid text. Sorry SAMs but I think you need to go back to the drawing board!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful., 14 July 2011
By 
Mr. C. J. MacKenzie "www.laugar.org.uk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really don't think the last couple of reviewers knew what they wanted, when they bought this book.

I've just completed the first SAP course "SAPTEC", and found this a great reference.

It gives you info on most of the basic transaction codes that were covered in SAPTEC, and even gives steps on how to install the trial version of Netweaver.
Although it doesn't mention the few little pitfalls you will get when trying to do so.

For a start, Netweaver 7.01 ABAP trial version, requires a lower java jre then most people will have installed.
Also it states that you need the JRE, but you will actually need to install the JDK 1.5
Apart from this, and adding the relevant path variables in, you can get the trial version running fairly easily.

Once this is installed, you have free reign to play with and familiarise yourself with the basic transactions shown in the book.

Basic things that are missing, are things like, howto set up roles with a new user.
This is useful if you have installed the trial version.

The sections on specific SAP modules I can't comment on, but as an introduction and a reference following the first course, it's pretty good.

Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for getting familiar with SAP!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy it!

It is good for people who only heared of SAP.

I like it's attitude for people with no SAP experience.

I wouldn't reccomend it for SAP specialists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars new sap challenge, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
step by step instructions. carefully walk you through the common tasks . offers advice and show you easy ways to perform tasks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT BOOK, EASY TO FOLLOW AND DIGEST, GOOD READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answered all of my questions, 16 Dec 2012
By 
tominiyi2000 (Luton, Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book completely demystifies SAP! It's not for the faint-hearted, not your typical noddy guide ty in 24 hours. Each hour does mean an hour. Slightly Microsoft centric but hey! So am I
To enjoy it you should have an above average technical background, though the author does try to explain technical terms without being patronising.
Excellent book, I will read it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews